Paranormal Activity 4 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Paranormal Activity 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Will Leitch
June 23, 2013
Instead of the mystery of the known, we spend half our time trying to figure out who in the hell we're supposed to be looking at.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Ben Kendrick
October 19, 2012
Whether you attend the Paranormal Activity movies for the scares or the story, part 4 is a major step down.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Adam Ross
The Aristocrat
October 19, 2012
...Shulman and Joost forget to bring the scary - that low frequency noise and telegraphed pop-up scares have worn as thin as a communal durex.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jeremy Lebens
We Got This Covered
February 4, 2013
Paranormal Activity 4 is the worst of the series and one of the worst horror films ever made. It's bloated, drawn-out and has no idea how to provide a single scare.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Chris Blohm
Little White Lies
October 24, 2012
A rickety old ride and no mistake, this instalment is for franchise fans only.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jeff Beck
October 25, 2012
Anyone who's seen the other entries can tell you this series has never been about the story. "Paranormal Activity 4' proves this once again, and when you factor in the lazy writing and complete lack of scares, it easily earns the title of worst entry yet.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
October 9, 2012
When the glimpse of the utter ferocity finally comes the carrot you've been after all this time is pulled from your grasp and you have to wonder, was it worth chasing it at all?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Henry Northmore
The List
October 17, 2012
It never quite manages to capture the same tension and dread, the scares have become predictable, after all there are only so many times you can pull off the same trick.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Kristian Harloff
Schmoes Know
October 19, 2012
Yuck. We are one step away from doing "Paranormal Activity in Space."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 18, 2012
The most disturbing thing about this scary movie is how this phantom nonsense ever got made. I was so terrified by the dreadful filmmaking, that never mind being scared silly, by the end of this monster mess I was dumb struck.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
Shaun Munro
What Culture
October 4, 2012
It's clear that the Activity has become too normal for all but the die-hards.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Simon Miraudo
October 18, 2012
Well, it was fun while it lasted kids. The ghost train shudders to a halt with Paranormal Activity 4, the first entry in the usually innovative series unable to produce any decent scares.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Alexandra Cavallo
Boston Phoenix
October 25, 2012
When the scares do come, they come fast and hard but, unfortunately, far too late.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Siobhan Synnot
October 15, 2012
Yet another round of home video scares from a creep show franchise whose "found footage" is now best left in the cutting room bin.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Steve Newall
October 18, 2012
A disappointing addition to the franchise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Glenn Dunks
September 8, 2013
Paranormal Activity 4 is arguably the weakest entry in the series, but if one still gets their kicks out of these films then that probably won't mean all that much.
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
October 20, 2012
Trotting out the same types of scares, the same plot structure and the same found-footage format gets less effective with each installment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
October 19, 2012
The jig is up and the joke's on us.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Margot Harrison
Seven Days
May 22, 2013
The dread that should be smothering is merely an intermittent itch.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Graham Young
Birmingham Post
October 25, 2012
Orin Pelli's original idea that we'll keep wanting to pay good money to watch a digital clock ticking over has surely run its course now.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 6