The Passion of the Christ - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Passion of the Christ Reviews

Page 2 of 1291
November 25, 2015
OK, so obviously I don't buy into the truth of the story here. Even if you did, this is a terrible movie. Here are some funny/interesting critiques. 1. Approximately 1/3 of the movie is in slow motion. I get that it's supposed to be reverent, but it's a little overboard. 2. There is so much blood and gore, it reminds me of the puking scene in Team America--there is a comic amount of blood. 3. This movie depicts the last 12 hours of Christ's life--and it feels like it really takes 12 hours of screentime. 4. Nobody's motivation makes any sense. That's really a problem with the religion, more than the screenplay, but seriously--why are the Jews so pissed, why do the guards whip him so long, why does everyone watch this execution? Wasn't there anything else happening that day? It's as if Mel Gibson lacks a theory of mind. 5. Why does everyone somehow become reverent at random times? For example, the soldier who pierces him with the spear becomes suddenly reverent immediately afterward. From his perspective, what could possibly have caused that change of attitude in 5 seconds? 6. I do like the music in the film, and I think talking in Aramaic works. The torture porn, though--my god this is a violent movie, and that is essentially the whole point of the movie. This is almost so bad it's good, except that the torture porn will give you nightmares. And the movie ends with some Jesus side-ass. lol what a weird film.
November 9, 2015
This is honestly the most accurate depiction of what Jesus went through. Many may have found it too gruesome, but I hate to tell you, this is exactly what He went through to die for our sins. Look in the bible.
November 4, 2015
Was sad to see how Jesus was abused and stuff so it was very gory very violent. It stuck with the original story how he was crucified.
June 23, 2007
Powerful graphic images, over simplified chapter in Christ's life.
½ October 25, 2015
A 2h long S/M gore-fest, diving straight into the mind of it's director. Totally worthless? No. Worth the time? Not in my opinion.
½ September 27, 2012
Possibly the bloodiest thing ever put to film. Gross.
October 14, 2015
Carlos M must be a fag-lover
½ November 15, 2006
Best biblical flick I ever saw...
September 1, 2015
Read the Critics Consensus... It makes it tough to sit through? That's the point. You learn about Jesus and what all he did for us and it should make you feel something.
½ May 17, 2015
Dramatic and excessively violent, it depicts Christ in a way no other movie had before.
½ August 10, 2015
Unnecessarily brutal and stretched Movie, that tries to hide its cheesy Dialog in the cheapest way possible
August 9, 2015
One of the all time classics. Watch it at Easter, seriously. And especially bold using Aramaic and subtitles.
August 7, 2015
What I find incredible is how the critics are so terrible regarding religious movies.
August 2, 2015
A MUST see!!!! Truly incredible movie. there was not a dry eye in the theater when we saw this! The acting was beautiful, there was depth to the movie where when you see it multiple times, it would add to it each time. Love the beautiful scenery. Jim Caviezel is never a let down in anything he is rolled in.
½ July 21, 2015
Really graphic and that does take away from the movie and it's message.
June 18, 2015
In my experience over the 11 years since this movie was released, its harshest critics are anti-Christian or simply haters. The movie is incredibly realistic and beautifully shot. As for the brutality - sorry folks but that is what the Son of Man submitted himself to and yes, the Romans were just plain bastards.
As for the endless blather in other reviews about character development and more of the story, please refer to the movie's title. Say what you want about Mel Gibson and the antics in his life since 2004. The bottom line is - he made an epic film. The Hollywood elitists snubbed him and gave him the shaft - and they know it.
June 16, 2015
Gory and violent as hell! I've seen several horror films with killings every 15 minutes, yet, this was difficult to watch for 2 minutes. However, the reason for creating such movie was for accurate information on Jesus's death. The real message of the movie was that Jesus suffered for hours of torture to save his people. Whether you believe in Jesus or not, you have to look at it as a deep story. People do terrible things.
June 6, 2015
historically inaccurate, over the top, lifeless, and most of all creepy. mel gibson's inner psycho is at its peak here.
May 25, 2015
I'm not even a religious guy and I LOVED The Passion of the Christ. It's brutal, yes, but audaciously made and powerful. Superb filmmaking.
March 17, 2006
A very well-done, but very graphic depiction of the Crucifixion of Jesus.
Page 2 of 1291