• NC-17, 1 hr. 35 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    John Waters
    In Theaters:
    Mar 17, 1972 Wide
    On DVD:
    Jun 14, 2005

Opening

91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes Jul 11
100% Boyhood Jul 11
15% Rage Jul 11
18% A Long Way Down Jul 11
—— The Class Of '92 Jul 08

Top Box Office

17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $37.1M
23% Tammy $21.6M
85% 22 Jump Street $9.8M
30% Deliver Us from Evil $9.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $9.0M
48% Earth to Echo $8.4M
49% Maleficent $6.2M
54% Jersey Boys $5.2M
24% Think Like a Man Too $4.9M
90% Edge of Tomorrow $3.7M

Coming Soon

—— The Purge: Anarchy Jul 18
—— Sex Tape Jul 18
—— Hercules Jul 25
—— Lucy Jul 25
—— Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01

Premieres Tonight

—— The Almighty Johnsons: Season 3
—— Hemlock Grove: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

61% Crossbones: Season 1
82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
—— The Legend of Korra: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

25% Black Box: Season 1
100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
94% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
88% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
44% Working the Engels: Season 1

Pink Flamingos Reviews

Page 1 of 86
366weirdmovies
366weirdmovies

Super Reviewer

February 11, 2008
A couple who keep impregnated women chained in their cellar so they can sell the babies to lesbians for adoption try to challenge Divine for the title of "filthiest person alive." Contains every kind of cruelty, obscenity and freak show behavior you can imagine, notoriously including unsimulated coprophagia and chickens killed during sex. There is some value in pushing the envelope so you can see where the line should be, but even John Waters realized he had gone too far with this one.
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

October 23, 2013
John Waters most famous film, Pink Flamingos is an awful piece of crap that is just poorly constructed with a poorly thought plot, which really doesn't make sense, and really bad cast. This is pure Exploitation done wrong. I've seen my fair share of Exploitation pictures, but this one ranks as the worst. I really don't understand as to why this film has gotten praise. This film was trash, and a poor waste of film. There is little substance here to really make it worth seeing, and the content is despicable and it's just for shock value. This is not a film classic by any means, and it doesn't deserve the praise it has gotten. Trash films are fun, I mean look at what Trauma has done. However this is just a disturbing piece of garbage that should not be watched at all costs. I was curious about this film, as I've heard plenty of things about it, how it was a milestone of cinema and such. However, when I unfortunately ended up watching it, I really didn't get the hype. Waters exposes us to every taboo there is, purely for shock value. The film leaves asking questions, as to why this crap would be made. This is not landmark cinema, and it really a picture that exhibits poor taste. The success of Pink Flamingos on the midnight film circuit is surprising. Aside from sheer shock content, the film is boring with nothing interesting going for it. I really don't see what's funny with Pink Flamingos, and it is a poorly constructed film that never should have been made.
Carlos M

Super Reviewer

August 17, 2013
An outrageous and repulsive exercise in bad taste whose only infantile objective is to leave you disgusted as if eating dog shit yourself. It is not funny, the acting is horrible and John Waters only proves he is an awful director with his trashy zooms and camera movements.
Lucas M

Super Reviewer

May 22, 2011
A disgusting, surrealist, scary, sick, breathtaking, infamous and terrible funny. An anarchist /subversive cinema work. An unique film, that you need to have courage to see and after tell the story. John Waters is really a genius of the expressive bad taste. Pink Flamingos it's a perverse dark comedy, just like a car accident, you don't want see, but can't resist. Fresh.
Sophie B

Super Reviewer

June 20, 2012
I'm trying very hard to find something to say without being completely rude. Just why? Filmmakers, why on earth did you think this was a good idea? I'm very very surprise that this got 81% fresh and audiences liking it. It's absolutely vulgar, pointless and almost porn, not to mention the horrendous filmmaking and acting. It's not funny or entertaining in the slightest and I wonder how I sat through it all. Don't. Really don't waste your time.
Conner R

Super Reviewer

May 4, 2011
Sometimes John Waters is a little too obvious for his own good and this is one of those cases. I typically either love or hate his stuff. I like what he was trying to say with this, but it's just too much. I mean you can be trashy, but at least attempt to do it with some sense of style and grace. It's almost like he was trying to imitate Andy Warhol instead of present an actual message. Sometimes comedy doesn't work when you're characters are so disgusting and impossible to find interesting. It brings up important questions, but it doesn't mean anything when there's zero follow through.
DragonEyeMorrison
DragonEyeMorrison

Super Reviewer

April 20, 2011
I would give this a better rating, but i felt the climax was lame. Divine just shoots them and that's it? Really?
Megan S

