Pirates of the Caribbean: At Worlds End Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Coco Forsythe
Future Movies UK
May 25, 2007

If you can make sense of it, you're a smarter person than I am.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Devin Faraci
CHUD
May 23, 2007

The finale ends up going on so long that by the time the 'important' events occur at the end I couldn't find it within myself to care anymore. I had been swashed, buckled and CGIed into apathy.

Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
Mark Keizer
Boxoffice Magazine
May 25, 2007

The tragedy is, the last two films are exactly what we feared the first one would be: corporate entertainment, heavy yet frivolous, trying to buy our love with bloated spectacle.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Stephen Himes
Flak Magazine
June 7, 2007

As Captain Sparrow himself observes: "The immaterial has become.....immaterial."

Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
Top Critic
May 23, 2007

The thrilling final hour is almost enough to make one forget how much of a labor it is to trudge through the first two-thirds -- almost, but not quite.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
Top Critic
May 24, 2007

The overloaded sequel exhausts without ever satisfying. Cluttered and clattering, busy with jokes that never bob to the surface of funny, it puts the 'oy!' in ships ahoy.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic
May 24, 2007

A ponderous pirate saga, 168 minutes long, with more doldrums than 'The Rime of the Ancient Mariner.'

John P. McCarthy
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
May 29, 2007

Confusing double-crosses and half-hearted stabs at comic rigmarole leave the viewer of 'At World's End' in the doldrums.

Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
May 23, 2007

Roger wouldn't be so jolly if he had to sit through Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End, a tiresome, disorienting walk down a 165-minute-long plank.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Donald Munro
Fresno Bee
May 25, 2007

A tedious, overwrought and bloated outing that up until the 100-minute mark makes you wish the movie theater had life boats.

Full Review | Original Score: D
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 27, 2009

Another piddling blockbuster with delusions of 'darkness'

Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
May 23, 2007

Given its origins as a theme park ride, it's apt that Disney's Pirates of the Caribbean trilogy has experienced a trajectory not unlike that of a rollercoaster: an initial high, followed by repeated plummets to nauseating lows.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
May 27, 2007

The longest, darkest, most surreal and sadly weakest entry in the series. The second film, for all its problems, had more fun and energy

Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
March 3, 2008

Both sequels to the original film are confusing and long. But the third does improve on the second, because at least something happens.

Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Victoria Alexander
Movie Reviews in Croatian
May 24, 2007

PC1's Jack Sparrow has left the franchise. A stiff pod has replaced him. No story I could follow, but that was my fault. I don't understand Aramaic.

Rob Vaux
Flipside Movie Emporium
May 24, 2007

'Betrayal'... is the most apt word for At World's End. Betrayal of purpose, and of promise, and of the grand, glorious finale that everyone wanted so dearly to see.

Full Review | Original Score: C-
Brian Orndorf
OhmyNews.com
May 23, 2007

Perhaps on Jack's next adventure he could sail to the end of the world to locate a more judicious editor.

Full Review | Original Score: C-
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
June 4, 2007

The story is either incoherent or nonexistent (take your pick)...

Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Beth Accomando
KPBS.org
June 5, 2007

Personally, I'd rather go on the Disneyland ride than to have to suffer through the two sequels ever again. Although the ride has now been changed to include multiple Jack Sparrows, so there's simply no escaping the film.

Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
August 16, 2012

While it fails in matching the unpredictable excitement of the original, this is more of what I'd want in Pirates sequels. Just a little less of it.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Page 1 of 11