Ragtime Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Super Reviewer
½ January 2, 2008
It drags here and there but mostly a fine epic film
½ January 2, 2013
Milos Foreman's opus about early 1900's America works on a few different levels. It is a great costume and detailed film, good score, powerful acting, and a great cast (Steenburgen is a little iffy at times though). It was great to see some of the old school cats like James Cagney, in his final role, get screen time. Cagney and Brad Dourif definitely make this pretty great. Hey and there was a youngish Samuel L as part of Howard Rollin's gang. Ragtime was a movie that I always wanted to see based off me liking One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, Amadeus, and Man on the Moon. Sometimes the movies you want to see for years wind up sucking or disappointing but Ragtime was good.
½ February 21, 2012
I thought it was a wonderful movie, played with great range by the actors, and an exquisite rendition of early 20th century New York with the costume and set designs.
½ May 17, 2011
Milos Forman usually delivers a quality film, as is the case here. an intricately weaving story about American life in the early 20th century. enjoyable as it was, the story was kind of all over the place. Elizabeth McGovern pretty much disappears after the first act...blows off Brad Dourif and ends up working for street-artist-turned-film-director (another plot detail I don't quite understand) Mandy Patinkin. but storylines petering off seems to be a common trend. I suppose an underlying theme of the whole film could be the search for justice, but nobody really finds it. kind of depressing, actually, when you consider how many people get screwed in this movie. scattered plot and vague themes aside, this is still an entertaining film with a great cast of characters played by a great cast of actors. it's a testament to Forman's directing that even his so-so films are pretty good.
½ March 4, 2009
i saw this movie when i was 11 and it stayed in my mind i am almost 40 and would love to see it again
June 4, 2008
I just couldn't really get into this film...there is a nice array of talent however, the mish mash of storylines strain to connect to one another and eventually they fall by the way side and I just didn't care any more
March 30, 2008
Too long. Too BORING. The story hinges on one racist event that I dont even find that racist. Uninteresting characters. A 'miniseries' i didnt care about
July 19, 2007
I watched this with my grandparents when I was a kid. They were Cagney fans. This was worth a viewing though I haven't seen it since.
July 8, 2007
A thoroughly enjoyable movie. Lots of stars. Mandy Patinkin is great in this too. Made me want to read the book and learn more about that time period.
November 27, 2006
The huge cast includes a glimpse of Fran Drescher pre-nanny. For those of you who haven't read the book, it weaves three families, one black, one upper-middle-class white, and one immigrant Jewish, into stories with real people such as Henry Ford and Emma Goldman. The book is more complex and the musical more fun, but the movie is also a good incarnation of the story.
½ April 9, 2015
Fine performance and Cagney's last while not memorable is worth seeing.
½ March 13, 2015
A rambling yet engaging story.

Set in the early 20th century the movie initially follows the lives of several characters, from different walks of life. Their stories are not independent - their lives do intersect, sometimes fleetingly, sometimes indirectly, sometimes more permanently.

This creates a rambling, unfocused, feel to the movie, especially in the first half to 2/3rds of it. After a while it mostly settles down and tends to focus on one main character, but in the early stages it is difficult to get into the movie, due to the disjointed nature of it.

Ultimately it is quite engaging, as you start to support certain characters and the plot takes shape.

Solid performances all round. ELizabeth McGovern and Howard E Rollins received Best Supporting Actress and Best Supporting Actor, respectively, Oscar nominations for their performances.

James Cagney, 82 years old at the time, gives a great, gravitas-filled, performance as the Police Chief. This was to be his last cinematic role, though he did make one more movie, a TV movie, before his death in 1986.

Also interesting to see many now well-known stars in early-career minor roles: Jeff Daniels, Samuel L Jackson, Fran Drescher, John Ratzenberger.
½ November 12, 2007
Fine, sprawling period piece. A great swan song for Cagney.
½ October 1, 2014
A lot more enjoyable than I thought it'd be. Weller did a good job adapting the novel, getting rid of the slow-moving first half and leaping into the action. That being said, if I hadn't read the novel, the movie might've seemed overlong and dragging; having read the book, though, I couldn't help but compare it and feel like the movie moved very fast.

