Opening

63% Hercules Jul 25
60% Lucy Jul 25
16% And So It Goes Jul 25
90% A Most Wanted Man Jul 25
56% The Fluffy Movie Jul 25

Top Box Office

91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $36.3M
56% The Purge: Anarchy $29.8M
44% Planes: Fire And Rescue $17.5M
18% Sex Tape $14.6M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $9.8M
23% Tammy $7.4M
85% 22 Jump Street $4.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $3.9M
49% Earth to Echo $3.3M
49% Maleficent $3.2M

Coming Soon

100% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
—— Get On Up Aug 01
93% Calvary Aug 01
—— Behaving Badly Aug 01
46% Child Of God Aug 01

New Episodes Tonight

90% Almost Royal: Season 1
58% Bad Teacher: Season 1
44% Power: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— The Almighty Johnsons: Season 1
61% Crossbones: Season 1
82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
—— The Legend of Korra: Season 3

Certified Fresh TV

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

The Passion of the Christ Reviews

Page 2 of 1287
July 23, 2014
The directing is excellent and the acting is perfect. That being said the movie does assume that you know the story of Jesus which will hurt the watching experience of many. While a vast majority of the story is taken almost directly from the bible, Mel does add his own spin which creates its own feel. The inclusion of the Devil and demons was one that I thought was great to add to the film. It is extremely brutal but the movie is about the torture and death of Jesus, it had to be brutal because it is described that way. Gibson adds some material that makes Pontius Pilate into a "guiltless" man that is questionable but even then the directing in those scenes is impressive enough to let it slide. Don't bring your kids to this one but it is definitely something to be seen.
July 29, 2010
The Best Film Ever Made! The movie is very hard to watch but the blood and gore were necessary. this is the truest version of the cruxifiction I have ever seen in a film.
OWLE
July 19, 2014
great and probably the most accurate portrayal of this history event. Probably the most important event to have ever happened on this earth to date. Sad so many people can't or don't want to recognize this.
October 7, 2007
THE PASSION OF THE CHRIST is a beautifully made film; unfortunately, it is really a very silly film. It is also a pointless exercise and doesn't offer anything new to say about Jesus Christ's sacrifice; in fact, the extremity of the violence was apparently intended to convey that message, but that doesn't help either; it only makes the movie tough to sit through. The message is rather simple; but I am seriously questioning Gibson's questionable and naive motives for making it- the film is single-minded and plays out like Christian propaganda. That is not good.
July 8, 2014
i love this film, so beautiful, Jim, plays his role as Christ so perfectly, i don't even see an actor, i see Christ, you can understand Jesus' emotions, and thoughts of his friends, and family, and his relationship with them. The acting is great, and you feel like theses people are real people, with hardship, including Jesus. i love seeing this film, and every time i do, i understand it more, Jim did not need to be ridiculed, his performance of Jesus is beautiful, and very well done, and this movie is well done.
July 7, 2014
they should really do a 3D remake-
Cinema-Maniac
Cinema-Maniac

Super Reviewer

July 7, 2014
Discussing religion is in the same vein as discussing politics for me. It could start off as a friendly discussion, but can quickly turn ugly due to where you stand on the subject. This film success relies on its viewer position on Jesus Christ in order for it to succeed. Never will it attempt to convert non believers to accept it views, but neither will the film reach them the same way as those who follow the word of Christ.

The Passion of the Christ is about the final hours of Jesus Christ life. If you're seeking to learn about Jesus Christ, evaluate his teachings, analyze deep characters, and find meaning in the symbolic man that is Jesus Christ this is the wrong film for you. Characterization, pretext, metaphors, and his teachings are thrown out in favor to get across Christ suffered (quite allot) for our sins. It's biggest drawback is assuming everyone will know about Jesus Christ before viewing the film. Since it tells you nothing about Christ or his teachings interpretation of a man's passion towards love his fellow men comes across differently. Christ is not written as a character or as a man, but rather represented as an object of extreme physical suffering and one with a messiah complex. Without providing context the film exploits the prolonged torture inflicted on Christ with no emotional attachment made for the uninformed or non believers. Limiting more than just its audience it also limits the meaning of the message meant to get across. If you are aware Jesus Christ or a firm believer the film will pull your heart strings. Providing brief flashbacks on some of the famous passages in his life story. Focusing in detail the suffering Christ had to endured before the inevitable death. This setup will make it difficult for followers to endured because unlike most film centered around Jesus Christ showing his suffering is it focus. As a film it fails to reach a larger audience than it could have obtain; however, it's intention wasn't so much in informing viewers about Jesus Christ or his teachings, but rather to get across the love he had for his fellow man. For this reviewer he was left unmoved, distant, and cold due to an absence of characterization, but also acknowledges it completed it set goal. A trait he greatly admires even if the film failed to impact him in the manner it intended to.

