Pirate Radio (The Boat That Rocked) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pirate Radio (The Boat That Rocked) Reviews

Page 2 of 8
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
I.E. Weekly
November 19, 2009
Grudgingly irresistible
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
November 18, 2009
I fell in love with it and have yet to fall out of love with it. I don't expect I shall. This is a movie I suspect I will only come to treasure more with the passage of time.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
November 17, 2009
A movie filled with characters has wonderful potential. It's just that 'Pirate Radio' has no character development.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
November 17, 2009
The nostalgia Sixties rock music is lovely, however ... .
Full Review | Original Score: C
Andrea Chase
Killer Movie Reviews
November 16, 2009
to the beat of soundtrack that proves the point of why this music was feared and adored, it revels in the giddy delight of a time when all the old rules were questioned, if not thrown out
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
At the Movies
November 16, 2009
It just sits there in the water.
Top Critic
A.O. Scott
At the Movies
November 16, 2009
Any serious music fan -- that is anyone who sees the radio pirates as kindred spirits -- will be outraged by its sloppy approach to the history of rock and roll.
Jeanne Kaplan
Kaplan vs. Kaplan
November 16, 2009
Vastly entertaining and a fascinating part of music history.
Full Review
David Kaplan
Kaplan vs. Kaplan
November 16, 2009
The Kinks, Turtles and Martha and the Vandellas would have you dancing in the aisle, but then you might miss this most unusual show.
Full Review
Frank Wilkins
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
November 16, 2009
This Rock 'n' Roll love letter comes across as an overlong, jumbled mess of a film that has trouble finding both its voice and its focus.
Bill Gibron
PopMatters
November 15, 2009
Winning, witty, and wearing out its welcome toward the end, Pirate Radio is either a noble failure or the slightest of successes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Paul Chambers
CNNRadio
November 15, 2009
The music rocks, this movie doesn't. Never rises above the sitcom level complete with stock characters you might have seen on shows like WKRP. Too bad, because the classic pop tunes used in the film are among my very favorites. Paul Chambers, CNN.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Fred Topel
Can Magazine
November 14, 2009
I liked this version so much, I really want to see the longer The Boat That Rocked version. I guess on DVD.
Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat
Spirituality and Practice
November 14, 2009
A raucous and robust comedy about a rebellious band of deejays whose love for rock-n-roll spurs them to defy the British government in the late 1960s.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Christopher Smith
Bangor Daily News (Maine)
November 14, 2009
Though the sum isn't quite as good as the parts, the film does succeed due to its phenomenal cast, which consists of some of the best British actors working today. Philip Seymour Hoffman gives one of his most entertaining performances.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Sean P. Means
Salt Lake Tribune
November 13, 2009
A bloody perfect comedy, a rollicking rock 'n' roll farce brimming with raunchy humor and characters who will charm your socks off.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
November 13, 2009
Consistently and delightfully entertaining ... If the movie has a downside, it's that its great music from the 1960s sometimes outshines the narrative.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
November 13, 2009
Forty years ago, they couldn't get these songs on the radio; now we can't get them off.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
November 13, 2009
Richard Curtis's comedy is anchored only in exuberance, but that's more than you can say for most movies these days; it keeps you beaming with pleasure.
Sarah Boslaugh
Playback:stl
November 13, 2009
This is a film which does not take itself seriously and sends up everything from A Perfect Storm to Spartacus to Titanic as well as every teenage music flick you've ever seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Page 2 of 8