Read My Lips Reviews

Page 2 of 6
Jon Popick
Planet Sick-Boy
September 27, 2002
Never once predictable.
| Original Score: 6/10
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
September 26, 2002
It's stylishly directed with verve...
Full Review | Original Score: A -
Laura Kelly
South Florida Sun-Sentinel
September 20, 2002
The noirish twists are not always believable; at least once I laughed out loud incredulously.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
September 20, 2002
See it now, before the inevitable Hollywood remake flattens out all its odd, intriguing wrinkles.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
September 20, 2002
The exposition does pay off, if you can stay awake that long. There's little gripping in the film until the second hour.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
David Elliott
San Diego Union-Tribune
September 13, 2002
A genuinely adult thriller with a sneaky sexual charge.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Rob Thomas
Capital Times (Madison, WI)
September 12, 2002
The mesmerizing performances of the leads keep the film grounded and keep the audience riveted.
| Original Score: 3/4
Jon Lap
Apollo Guide
September 10, 2002
Its primary benefits are held in a quark of arcane visual symbols and cultural criticism.
Full Review | Original Score: 80/100
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
September 9, 2002
This is only Audiard's third film, but it should put him in the top ranks of international filmmakers.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
September 5, 2002
It's neither as romantic nor as thrilling as it should be. But it offers plenty to ponder and chew on as its unusual relationship slowly unfolds.
| Original Score: 4/5
D.K. Holm
DVDTalk.com
September 1, 2002
Read My Lips starts with a bang and ends with an orgasm.
Joe Baltake
Sacramento Bee
August 30, 2002
Read My Lips works on many levels, one being a fresh take on the 'office romance,' but a romance that evolves in a strictly nontraditional way.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Duane Dudek
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
August 30, 2002
Although it has thriller elements, Read My Lips is more of a straightforward caper film with substantial personal interaction.
| Original Score: 3/4
Jeffrey Bruner
Des Moines Register
August 30, 2002
A gritty, engaging thriller.
| Original Score: 4/5
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
August 30, 2002
There's a lot to recommend Read My Lips.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Susan Stark
Detroit News
August 9, 2002
Thoughtful, provocative and entertaining.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Robert Denerstein
Denver Rocky Mountain News
August 9, 2002
It's erotic, suspenseful and built around two surprising characters. Even better, it doesn't feel like every other thriller we've ever seen.
| Original Score: B+
Richard Falcon
Sight and Sound
August 8, 2002
Emmanuelle Devos, veteran of a number of relationship dramas directed by Arnaud Desplechin, is terrific in subtly impressing on us Carla's outsider status.
Pete Croatto
Filmcritic.com
August 4, 2002
Passionless and devoid of genuine suspense.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5

E! Online
August 2, 2002
It's the duo's conflicted relationship that steals our attention, thanks to the first-rate work of the leads.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 2 of 6