Paranormal Activity 3 Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Scott Weinberg
August 26, 2015
A few surprisingly effective set pieces that earn some legitimate scares, regardless of how familiar it's all starting to feel.
Steve Newton
Georgia Straight
February 28, 2014
The latest installment isn't quite as terrifying as the second, but it's still extremely creepy and engrossing and everything you'd want in a 21st-century nightmare maker.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Will Leitch
June 22, 2013
I just spent the whole movie covering my eyes, opening them right before what I knew was going to happen happened ... and then shutting them again and curling up. These movies, man. They get me every time.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Benjo Colautti
We Got This Covered
February 11, 2013
Sustaining horror is what the Paranormal Activity movies are all about and in that sense, part 3 doesn't disappoint.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
December 31, 2012
A couple of hair-raising moments, a couple of legitimate jolts and some funny cheap ones.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
December 23, 2012
Drips with tension, horror, and building suspense that explodes in to a mind blowing finale that you'll not soon forget.
Ben Kendrick
October 2, 2012
Paranormal Activity 3 doesn't reinvent the series' wheel but it definitely refines an already effective format.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeff Beck
September 19, 2012
There really just aren't any scares to be had here. Even people who normally find themselves scared at the smallest "boo" will find themselves drifting off less than halfway through the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Maitland McDonagh
Film Journal International
September 11, 2012
Paranormal Activity 3 delivers, and does it without gore or "look at me!" special effects.
Rob Gonsalves
April 30, 2012
In the moments that count, those silent wolf-hour compositions of gathering dread, the franchise has earned a place of pride in horror history.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Michael Dequina
April 6, 2012
Delivers the clean, simple jolts and scares the series is known for.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
R. L. Shaffer
January 29, 2012
Delves far more into the mythology of the series, which may render the picture less scary to some, but there's still enough thrills and chills to keep most audiences thoroughly freaked.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
January 12, 2012
For me, it was a matter of diminishing returns on a product that wasn't very good to begin with.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Cynthia Fuchs
December 7, 2011
You don't go to horror movies for story. You go for sensation, to be moved. Paranormal Activity 3 not only gets that, it also asks you to get it, to be aware of how you're being moved, and your part in the moving.
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
November 14, 2011
Yes, it feels familiar, but they keep finding a way to make me nervous/scared.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
November 13, 2011
given the increasing familiarity (some might say "exhaustion") of these aesthetic devices, it is almost unavoidable that Paranormal Activity 3 will feel like a slight letdown
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Brian Gibson
Vue Weekly (Edmonton, Canada)
November 11, 2011
The tension is slowly bled out, the metacommentary on movies' phantom power is eerie, and the directors capture a creepiness in the sleepy, after-hour spaces of home.
Jolene Mendez
Entertainment Spectrum
November 4, 2011
"Paranormal Activity 3" the best in the bunch. If you are ready for a scare and maybe a sleepless night check out this edition and be prepared for some unanswered questions and a few new answers!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
John Wirt
Advocate (Baton Rouge, LA)
November 2, 2011
Visible for miles, the predictable turn of the VHS tape undermines a movie that's already weak in scariness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
November 1, 2011
It's everything you expect -- bad writing, bad acting, bad direction, dull characters and long stretches of boredom punctuated by sudden jolts.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 6