Planet B-Boy Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
March 17, 2008
Director Benson Lee makes sure to serve up his topic's key points, but only in easy-to-digest bites that eschew any real investigation into the movement's history, pioneers, influences, and multicultural variations.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
March 21, 2008
The break-dancing documentary Planet B-Boy proves that what might be (but probably isn't) worth five minutes of your time while you're passing through the Times Square subway station really isn't worth a 11/2-hour movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Sara Maria Vizcarrondo
Boxoffice Magazine
March 21, 2008
Utilitarian documentary about international breakdancing championship in Germany proves lackluster in its depiction of inventive choreography and culture.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Amy Nicholson
I.E. Weekly
March 20, 2008
Lee does a decent job making us care for the squads, but he does his film a better service just by pointing his camera at the breath-taking contortions of the human body.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out
November 17, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Dave White
April 26, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: C+

National Post
October 18, 2008
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
April 11, 2008
An exuberant study of the ways competition and collaboration can team up when it comes to the creativity of these guys.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Chris Faraone
Boston Herald
April 26, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
May 16, 2008
If I could, I would spin on my head to express how much I enjoyed Planet B-Boy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
April 11, 2008
Planet B-Boy effortlessly makes the case that breakdancing is a genuine art form. Mixing ballet and the street, the crews are dazzling.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Chris Barsanti
June 30, 2007
As any good film that culminates in a dance competition must, it hypes the pounding music, cheering crowds, and mawkish family backstories to the extreme.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Kam Williams
March 19, 2008
To think that this internationally-embraced dance form was started somewhere in the ghetto by a poor kid with nothing more than a radio and an unbridled passion for self-expression.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Beth Accomando
March 28, 2008
So while I might complain about some of Lee's filmmaking choices, I feel nothing but wonder and delight at seeing these dancers excel at something they love so passionately.
Jennifer Merin
May 26, 2009
Great entertainment backed with profound social and cultural insight about the worldwide grass roots importance of breakdancing. After admiring the dancers' athleticism, you'll want to hit the gym.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Cole Smithey
March 17, 2008
"Planet B-Boy" takes a step toward bringing together foreign communities by sharing a communal model of freedom of expression--the freedom of movement.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Beverly Berning
March 30, 2008
After watching this movie, I felt like every nerve ending in my body was shooting sparks. No wonder these boys dedicate their lives to this dance. It's electrifying.
Top Critic
Justin Lowe
Hollywood Reporter
March 26, 2008
Planet B-Boy pays fitting homage to both breakers' impressive dance skills and the roots of hip-hop culture. Agile camerawork propels the narrative at a brisk pace, and crisp editing synchs rhythmically with the score's propulsive beat.
Matt Pais
March 20, 2008
Will have you bobbing your head and tapping your feet, wishing you could contort yourself like that but knowing you'd probably displace a hip.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
September 2, 2007
Director Lee uses some very whizzy editing, maintaining our interest over the long running time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Gerald Peary
Boston Phoenix
April 23, 2009
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
October 18, 2008
Page 1 of 3