Opening

98% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes Jul 11
100% Boyhood Jul 11
11% Rage Jul 11
26% A Long Way Down Jul 11
—— The Class Of '92 Jul 08

Top Box Office

17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $37.1M
24% Tammy $21.6M
85% 22 Jump Street $9.8M
31% Deliver Us from Evil $9.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $9.0M
48% Earth to Echo $8.4M
49% Maleficent $6.2M
53% Jersey Boys $5.2M
24% Think Like a Man Too $4.9M
90% Edge of Tomorrow $3.7M

Coming Soon

—— The Purge: Anarchy Jul 18
—— Sex Tape Jul 18
—— Hercules Jul 25
—— Lucy Jul 25
—— Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01

Premieres Tonight

83% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
81% Extant: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
50% Jennifer Falls: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
—— Rogue: Season 2
100% Suits: Season 4
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
—— Wilfred: Season 4
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

73% Chasing Life: Season 1
—— Covert Affairs: Season 5
20% The Night Shift: Season 1
—— Perception: Season 3
—— Pretty Little Liars: Season 5
—— Rizzoli & Isles: Season 5
—— Royal Pains: Season 5
—— Sullivan & Son: Season 3
57% Tyrant: Season 1

Permanent Midnight Reviews

Page 2 of 10
February 19, 2014
A story of a drug addicted man trying to make a living in LA while under the influence.
September 30, 2013
2013-09-30 well done but pretty much of a downer. don't see how anyone could call it "high-energy" or "wicked sense of humor". "darkly cautionary", yeah.
July 15, 2013
A dark film based upon the autobiography of successful TV writer Jerry Stahl (Moonlighting, ALF, thirtysomething) and his downward spiral into drug abuse. Ben Stiller stars as Stahl, as do some of Stiller's frequent comedy collaborators, including Owen Wilson, Jeaneane Garofalo, Andy Dick, but this film is a lot more "Trainspotting" than it is "Zoolander." Still, like "Transpotting" there are certainly some very dark humor here as well. Still, it's far from a light or glib film. Stiller shooting up in a car next to his baby in a carseat is pretty rough. The film also features Maria Bello as a fellow recovering junkie and also has Elizabeth Hurley showing some surprising acting chops as Stalh's head-in-the-sand wife. The film doesn't quite come together as a whole, but Stiller gives a fine dramatic performance that holder your interesest and keeping you with the film throughout. And anything with Fred Willard, even in a bit part, is worth watching, right?
Wesley J.
June 24, 2013
I'm sorry, but taking Ben Stiller seriously is a tough thing to do. At least for me. Him huffing and puffing and shooting heroin into his neck (even with the infant present) just seemed silly to me. And his face made me laugh.
Hamee
June 30, 2008
Stiller did an excellent job playing this heroin addicted character. It was a hard movie to watch as Jerry slowly fell deeper and deeper into his addiction, but it is definitely a great performance to watch.
March 26, 2013
A low-budget indie feature from 1998 that is based on the head writer of the hit sitcom Alf, who was a serious heroin addict during the time that he became one of the show's most prominent members on the creative board. It details his abandoning of his wife and child as well as his downfall from the entertainment industry as he spirals into the uncontrollable habits of his addiction. Its a downer with an odd sense of humor and an up front confession of one man's losses through the choices he makes as an addict.
toxiemite
March 4, 2013
Permanent Midnight is based on the autobiography by Jerry Stahl, a Hollywood writer who's life spiralled out of control due to a heroine addiction. At the time he was writing for the tv series ALF he was earning $5000 a week and had a $6000 per week drug habit. His story is legend in Hollywood and his exploits rivalled that of Hunter S Thompson. Ben Still is perfectly cast as Stahl. He looks just like him and his performance is incredible... in fact he has never been better. The film is heavy and some of the scenes of him shooting up are grotesque and difficult to watch... a scene of him injecting heroine into his neck while he sits beside his baby daughter is heartbreaking. The film is also backed with some great support actors such as Maria Bello, Owen Wilson, Charles Fleischer, Janeane Garofolo, Fred Willard and Peter Greene. As the poster suggests, Elizabeth Hurley also stars but she's the weakest link in this chain. I've never considered her a good actor and she is sadly miscast in this one. Nevertheless it's a powerful film and most definitely a rarity for Ben Stiller. He puts his entire being into the role.
January 15, 2013
What Permanent Midnight (fairly) successfully captures in a spiraling drug habit (at least as much as an hour and a half allows), it fails at in portraying how hard it actually is to get clean. Still, Stiller delivers a solid performance. I am not a fan of his comedy roles, but he did a good job with this material.
January 12, 2013
I somewhat enjoyed this pointless drama.
December 17, 2012
I had alot of problems with permanent midnight, but it is undeniabley shocking and hard to endure
November 5, 2012
Stiller in a really powerful role. This is dark, gritty, depressing and real. A+
September 26, 2012
Ben Stiller as a heroin addict. And he's STILL funny!
Sandman1968
August 19, 2012
There have been a lot of movies about addicts and addiction, but "Permanent Midnight" finds its own story to tell despite some scenes that feel familiar and cliched. It's based on a true story but in the end that doesn't really matter all that much. The behind the scenes of a popular '80's sitcom could have been interesting, but this is more about one man's struggle and it;s all the more effective because the focus is restricted to that single storyline.

It may seem odd now to think of Ben Stiller in a role like this, but early in his career he was much more of a risk taker, and he's phenomenal in this role. More attention paid to the terrific work he did here and in other earlier, darker films might have led to him choosing more dramatic roles and the world may have been spared one more moronic comedy. Unfortunately, that never happened.

This is one of the most unflinching, rawest films on the subject of drug addiction in recent memory, not shying away from showing just how ugly and desperate people become. The film never glamorizes its subject matter, and there are plenty of characters here, written smartly, who see through Stiller's facade. It's refreshing to see.

I also appreciated the unique structure of the film, opening at the story's end and relating Stiller's descent through flashbacks. The technique can be flashy and distracting, but it works here. There's nothing at all that's flashy about this picture. "Permanent Midnight" is human and compassionate, but at the same time honest and uncompromising. Stiller's character is unsympathetic but it's perhaps the best performance of his career. It's a trendy story starkly told.
August 17, 2012
Not a bad flick. Ben Stiller did a great job of portraying Stahl. It drags along at times but for the most part not too bad. Message I got: don't use herioin.
August 14, 2012
I really enjoyed seeing Stiller play a drugged out mess.
August 13, 2012
A well made film with a great Ben Stiller performance. Too bad it doesn't bring anything new to the table.
hunterjt13
hunterjt13

Super Reviewer

June 24, 2012
A television writer's heroin addiction sinks his career goals and his marriage.
Usually I give no credence to people who say that a protagonist needs to be "likable." No, s/he doesn't have to be likable; s/he has to be interesting. But after watching Permanent Midnight, I can at least see an example of why likable protagonists make storytelling a little easier.
Jerry Stahl, as played by Ben Stiller, is a morose heroin addict who does anything to get his fix. Unlike other depictions of addiction, Permanent Midnight doesn't romanticize any aspect of Stahl's life, and as a result, there's nothing to like about him. I'm left wondering why people like him or want to hire him for anything. Sandra, Stahl's wife, comes off as a dull, blind idiot, as portrayed by the film. Because we in the audience can see no redeemable quality in Stahl and because the film's characters don't point out anything unique about him, it's easy to give up on his plight.
Stiller does play a convincing dramatic part, but he fails to lend his natural good humor to this character.
Overall, there's nothing new about heroin addiction or Hollywood in this film, but it did teach me a little something about whether or not I should dismiss most of what is said in a creative writing workshop.
May 10, 2012
Everybody comes to Hollywood. They wanna make it in the neighborhood.
May 1, 2012
an impressive performance by Ben Stiller in, what i believe is, his first dramatic role... the love scene between him and Connie Nielsen is astounding!
April 10, 2012
ben stiller's portrayal of heroin junkie jerry stahl is excellent. adapted from stahl's own autobiography
Page 2 of 10
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile