The Rat Pack - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Rat Pack Reviews

Page 1 of 3
April 5, 2016
For fans of The Rat Pack this is a must-see. Some people have a hard time accepting Liotta as Sinatra. After about 30 minutes it was no problem for me. All the actors brought a lot of emotion to their roles. This could have ended up really dopey - this ended up with a good edge that kept it interesting. A tad too long though the period sets, cars, houses, furniture were excellent and added a lot to the enjoyment. You have to appreciate the era and The Rat Pack though to really enjoy this movie. The politics and ties to the mob did not pull many punches which I appreciated.
May 27, 2008
While certainly not the definitive account, this inventive biopic mixes politics and history with dazzling color and visual style.
June 6, 2013
As interesting from a historical perspective as from an entertainment one. Great performances all-around.
April 24, 2012
Not bad for a cable movie. Never really bought Liotta as Sinatra. Joe Mantegna and Don Cheadle are very good as Dean Martin and Sammy Davis Jr. the movies mixes in politics as Frank Sinatra works behind the scenes to get JFK elected President.
½ June 20, 2010
A pretty intense look at the different lifestyles of Peter Lawford, Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis, and Dean Martin, the fifth member is left out a little bit. It shows their independent struggles and triumphs and their rise and fall as the pack. The most interesting for me was Don Cheadle's portrayal of Sammy, he did a great job showing his small pains, and how he dealt with the racism. If you love their music, check out this movie.
½ July 6, 2009
what a boring movie. i was expecting more lounge act less angst. i wish i'd seen it 10 years ago so i could just watch it and not sit confused as to why fat tony and grissom are in a movie together.
½ October 6, 2008
Maybe the best movie that HBO has ever made, it was really great. It would have been monumental as a mini series. There was a lot compacted for time. Everyone here did a fantastic job.
January 5, 2007
[font=Book Antiqua][color=magenta]Cabaret has tired me out beyond tired. Sleep feels lovely. Maybe I'll actually go out into the world today. Haven't just walked around at the town center in what feels like forever. [/color][/font]
April 5, 2016
For fans of The Rat Pack this is a must-see. Some people have a hard time accepting Liotta as Sinatra. After about 30 minutes it was no problem for me. All the actors brought a lot of emotion to their roles. This could have ended up really dopey - this ended up with a good edge that kept it interesting. A tad too long though the period sets, cars, houses, furniture were excellent and added a lot to the enjoyment. You have to appreciate the era and The Rat Pack though to really enjoy this movie. The politics and ties to the mob did not pull many punches which I appreciated.
May 27, 2008
While certainly not the definitive account, this inventive biopic mixes politics and history with dazzling color and visual style.
June 6, 2013
As interesting from a historical perspective as from an entertainment one. Great performances all-around.
April 24, 2012
Not bad for a cable movie. Never really bought Liotta as Sinatra. Joe Mantegna and Don Cheadle are very good as Dean Martin and Sammy Davis Jr. the movies mixes in politics as Frank Sinatra works behind the scenes to get JFK elected President.
February 22, 2011
Hello, pointless frame story. Hello misogyny. Goodbye two hours of my life I could've spent with a Joan Crawford movie.
½ February 22, 2011
A bit TV movie-ish, but cool none the less...
DEANO RULES!
½ February 19, 2011
Good biopic on Frank Sinatra's "Rat Pack": Sinatra, Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr, Peter Lawford & Joey Bishop. Mostly concentrates on their links with the Kennedys and organised crime, and how this helped shape their history. Gives a great perspective on the power wielded by Sinatra, especially, and the rest.

The problem is that the casting is a bit off. Ray Liotta looks nothing like Frank Sinatra, and doesn't come off as convincing. Joe Mantegna looks like Dean Martin, but just doesn't seem right for the role. Angus Macfadyen is OK as Peter Lawford, though the accent is a bit irritating.

Performance of the movie goes to Don Cheadle, as Sammy Davis Jr. He is superb in the role, and captures well the torment suffered by Davis in a still-racially-divided USA.

Good, but could have been better.
½ June 20, 2010
A pretty intense look at the different lifestyles of Peter Lawford, Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis, and Dean Martin, the fifth member is left out a little bit. It shows their independent struggles and triumphs and their rise and fall as the pack. The most interesting for me was Don Cheadle's portrayal of Sammy, he did a great job showing his small pains, and how he dealt with the racism. If you love their music, check out this movie.
½ June 7, 2010
better than average but still a way to go to be the Kings of Cool
Page 1 of 3