Prometheus Reviews

Page 1 of 14
Chris Stuckmann
April 17, 2015
Many walked into this movie expecting a science fiction thriller in the vein of Ridley Scott's original Alien. This, I feel, was a colossal mistake.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
David Keyes
July 2, 2013
It is easily the most cerebral endeavor of its kind since "Minority Report."
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
June 2, 2013
Any lack in originality is handsomely compensated by the plethora of 3D visual treats courtesy of a crackerjack technical crew that creates an eerie interplanetary moonscape that's as epic as it is requisitely foreboding.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Matt Kelemen
Las Vegas CityLife
April 21, 2013
WPrometheus offers hypotheses about the origin of life on our planet that are so well constructed, they make real-life theories about extraterrestrials seem highly feasible.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Ali Gray
February 12, 2013
The mishmash of grotesque body-horror and chin-stroking existentialism does not always make for the most coherent movie, but it is at least an entertaining one and certainly no black mark on the franchise.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Tim Grierson
February 12, 2013
Rather than trying to reinvent the franchise with new tricks, "Prometheus" wants to return us to that uncertain terror that loomed over the 1979 original.
Rob Gonsalves
December 17, 2012
The movie wasn't giving my brain much of a workout, but my eyes got a nice buzz. Prometheus is straight-up gorgeous...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rob Humanick
Projection Booth
November 5, 2012
Insulting lip service to 2001 notwithstanding, Prometheus shocks and awes with more than sufficient technical bravura. If only it was as smart as it clearly thinks it is.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
James Plath
Movie Metropolis
October 13, 2012
Artfully designed with special effects that border on the elegant-there's no other way to put it-"Prometheus" is a visual delight.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Brian Holcomb
October 11, 2012
There's a lot of college dorm philosophical mumbo jumbo on top but it all really boils down to, "Man seeks his creator/makes contact/discovers he is a total jerk."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Ben Kendrick
September 27, 2012
Prometheus is a welcome return to form for Ridley Scott -- delivering a fascinating sci-fi storyline, gorgeous 3D visuals, and competent filmmaking choices.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Adam Ross
The Aristocrat
September 27, 2012
Very few films can create a genuine sense of wonder and discovery, and Prometheus manages it for its entire 124 minute running time ... almost entirely a sensory experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Patrick Kolan
Shotgun Critic
September 27, 2012
Never quite matching Alien or Aliens for emotional authenticity - but definitely holding you in tow until the final moments. Ridley Scott isn't much for illustrating humanity, but he sure as hell knows how to craft aliens.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Will Chadwick
We Got This Covered
September 15, 2012
It isn't perfect, but Prometheus is a thoroughly entertaining summer blockbuster that is a cut above the rest due to an amazing cast and Ridley Scott, who re-establishes himself as one of our greatest world building filmmakers.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Justin Craig
September 10, 2012
Returning to the genre that skyrocketed his career with "Alien" and "Blade Runner," Scott has fashioned a fascinating new mystery within his original "Alien" universe.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
August 24, 2012
Scott has lensed a film that possesses the look of a video View-Master. It's jaw-droppingly striking.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
William Bibbiani
August 22, 2012
I won't say that I'm con-metheus, but I'm not entirely pro-metheus either.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
Chris Sawin
July 20, 2012
Spectacular and mesmerizing. Ridley Scott is back in top form, but "Prometheus" suffers from pulling (and relying on) the strings of anticipation a bit too much.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Richard Knight
Knight at the Movies
July 15, 2012
Scott has indeed created another sci-fi classic -- brilliant mess that it is.
Kirk Honeycutt
July 13, 2012
"Prometheus" comes off as a really fun movie with knockout effects, a splendid visual design, tense scenes, a playful attitude but ... well, it's a wee bit familiar.
Full Review | Original Score: 7
Page 1 of 14