The other main strength is in the excellent cast. Howard E. Rollins was perfect for the role of Coalhouse Walker Jr, as was Brad Dourif as Younger Brother. Both of them were almost exactly how I pictured the characters. The movie also lends an immediacy to the plot that isn't felt from reading a novel, so I was able to sympathize with Coalhouse in a way that I didn't get to in the book. I still enjoy the book more, though, because of its strange first half, daring structure, and interesting voice.
July 5, 2012
This movie is one of my favorites. The plot line focuses on several people during this roaring time. All of them are twisted in some way, and have phenomenal dialogue. The cinematography captures that classical Ragtime feel (the score does too obviously). The ending truly feels convincing and not like historical fiction. The tone of the film is also quite dark which makes you feel an eerie suspicion whenever someone does something. Its just an epic adventure that you devote a lot of time for such a great pay-off. Please stop reading this and go see it!
July 13, 2012
What happened to Elizabeth McGovern?
½ May 10, 2009
For anyone unfamiliar with E.L. Doctorow's novel, RAGTIME is a complex, richly created tapestry of New York City at its turning point, involving an upper-class white family somehow getting mixed up in the trials and tribulations of a black pianist, a Jewish filmmaker, a sexy model, and a crusty police officer (James Cagney, in what would be his final film). What's particularly notable about this film is the casting of the actors; for many of them, from Brad Dourif to Moses Gunn to James Olson to Mandy Patinkin, this was their first film. It is interesting to see them in RAGTIME prior to when they became famous. The real star of the picture, though, isn't just the beautiful cinematography, but Randy Newman's score. This is one of my favorite soundtracks of all time, from the melancholy opening waltz to the showclosing "One More Hour". Longtime fans of the novel may be somewhat disappointed with Milos Forman's otherwise superb interpretation of the novel, which cuts out many of the historical figures and mostly focuses on the misfortunes of the black pianist (wonderfully portrayed by Howard E. Rollins Jr.) as his life devolves into one of vengeance against a racist firefighter. Consequently, it leads to a somewhat overlong final act. Even with this shortcoming, RAGTIME is still fine entertainment. It never gained the popularity of a subsequent musical show, but it definitely deserves a look.
½ March 18, 2011
Sou suspeito para falar de "Ragtime". Também sou suspeito para falar de Milos Forman. Mas quando digo que sou suspeito para falar de "Ragtime", não estou referindo-me ao filme, mas sim ao livro escrito pelo prolífico americano E.L. Doctorow. Afinal de contas, "Ragtime" é o meu livro favorito, e guardo-o carinhosamente na minha prateleira.

Milos Forman havia acabado de sair de um clássico dos musicais, e - como dizem para mim - um filme de importância sociopolítica incomensurável: Hair (Hair, 1979). Foi quando Dino De Laurentiis, o famoso produtor italiano, convidou-o para dirigir a adaptação do best-seller de Doctorow. Na verdade, Forman estava substituindo Robert Altman, que havia dirigido o fraco Popeye, em 1980, apenas um ano antes do lançamento deste filme. Deus sabe o que Altman foi fazer para desistir de Na Época do Ragtime, por que este é o filme perfeito para ele: múltiplas histórias, crítica aos costumes retrógrados de uma sociedade (por assim dizer) moralista. Enfim, cada um sabe o que faz. Mas, sendo sincero, Forman não era a melhor opção para dirigir este filme. O diretor tcheco simplesmente não soube como dividir os 155 minutos de filme para as seis linhas narrativas principais do filme.
Em linhas gerais, o objetivo de Na Época de Ragtime é montar um painel que mostre como funcionavam os costumes e as mentes da América no início do século XX. Em New Rochelle vive uma típica família de classe média-alta norte-americana - gramado mais-que-verde no jardim, uma hortinha no quintal, cerca, uma empregada, etc. Papai (James Olson) é o homem que tem o sagrado dever de manter a família funcionando. Na casa ainda vivem Mamãe (Mary Steenburger), Irmão Mais Novo (Brad Dourif), sem contar com o filho e o vovô e a empregada, Brigit. Não demora muito para percebermos que as coisas não são assim tão agradáveis nesta residência de New Rochelle: o Irmão Mais Novo é obviamente lunático, Mamãe tem seus direito de pensar revogado por Papai (são incontáveis as vezes que ela diz "Eu acho que..." e Papai a corta com a frase "Eu acho que minha esposa quis dizer...").

