Reign Over Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Reign Over Me Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
March 22, 2007
A movie straining for profundity and occasionally reaching some emotional truths.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Gina Carbone
Seacoast Newspapers (NH/Maine)
April 1, 2007
Long after I've forgotten this film -- starting with the stalker chick -- I'll remember the music and what it was trying to communicate when the rest of the film had its headphones on.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
March 22, 2007
Reign Over Me has the best of intentions but, despite its desire to show how the perseverance of a good man can produce profound results, its bungles the attempt.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 27, 2009
Mike Binder, a director of TV-sized smarm, continues to dismantle his own best effects
Tony Macklin
Fayetteville Free Weekly
February 2, 2009
Reign Over Me is like spending two hours with a shrink. Self-absorbed and repetitive, it has an occasional moment of truth, and a lot of hot air.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Chicago Sun-Times
March 23, 2007
When Reign Over Me misfires, it careens out of control.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
March 22, 2007
Always feels like it's TRYING to be a Meaningful Film, rather than just BEING one. It wears its earnestness on its sleeve, hoping you'll notice.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
March 3, 2008
The main problem is Reign Over Me always skirts around the issue instead of tackling it head on. Depression and loss are hell, and hopefully friends can be there to bring you out of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Victoria Alexander
Movie Reviews in Croatian
March 24, 2007
Sandler does a good job but the story is awful.
Full Review
Bob Grimm
Reno News and Review
March 29, 2007
One of those movies that keeps screaming "I'm a message movie!"
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
September 27, 2007
Pretty much a run-of-the-mill carbon copy of Rain Man.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
March 20, 2007
You certainly have to appreciate that Sandler wants to stretch in such a fashion, but you also want material that allows him to do so more convincingly.
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
July 14, 2007
Has its heart in the right place, and its message that everyone should be able to grieve in their own time is admirable, but Mr. Binder doesn't have enough to say to sustain the film's running time.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Thomas Peyser
Style Weekly (Richmond, VA)
April 4, 2007
Reign Over Me surrounds its weighty subject with so much contrived nonsense that after a while the film feels like an affront to real suffering.
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
March 23, 2007
Sandler is one monotone note here: dead-eyed hollowness standing in for grief...
Erik Childress
eFilmCritic.com
March 23, 2007
Maybe Reign Over Me can serve as a reminder that the only way to deal with 9/11 is to actually deal with it instead of shifting the focus to elements that obviously have nothing to do with it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
March 23, 2007
There's a love for psychotherapy in this movie... but I don't buy the theory that therapy necessarily makes us better. If you don't believe me, look at Woody Allen.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
March 22, 2007
As Charlie Fineman, a Manhattan dentist who lost his wife and two children when their jet crashed into the World Trade Center on 9/11, Sandler is stuck in a movie that won't come unstuck.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
John Anderson
Newsday
March 22, 2007
Sandler tries to please his existing fan base while also stretching himself to new and unexplored lengths. If you hear something snap, please inform the theater management.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Bruce Newman
San Jose Mercury News
March 22, 2007
When Binder isn't stuck on message, the picture has a breezy, inconsequential charm. But in at least two unforgivably manipulative scenes the movie asks us for feelings that it has not yet earned.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4

Sydney Morning Herald
March 23, 2007
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
March 24, 2007

Film Ireland Magazine
April 6, 2007
Page 1 of 8