Mel Gibson direction is admittedly intelligent and a true work of a master. Not a single a piece of dialogue is said in English or in any modern language. A decision that makes it depiction very authentic to what it's portraying. Gibson takes directorial embellishments not found in his source material: Satan's repeated visits; the snake in the Garden of Gethsemane; the raven and the crucified convict; Judas' delusions of children as demons, and such, but they work in favor of the story. As for the violence Gibson does not shy away from it because of his goal to painstakingly show the extent of Jesus Christ suffering. Resulting in prolonged torture scenes and a second half that mostly consist of a broken, bloodied, and wounded Jesus Christ struggling to carry his cross to his death destination. Casting is also another bright spot by not having actual stars there's no possible distraction in what's occurring on screen. Of course the one actor that gets the most attention and vital role is Jim Caviezel. Jim Caviezel is a more Semitic-looking Jesus and gives a simple-stated, vulnerable performance. It's physically demanding Caviezel to constantly come across as a wounded man changing his mannerism to fit with the condition his character is currently. At the same time his delivery of dialogue has to come across as passionate and well meaning as well as batter and difficult to speak from the punishment he receives. The fantastic score sweeps up and down in majestic ways and it is more impacting that anything else, but as a side effect it is cheap and manipulative depending on the viewer position.

The Passion of Christ does what it was intended to do which was display Jesus Christ suffering in his final hours in great detail. Whether or not that makes it a good film will varied because of beliefs and knowledge of Jesus Christ, but it does make it shallow piece of a film that fails to provide character worth getting emotionally attach towards and getting across the significance behind it's subject life. If you're not a follower of Christ (like myself) you will condemned the film for it weaknesses, but in my position I choose to reward the film with a positive review for what it intended to accomplished rather than criticize it for what I simply wanted it to be.
June 30, 2014
Yes, the imagery is striking...when it isn't the pornographic bloodbath Mel Gibson so artfully crafted. His dramatization of the final twelve hours of Jesus's life is delivered with such ill will and lack of humanity that it is almost guaranteed to offend even the least devout of Catholics.
May 19, 2006
Love it or hate it, believe or disbelieve, this is what truly great cinema is all about: visual storytelling through artistic expression, in this case of a profound concept. What you make of the film largely depends on whether you see it as an epic or a horror film. It is a passionate and visually stunning epic, but the horror of it may overwhelm more squeamish viewers. It is a powerful piece of work either way.
July 4, 2012
A brutal film that is a mix bag from a Christian perspective but one that is honest to the events written and documented
R. Jayakrishnan
June 16, 2014
91%
Saw this on 16/6/14
The Passion of the Christ is the best biblical movie ever made. I have seen many such films with this context, some like Ben-Hur, but none had that effect which this film had. This film has sheer originality and it's more realistic and even after being a non-Christian, I felt sympathy for Jesus when I watched this. The real star here is Mel Gibson, be it Brave Heart or Apocalypso or this his visual style and direction are top notch. The film is gory, but that sort of a treatment is what that is most needed for the subject. Passion of the Christ is a really powerful and emotional movie.
June 8, 2014
Unflinching portrayal of Jesus' final hours. Very brutal but well filmed and moving. Not hard to see why it was deemed anti-semitic. A controversial one this but very well shot film.
June 2, 2014
Amazing film everyone should watch! You are not going to get a high rating from the critics here on rotten tomatoes as they are mostly God hating, anti Christian unbelievers. Do what I do. Go with the audience rating it is not full of ulterior motives, and discrimination.
henryfarman
June 2, 2014
Boring silly glorifying rubbish, but then again I'm not really the audience for this... all it did was annoy me.
Drew B.
June 1, 2014
Mel Gibsons incredibly intense film, The Passion of the Christ is an extremely controversial movie. I believe this because not everyone believes in Christianity and the whole movie is about God (Jesus) going through many different struggles leading up to being sacrificed on the cross. This movie gives you the experience of Jesus' prayers, thoughts, and passion towards saving humanity. This film is filled with blood and gore. It could definitely be seen as a horror movie. Which has lead me to think, where is the love? In most movies about religion there is a degree of love. There is none shown in this. The only love I have found is God's love for people enough to save them. Overall a really great movie that I would recommend to people even if they are not looking for a religious movie.
InDIGnation
May 30, 2014
In terms of production values, Passion is absolutely perfect; the acting, set design, dialogue, soundtrack and visuals are all superbly crafted. As a retelling of the life of Jesus, it's more of a mixed bag. While it's hard to be unmoved by the suffering being shown on-screen, Passion doesn't do enough to show us why the suffering of Jesus was supposed to be significant, or why his death in particular matters so much. Despite this, no other film has dared to portray Jesus' suffering in such a frank or uncompromising way.
February 18, 2013
An earnest if skewed and overly brutal film about the last days in the life of Christ.
May 16, 2014
Short on story, long on brutality. The film is overly long and repetitive - floggings and cross-carrying go on eternally, but the film never shows why Jesus connected with his followers nor why his persecutors feared and hated him so.
finlaybuchanan
July 7, 2011
Not in English so very difficult for me to watch and understand
Page 2 of 1287
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile