Opening

61% The Maze Runner Sep 19
63% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
45% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
83% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
34% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

New Episodes Tonight

82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
50% Z Nation: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
—— Haven: Season 5
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
90% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Paranormal Activity 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Will Leitch
Deadspin

Instead of the mystery of the known, we spend half our time trying to figure out who in the hell we're supposed to be looking at.

Full Review Source: Deadspin | Original Score: C+

June 23, 2013
Ben Kendrick
ScreenRant

Whether you attend the Paranormal Activity movies for the scares or the story, part 4 is a major step down.

Full Review Source: ScreenRant | Original Score: 2/5

October 19, 2012
Adam Ross
The Aristocrat

...Shulman and Joost forget to bring the scary - that low frequency noise and telegraphed pop-up scares have worn as thin as a communal durex.

Full Review Source: The Aristocrat | Original Score: 2/5

October 19, 2012
Jeremy Lebens
We Got This Covered

Paranormal Activity 4 is the worst of the series and one of the worst horror films ever made. It's bloated, drawn-out and has no idea how to provide a single scare.

Full Review Source: We Got This Covered | Original Score: 2/5

February 4, 2013
Chris Blohm
Little White Lies

A rickety old ride and no mistake, this instalment is for franchise fans only.

Full Review Source: Little White Lies | Original Score: 2/5

October 24, 2012
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com

Anyone who's seen the other entries can tell you this series has never been about the story. "Paranormal Activity 4' proves this once again, and when you factor in the lazy writing and complete lack of scares, it easily earns the title of worst entry yet.

Full Review Source: Examiner.com | Original Score: 1/4

October 25, 2012

When the glimpse of the utter ferocity finally comes the carrot you've been after all this time is pulled from your grasp and you have to wonder, was it worth chasing it at all?

Full Review Source: HeyUGuys | Original Score: 2/5

October 9, 2012
Henry Northmore
The List

It never quite manages to capture the same tension and dread, the scares have become predictable, after all there are only so many times you can pull off the same trick.

Full Review Source: The List | Original Score: 2/5

October 17, 2012
Kristian Harloff
Schmoes Know

Yuck. We are one step away from doing "Paranormal Activity in Space."

Full Review Source: Schmoes Know | Original Score: 2/5

October 19, 2012

The most disturbing thing about this scary movie is how this phantom nonsense ever got made. I was so terrified by the dreadful filmmaking, that never mind being scared silly, by the end of this monster mess I was dumb struck.

Full Review Source: UTV | Original Score: 1/10

October 18, 2012
Shaun Munro
What Culture

It's clear that the Activity has become too normal for all but the die-hards.

Full Review Source: What Culture | Original Score: 1.5/5

October 4, 2012
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix

Well, it was fun while it lasted kids. The ghost train shudders to a halt with Paranormal Activity 4, the first entry in the usually innovative series unable to produce any decent scares.

Full Review Source: Quickflix | Original Score: 2/5

October 18, 2012
Alexandra Cavallo
Boston Phoenix

When the scares do come, they come fast and hard but, unfortunately, far too late.

Full Review Source: Boston Phoenix | Original Score: 2/4

October 25, 2012
Siobhan Synnot
Scotsman

Yet another round of home video scares from a creep show franchise whose "found footage" is now best left in the cutting room bin.

Full Review Source: Scotsman | Original Score: 2/5

October 15, 2012
Steve Newall
Flicks.co.nz

A disappointing addition to the franchise.

Full Review Source: Flicks.co.nz | Original Score: 2/5

October 18, 2012
Glenn Dunks
Trespass

Paranormal Activity 4 is arguably the weakest entry in the series, but if one still gets their kicks out of these films then that probably won't mean all that much.

Full Review Source: Trespass

September 8, 2013
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly

Trotting out the same types of scares, the same plot structure and the same found-footage format gets less effective with each installment.

Full Review Source: Las Vegas Weekly | Original Score: 2/5

October 20, 2012
Roger Moore
McClatchy-Tribune News Service

The jig is up and the joke's on us.

Full Review Source: McClatchy-Tribune News Service | Original Score: 1.5/4

October 19, 2012
Margot Harrison
Seven Days

The dread that should be smothering is merely an intermittent itch.

Full Review Source: Seven Days | Original Score: 4/10

May 22, 2013
Graham Young
Birmingham Post

Orin Pelli's original idea that we'll keep wanting to pay good money to watch a digital clock ticking over has surely run its course now.

Full Review Source: Birmingham Post | Original Score: 2/5

October 25, 2012
Page 1 of 6
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile