Quantum of Solace - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Quantum of Solace Reviews

Page 1 of 14
Deborah Ross
The Spectator
November 2, 2015
Although it's not the most crushing disappointment of all time -- finding you have won the lottery but lost the ticket is probably more crushing, I imagine -- it is still a crushing disappointment.
John Serba
MLive.com
November 2, 2015
Kurylenko is certainly gorgeous, but can't match Craig as a thespian, and the necessary chemistry between them is merely mundane.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Gina Carbone
Seacoast Newspapers (NH/Maine)
November 14, 2008
The only thing that's shaken is the camera work and I certainly wasn't stirred by a dang thing. This isn't a Bergman film: Bond can search his soul on his own time.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.25/4
Ali Gray
TheShiznit.co.uk
October 14, 2012
At times, you feel you can see the character - and by proxy the writers - actually thinking, "So what now?"
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
November 13, 2008
I repeat: James Bond is not an action hero! Leave the action to your Jason Bournes. This is a swampy old world. The deeper we sink in, the more we need James Bond to stand above it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
November 14, 2008
This is the least satisfying production since The Living Daylights.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
November 14, 2008
With [this] too-shaken sequel, the Bond market experiences a dip.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
November 13, 2008
Not every director is well-suited to Bondland. "There's something horribly efficient about you," Kurylenko says to Craig at one point. The same goes for the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
November 14, 2008
Quantum of Solace is a model of mediocrity, even though Daniel Craig gives his all to a production that doesn't deserve him.
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
November 2, 2015
If they want to keep making movies like this with Daniel Craig as a British secret agent, I think they should at least change his name to something besides Bond.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
John P. McCarthy
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
November 17, 2008
Now that 007 has got Vesper out of his system, maybe we'll get a Bond flick that doesn't just smolder but is genuinely combustible.
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
November 12, 2008
The movie never bores, but nor does it spark.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Henry Fitzherbert
Daily Express
November 2, 2015
Quantum of Solace barely feels like a Bond movie, what with all the staple elements of the franchise stripped bare in an effort to make an even more "realistic" adventure.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Matt Soergel
Florida Times-Union
December 24, 2009
Turns out to be almost as bad as its title.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 13, 2009
I'm so turned off by this, I don't even have the energy to trash it. Why should I think of something clever to write? The authors clearly didn't see that as a mandate.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Rossiter Drake
San Francisco Examiner
November 13, 2008
While the rejuvenation of the franchise has been put on temporary hold, be assured that 'Quantum of Solace' sparkles with all the wit and heart-pounding excitement of a movie that takes its name from an Ian Fleming story about cocktail-party chitchat.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 26, 2009
Dismal and unexciting
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
November 14, 2008
If you held up your thumb over Daniel Craig's face and took in the mayhem around him, you'd think you were watching The Bourne Simulation rather than the 22nd (and shortest-ever) ode to Ian Fleming's suave government killer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Chris Barsanti
PopMatters
November 21, 2008
...the plot is just so much noise in the end, somehow both over- and underdone.
Austin O'Connor
San Francisco Examiner
November 14, 2008
As an action movie, Quantum of Solace is passable ... As a Bond movie, it's a mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 14