As coisas só pioram quando surge um bebê na horta do fundo do quintal. Não demora muito para Sarah (Debbie Allen), a mãe da criança. Ela é negra e rapidamente já é tachada de "criatura abominável". Nas palavras do policial que a leva para a casa da família: "Não podemos compartilhar os mesmos pensamentos que essa gente [negros]. Não são cristãos como nós." Não obstante, surge a figura mais importante da trama: Coalhouse Walker Jr. (Howard E. Rollins Jr.). Elegante, bem-educado, pianista especializado em ragtime ("Primeiro eu toco o que pedirem. Depois, ragtime").

Ao mesmo tempo conhecemos a história de Evelyn Nesbit (Elizabeth McGovern, linda). Carismática, enigmática, interesseira. Ela está casada com "Henry K. Thaw, de Princeton!". Mas Henry K. Thaw está muito aborrecido, pois Sanford White construiu uma estátua, com claros traços similares ao da garota. É um nu que está pendurado no alto do Madison Square Garden. Resultado: K. Thaw mata White com um tiro na cabeça e agora responde a processo. Pouco tempo depois Nesbit conhece Irmão Mais Novo e Tateh. Ela se apaixona pelo Irmão Mais Novo e aparentemente cria afeição por Tateh.

Por gostar tanto do livro (parafraseando Forman, Doctorow escreve como um anjo), acabo ficando com mais dificuldades do que imaginava. Entretanto, vou separar as duas coisas. Caso contrário, acabaria ficando tal qual uma fã de "Harry Potter", aborrecida por que parte X do livro não foi para o filme. Não, o problema não é este. O problema é que o roteiro do filme não consegue criar uma trama uniforme para o longa. Apesar do roteirista Michael Weller (e do roteirista Bo Goldman, de Um Estranho no Ninho, que teve participação não creditada) cortar grande parte das narrativas paralelas (por exemplo, no livro, acompanhamos a depressão do mágico Harry Houdini após a morte da mãe, e a trajetória de Tateh depois de deixar Nova York e ir tentar vida nova na Filadélfia), jamais conseguimos nos sentir totalmente envolvidos por aquela trama, que parecia tão promissora. Como Irmão Mais Novo conseguiu se envolver amorosamente com Evelyn Nesbit? Ninguém sabe. O roteiro de Weller salta de um segmento para outro de forma tão louca que a narrativa torna-se incompreensível. A personagem de Tateh é totalmente esquecida pelo roteiro, assim como Nesbit. Weller prefere dar mais atenção à personagem de Coalhouse Walker Jr., que - não por acaso - transforma-se na figura mais interessante do filme. Entretanto, se no livro, Walker era uma vítima das circunstâncias, Weller transforma-o numa figura arrogante e prepotente, que age com requintes de loucura e insanidade. Não à toa, a melhor cena do filme, quando Walker conhece Brooker T. Washington, foi copiada letra por letra do livro.
Mas se o roteiro é falho, não podemos falar o mesmo da direção de Forman. O homem filma como um lorde. Com uma elegância impressionante. Um exemplo? Repare na tensão que o diretor estabelece na cena do assassinato de Stanford White. Numa série de cortes ágeis e secos (mostrando, assim, um dos maiores trunfos do filme: a montagem precisa de Anne V. Coates), Forman mostra o estado de nervos de Henry K. Thaw, a ignorância de White sobre o que está para lhe acontecer e - ironicamente - o objeto que criou toda aquela situação: o nu de Evelyn Nesbit.

Além da ótima direção de Forman, o designer de produção de John Greysmark e a excelente trilha sonora de Randy Newman (sim, o mesmo Randy Newman da Pixar) marcam presença no filme. Inclusive a música One More Hour, que toca durante os créditos finais do filme, composta por Newman, foi indicada ao Oscar do ano de 1981.

No fim das contas Na Época do Ragtime prova-se um filme médio, que caiu no limbo do esquecimento, dentro da carreira de seu diretor. Forman, diretor de poucos filmes, escorregou feio com esta obra. Fazer o que? Nada. De toda forma, Na Época do Ragtime, com suas boas atuações (destaque para Elizabeth McGovern, que apenas alguns anos mais tarde estrelaria a obra-prima de Sergio Leone, Era Uma Vez na América, interpretando um papel similar), serviu de preparação para Forman produzir seu filme mais poderoso: Amadeus.
January 17, 2010
How a great director like Milos Foreman let's some of the painful performances in this film slide, I do not know. And even though some of the performances were substantial (Coalhouse Walker Jr., Younger Brother), Ragtime does a good job of bringing E. L. Doctorow's masterpiece to life and is embellished with a star-studded cast, it fails to impact you like the book and play do.
Page 1 of 6