Super Reviewer

January 2, 2011
So I'm watching all the John Waters' films but this one was a bit much for me. It's hard to believe that it came out in the 70s because it is still shocking and over the top. I can't imagine going to see the this movie in the theater.
AJ V

Super Reviewer

October 30, 2010
On one hand, this movie is totally disgusting and hard to watch, but on the other hand that is exactly what John Waters was trying to do with this movie. This is probably the weirdest movie you'll ever see, but when you think about it, it's also brilliant and accomplishes its goals, which is also weird. Don't see it if you don't like weird 70s movies. You've been warned.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

October 2, 2009
Taking on and demolishing just about every known middle-class value. No shit! I actually like the story and realise it?s a bit of fun, I really like John Walters and Divine, I also realise the value of this film, the risks it took and the boundaries it was confronting and the social statement it was making make it a very vital film and, historically, it?s one of the most important films ever made. I just didn't like it. To enjoy it requires a certain depravity that I just don't think I posses.
flixsterman
flixsterman

Super Reviewer

January 1, 2009
I've heard it said that this film is an attack on middle-class sensibilities. That's wrong. It's a full-frontal blitzkrieg assault.

I know that Waters is trying to be outrageous and shocking and obscene, but I draw the line when it comes to brutally beating animals to death. Not funny.
puffchunk
puffchunk

Super Reviewer

May 17, 2008
3 stars just for being so disgusting, but for the same reason I can't give it anymore either. Recommending it to anyone would alone send me to hell.
_kelly .

Super Reviewer

April 18, 2008
The shock value of this movie isn't there as much for me as film-goers of this film's time, because, well, I'm a product of the internet generation and a singing asshole is something I would casually download nowadays. That said, this is still a sick movie in many ways, as is intended, and it's WAY more fun than your average exploitation fare. Good to see some unflinching nudity without a care, and even better that a chicken died mid-coitus in order to make this movie.
Cassandra M

Super Reviewer

January 7, 2008
Pink Flamingos" is a cult classic.The plot of this film revolves around the throwdown challenge to Divine's supremacy as the filthiest person alive."Pink Flamingos" contains some memorably repulsive scenes like a sex scene with a chicken and the scene where Divine eats fresh dog feces.Yes,the movie is shocking and funny at the same time,but the biggest laughs come from the actors' lines.Check out especially this line from Divine:"Kill everyone now!Condone first degree murder!Advocate cannibalism!Eat s***!Filth is my politics!Filth is my life!".On the whole,I really enjoyed this film.Still its tagline "An Exercise in Bad Taste" should be taken to heart and even those used to the gross out movies today may find this gem hard to stomach.Highly recommended.
Stephen M

Super Reviewer

December 1, 2007
I was prepared for just about anything with this film, except for how much I actually liked it. It's certainly not for the faint-hearted, technically it's barely competent, but it does have a charm of its own and is very funny in places. He may be the king of bad taste but John Waters' taste in music is exquisitely good; the soundtrack is a treat. As for the infamous ending, I think I brushed my own teeth in sympathy.
Lafe F

Super Reviewer

July 11, 2007
John Water's shocking, disgusting movie. But it's funny as heck!

The plot concerns a competition between two families to see who is the filthiest.

There's the eating of dog poo, the chicken-sex, Miss Edie in the playpen eating eggs in her bra, the shoplifting of raw meat, the colored hair, the birthday party entertainment, the the basement sex slaves, the trial and executions, the sausage flasher and more! Some of it I can't describe here. It's packed with sleazy filthy stuff. The dialogue is a whole other hilarious thing; it's very quotable. I loved the scenes of Edie asking Babs when the Egg Man was going to arrive. Divine looks like a big goldfish in her orange dress. It's the naughty movie kids shouldn't watch.
Cindy I

Super Reviewer

June 6, 2007
I know John Waters meant this all in fun, but it is without a doubt one of the most disgusting films I've ever sat through. I'm glad I saw it, because now I never have to worry about seeing it again. Notorious for the dog-doo eating scene that ends it. But don't worry about that -- you may not make it that far. If you're a fan of this, stay away from me.
Beefy
Beefy

Super Reviewer

June 2, 2007
A unique experience, to be sure. Fun to shock people with.
FilmFanatik
FilmFanatik

Super Reviewer

May 4, 2007
Depravity at it's finest! One of the worst and yet one of the best Grindhouse films anywhere! A real treat for John Waters fans and film fans alike!
Michael S

Super Reviewer

April 4, 2007
OK, I hated it, but I can't say it wasn't entertaining and extremely funny in a sick and twisted way. John Waters is truely in a league of his own, and his Pink Flamingos is possibly the most disgusting film I've ever seen.
Page 1 of 86
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile