Opening

20% Transcendence Apr 18
53% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
7% A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
89% Bears Apr 18
58% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
47% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
62% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
41% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

45% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
72% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

Premieres Tonight

—— Devious Maids: Season 2
50% Salem: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

38% Believe: Season 1
83% The Bletchley Circle: Season 2
—— Californication: Season 7
83% Call the Midwife: Season 3
61% Crisis: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% The Good Wife: Season 5
86% Mad Men: Season 7
—— The Mentalist: Season 6
—— Mr. Selfridge: Season 2
—— Nurse Jackie: Season 6
71% Once Upon a Time: Season 3
100% Shameless: Season 04
48% Turn: Season 1
100% Veep: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% Da Vinci's Demons: Season 2
100% Orphan Black: Season 2

The Pillow Book Reviews

Page 1 of 33
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 28, 2009
Great film, Peter Greenaway direction is beautiful! This is the first film were Hollywood took note of the young Ewan McGregor too but it's Vivian Wu who steals the show.

*re-review*
I just watched this again after 15 years and have completely changed my mind. I guess I was young and impressionable back in 1996 or maybe I've turned into a grumpy old man - either way, what I found to be beautiful and exciting cinema I know find to be boring and pretentious theatre. It's still beautiful visually and the idea is still great, it's just Greenaway is far too indulgent and up his own bottom. Vivian Wu steals the show? What the hell was I thinking?

Down from 4 stars to just 2.
366weirdmovies
366weirdmovies

Super Reviewer

May 26, 2011
A beautiful woman is obsessed with inking characters on human flesh, making herself and her lovers into living books. Gorgeous and sensual, with layered images and pictures framed inside of other pictures. Greenaway's painterly picture is a loving tribute both to calligraphy and to the nude human form, and the movie would be a classic if only there was a story attached to the sumptuous images.
jjnxn
jjnxn

Super Reviewer

April 22, 2008
Well it was different that's for sure.
DragonEyeMorrison
DragonEyeMorrison

Super Reviewer

April 17, 2008
Everytime i try to get into this film i encounter a solid wall that won't let me pass. Vivian Wu should be in more movies, naked if possible.
garyX
garyX

Super Reviewer

March 14, 2007
Greenaway is definitely an acquired taste; he IS painfully affected and pretentious, but his sumptuous visuals can more than make up for it, and this is probably the most beautiful example of his work.
Megan S

Super Reviewer

February 18, 2007
This movie was pretty weird and slow at times, but it was beautiful and was very artistically shot. There was always a lot going on visually (pictures within pictures, subtitles, text, lots and lots of text). The music reminded me of a Clockwork Orange. And as an added bonus there is lots of completely naked Ewan McGregor. I was watching a little bit of it again before I returned it and I realized I really like the girl's voice.
jimbotender
jimbotender

Super Reviewer

September 1, 2008
Greenaway uses groundbreaking effects to showcase his influence in mathematics,fine arts,puzzles,juxtapositions and erotic flavor,thus making a visually titillating film,introspective and with boiling lavishness.
December 26, 2011
Bold and unmistakably beautiful film making. Vivian Wu and Ewan McGregor are definite works of art in this masterpiece that dares to do the impossible.
Hockeyvixen29
June 8, 2009
Easily my favorite Ewan McGregor movie. It may be rated NC-17, but it is NOT porn. It is subtle in it's symbolism, contains spectacular acting and a gripping story.
riverotter
May 10, 2008
It's gorgeous to look at, it's erotic, it's disturbing, it's pretentious as hell, it's strangely devoid of emotional connection, and it treats its characters not so much as actual human beings than as reflections of elaborate, often cynical philosophical metaphor... it's a Peter Greenaway movie, in other words.
gms1yygy
March 27, 2007
The chapters of this book are written on Ewan McGregor's body (and others). Stunning photography. Subtitles are sometimes difficult to read.
shampu
March 9, 2007
Interesting and beautiful movie, not for all, some would consider it slow, but I thought it was like watching a painting.
fjord04
August 18, 2006
You gotta love Ewan McGregor for not being afraid of getting naked on film, so that alone gives him high marks in my book, but he's good, though slightly creepy.
January 30, 2006
A beautiful movie. Peter Greenaway is a talented directer and makes this movie look absoultely beautiful. Vivian Wu and Ewan McGregor sizzle on screen. Amazing movie.
December 30, 2013
Dotado de profundo lirismo, apresenta-nos à maturidade de uma fascinante protagonista, obcecada em retomar uma infância inexoravelmente perdida. Belas passagens bizarras (e até surreais), estética e câmera inusitados e carga erótica ideal!
September 21, 2009
A very interesting movie.
May 10, 2013
In 1996 it may have seemed visually stunning to some, but in 2013 it completely falls flat on it´s face. Film school students may want to see it though, as it is a class A example, of a film not made to last.
March 17, 2013
The eroticism and the art complement to make such sensible.
Mike L.
March 8, 2013
great multilayered story visually and by meaning. questions about what is art, what is book, who is an artist...
November 21, 2012
Beautiful photo and strange story. Still one of the more lucid of Greenaway's films when it comes to the narrative. The combination of words and images here goes to the extreme as naked body after naked body is filled with Japanese text. Sadly the story does not live up to the great idea and the end result is intellectually stimulating, but not engaging. A description that fits many of Greenaway's films.
Page 1 of 33
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile