Polyester Reviews

Page 1 of 21
Super Reviewer
April 28, 2015
Like a Fassbinder or Douglas Sirk movie made by John Waters, it is a mess with all his trademark filth, irritating overacting and ridiculous lack of structure and focus, and I guess it would be only amusing and worth seeing in the cinema for the Odorama scratch-and-sniff gimmick.
Super Reviewer
January 8, 2008
I think that "Polyester" is John Waters' best movie. "Female Trouble" may have been funnier, but I prefer the elements in this softer creation to that earlier, meaner-spirited film. "Polyester" was the director's bridge between his last bad taste epic, "Desperate Living" (which was also great) and his first attempt at something mainstream, "Hairspray". So, what I think happened was a decrescendo of creative emotion. John Waters still has something to say about the lower middle-class here, but he used up the angry parts of his perspective when he was younger. Still, he wasn't quite ready for parody... In "Polyster", I suspect that the director wanted to utilize aspects of the culture that he had affection for. For one thing, Divine never played a more sympathetic character, and she was teamed up with Edith Massey, who was, in my opinion, the most memorable and lovable and enjoyable of all of the Waters' group. I think it's closer to call "Polyester" a tongue in cheek comedy than a satire. What's so funny about "Polyester" is how everybody acts around Francine, who is extremely kind, but ineffectual and dopey. Why is everybody so pre-occupied with tormenting her? I love how LaRue gets increasingly demented. And nobody can act humiliated and put-upon like Divine... Also, the sets are very warm and pleasant - I actually loved the Fishpaw house. Warm, funny, funny movie...
Super Reviewer
½ June 9, 2007
Cheap. Dirty. Sleazy. Whacked-out. Funny. Smelly. I enjoyed Polyester very much. Despite being made in 1981, it felt very 1970's low-budget. Offered in Odorama, where you scratch and sniff the appropriate scent on a card when a number flashes onscreen, totally gimmicky and fun! Divine makes a great bored and depressed housewife. Totally funny movie, with a beautiful message buried underneath all the sweaty smelly polyester.
Super Reviewer
February 9, 2010
Classic John Waters. Bad in all the right ways.
Super Reviewer
May 7, 2007
Presented in Odorama. it was okay, I found some parts pretty funny.
Super Reviewer
May 27, 2007
John Waters' love letter to the 50s melodrama and the William Castle gimmick film.
Brilliant.
alanjayh
Super Reviewer
½ July 25, 2008
cheesy to the max but joyable in spots
January 13, 2013
A classic from John Waters had the Odorama cards in its theater run and has it on DVD too. Divine is a housewife nursing a crush on Tab Hunter, while her domestic life falls apart. The son who stomps on women's feet is great.Stiv Bators also has a small role. I almost like Polyester more than Pink Flamingos but both are pretty awesome. A unique movie that's pretty damn funny
September 7, 2011
Waters went for more of a straight up black comedy this time around, making things slightly less scatalogical in nature, but only by a smidge.

Divine stars as a miserable housewife whose family is out of control, eventually finding love in the arms of Tab Hunter, with the proceedings all filmed in Odorama, which allows the viewer to smell all manner of disgusting things along the way.

Well worth a look, recommended.
July 8, 2007
"Bobo's dead, and i've had a miscarriage, BUT I'VE DISCOVERED MACRAME!!!!"

for some reason when you finally see it with an Odorama card, it's like a whole new adventure. In "this filthy world" John talks about when he was making the Odorama cards he was told he couldn't make them unless they were so people could eat them and not get poisoned or something to that extent...i can't decide if i want to maybe just nibble a little bit off of mine.
Super Reviewer
December 5, 2008
I wish I could meet the characters of this movie in real life. A slutty sister, a brother with a foot stomping fetish, a self serving dad who owns a porno theater, and a 300 pound, alcoholic "mother" that just wants a normal family.
½ September 21, 2008
Intersting if only for Divine & Edith Massey's intersting characters & performances. Not Waters' best, but worthwhile still...
July 9, 2008
John Waters tackles suburbia in a way that nobody has done for decades, (until American Beauty). Giant drag queen Divine plays a twisted mother to a crazed family of misfits, one of whom uses macrame to kill, and another who is into lady's shoes, (long before Soemthing About Mary ripped it off), and the arrival of Tab Hunter's hilarious JR Ewing riff (like from Dallas the TV show of th time), causes all Hell to break loose.
½ April 7, 2008
My personal Waters fav. Divine at his/her best with an out of control family she's desperately trying to save as she drinks herself into one hilarious stupor after another. Can The Baltimore foot stomper be stopped?
January 27, 2008
OH! Grab a Scratch and Sniff card and get ready! Polyester is hilarious! BTW, I have a card if any of my peeps want to borrow it. You can't scratch it like mad but you can use it lightly.
½ October 16, 2007
This has got to be My favorite John waters picture, Its absolutely amazing and non stop laughter, I like how her husband and kids are out of control but nothing beats her mother mrs Lady mc beth.. SMELL O VISION is awsome as well, I find her son in the movie the "foot stomper" hott as fire..
½ October 16, 2006
The first film to ever be released in ODORAMA! (And if you buy the DVD the scratch and sniff ODORAMA card comes with it! I haven't opned mine yet). This John Waters outing is not as strange and repellant as PINK FLAMINGOS and not as family safe as HAIRSPRAY. It's right in the middle, and it's a perfect fit. Divine is great in this one!
June 17, 2007
A heart wrenching story of a suburban house wife, Francine Fishpaw: how her life falls apart and how it is all pieced back together by fate and her ex-house-keeper turned millionheiress Cuddles.
½ January 29, 2007
The best Waters movie that has Divine and Edith Massey and all the old Waters actors in it. I love Edith Massey in this film..
Page 1 of 21