Paranormal Activity 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Scott Weinberg
TheHorrorShow
August 26, 2015
Earns some really nice chills, especially once we hit the big finale.
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
April 28, 2015
This demon is more like a lousy roommate, turning the lights on, leaving the cabinets open and making loud noises in the kitchen while everybody's trying to sleep.
Will Chadwick
We Got This Covered
November 9, 2013
Paranormal Activity 2 is surprisingly boring, not scary and lazily made. This is hands down one of the worst horror movies that I've ever seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
Steve Newton
Georgia Straight
February 15, 2013
It's the scariest movie in years.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com
September 22, 2012
To put it simply, if you've seen the first film, then you've seen this film. There's nothing new offered here, so there's not much of a point in bothering with it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Ben Rawson-Jones
Digital Spy
July 14, 2011
While the meagre rationing of shocks is undoubtedly frustrating for the bulk of the movie, this allows the final act plenty of room to crank the fear factor up to 11.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness
April 17, 2011
The good ol' child-in-peril gimmick is the only new thing offered by Tod Williams' follow-up to Oren Peli's 2007 hit.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
Instead of being trapped in one bedroom, this family has quite a few escape routes that they use quite a bit, which doesn't really help build a sense of dread. It just makes you think, "Get out of the house, fools. The door's right there."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema
March 9, 2011
The scares in Paranormal Activity 2 aren't as frequent or always as well built as the original film's, but those that exist are still pretty effective.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Jeffrey Chen
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
February 20, 2011
Not only drags out too long, it fails to pay off at the end.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Shaun Munro
What Culture
February 10, 2011
[A] title card end[s] the film on another ominous ellipsis, ominous primarily because it guarantees the need for a third film, most likely to be released in 3D, it is assumed.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
February 6, 2011
For me, the meager payoff wasn't worth the effort in time and patience. The bother wasn't worth the wait.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Staci Layne Wilson
Horror.com
January 27, 2011
I enjoyed Paranormal Activity 2 and I'd recommend it even if you weren't a fan of the first.
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
January 27, 2011
I anxiously await the third leg in the series.
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
January 4, 2011
Like Oren Peli, who created the first film, director Tod Williams keeps the dialogue So-Cal dumb and colorless, which must be part of the scare plan but makes both these movies hard to sit through.
Kevin A. Ranson
MovieCrypt.com
December 8, 2010
Revealing more of the mystery reduces the scare factor but ups the intrigue.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4.0
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters
November 29, 2010
PA2 actually isn't that frightening, but it complicates the questions of documentation, memory, and history in ways that make any possible answers at least a little unnerving.
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
November 20, 2010
full review at Movies for the Masses
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
James McMahon
SFX Magazine
November 16, 2010
It isn't as tense as the first film, and sometimes you do wish it was as simple as its predecessor. But it's certainly a must-see horror sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
November 12, 2010
Effectively creepy, but it leads nowhere...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 7