Ratatouille Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
June 28, 2007
Has Pixar lost its magic recipe? Ratatouille is filled with fairly generic animated imagery, a few modest chases, a couple of good gags, not a lot of laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
June 27, 2007
The wild, devoted praise afforded Bird's solid yet tepid films puzzles me. It's as though society is playing a joke that everyone but me and a few others are in on. I smell a Ratatouille.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Matt Bochenski
Little White Lies
October 10, 2007
Occasionally inspired, but mostly trivial and pointless.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jason Ferguson
Orlando Weekly
June 28, 2007
Beyond the stunning animation (they finally got hair right!), there's little to recommend besides the fact that it's a touch better than Shrek the Third.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Dustin Putman
TheFilmFile.com
June 28, 2007
Pixar's weakest film in almost a decade.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out Chicago
August 4, 2013
Ratatouille seems more charming in concept than in execution. Bogged down by too many climaxes, it's a little overcooked.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Marie Asner
Phantom Tollbooth
July 14, 2007
Ratatouille has imaginative animation, creative characters, but the use of a gray rat and his garbage-eating family is questionable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
JoBlo
JoBlo's Movie Emporium
February 22, 2008
One of the few Pixar films which, for me, seemed more geared toward just kids, as opposed to their usual balance of kid/adult themes.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Steve Persall
Tampa Bay Times
August 24, 2014
Ratatouille isn't a bad movie, just one that doesn't do enough of what it does well.
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
June 28, 2007
Its pleasures are mostly small.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jonathan W. Hickman
Entertainment Insiders
June 29, 2007
Delicious family entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Annlee Ellingson
Boxoffice Magazine
June 26, 2007
Ratatouille's narrative shortcuts only serve to make room for the fun, of which there are generous servings.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Gina Carbone
Seacoast Newspapers (NH/Maine)
July 5, 2007
Ratatouille is fast-moving and fun and makes me wish I gave more thought to my meals. But if I laughed out loud, it wasn't more than once and the most emotional moment came from Anton Ego, the snobby British critic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.75/4
Coco Forsythe
Future Movies UK
June 29, 2007
Ratatouille is touching and moving and very funny. Bon Appetit!
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Jeff Meyers
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
August 4, 2013
Thankfully, Ratatouille never relies on pop-culture references or crass satire to get laughs. It creates comedy on its own terms.
Steven Snyder
Zertinet Movies
June 27, 2007
This is a summer animated film aimed at your 15-year-old youngster, not your toddler. [While] younger fans will enjoy the sight of these furry heroes in a man's world, they will easily lose track of the intricate story, smart dialogue and complex themes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Ali Gray
TheShiznit.co.uk
November 3, 2012
Up there with Finding Nemo and Monsters Inc. as one of Pixar's best creature features.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Stephen Himes
Flak Magazine
July 16, 2007
But how would the rat match up against Iron Chef Morimoto?
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
RogerEbert.com
August 31, 2007
A lot of animated movies have inspired sequels, notably Shrek, but Brad Bird's Ratatouille is the first one that made me positively desire one.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
June 26, 2007
For parents looking to spend time in a theater with their kids or adults who want something lighter and less testosterone-oriented than the usual summer fare, Ratatouille offers a savory main course.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 12