Remember the Titans - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Remember the Titans Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Donald Munro
Fresno Bee
January 1, 2000
Seems too easy, too feel-good, too lush. There's a theme-park feel to it, as if the powers-that-be had decided to open a Rosa Parks trolley ride at Disneyland.
Top Critic
Peter Brunette
January 1, 2000
I didn't believe the movie, or my tears, for a second.
Betty Jo Tucker
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
August 2, 2002
Football ends racism? Yeah, right.
Jeanne Aufmuth
Palo Alto Weekly
May 14, 2003
Will someone please make me a great football movie?
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Wesley Morris
San Francisco Examiner
January 1, 2000
Not as powerfully boring as Gone in 60 Seconds, less anti-erotic than Coyote Ugly, this is a civil rights tale for People's Court times -- the verdicts are speedy, vague and unconscionable.
Top Critic
Philip Wuntch
Dallas Morning News
January 1, 2000
Remember the Titans resembles a sports re-run of game plans that once seemed fresh.
Top Critic
Dennis Lim
Village Voice
January 1, 2000
Boorish and flatulent.
Top Critic
Glenn Lovell
San Jose Mercury News
January 1, 2000
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
May 8, 2001
When the hard battle for integration is served up as a feel-good package, we've all been bamboozled.
| Original Score: 2/4
Michael Atkinson
May 29, 2008
Yakin's hackwork is so slickly manipulative and preachy it has the tone of a politician's TV commercial...
Top Critic
Richard Schickel
TIME Magazine
July 31, 2008
Maybe it's all true. But one is always a little discomfited when life, or a movie, imitates weary melodramatic patterns this slavishly.
Robert Wilonsky
New Times
January 1, 2000
Beneath its rah-rah rhetoric and pigskin proselytizing, it's no more provocative or thoughtful than a Hallmark greeting card.
John A. Nesbit
January 1, 2000
I'd hate to fathom a film community dominated by Bruckheimer material.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Derek Smith
Apollo Guide
September 14, 2002
A wonderful crowd pleaser, and as long as you don't expect too much of it or think about it too deeply, it will remain a favourite.
Full Review | Original Score: 71/100
Shay Casey
Jacksonville Film Journal
February 7, 2001
With such volatile and interesting subject matter, we could have gotten more than a safe Really Good Bad Movie. We could have gotten a Good Movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
January 1, 2000
Denzel Washington should have held out for a better script before he signed on to star in Remember the Titans.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Cynthia Fuchs
Philadelphia City Paper
January 1, 2000
While male bonding surely can be a route to tolerance, in this case, it ends up looking painfully small-world-after-all-ish.
Tobias Peterson
January 1, 2000
While various critics have pointed out the film's numerous historical inaccuracies, the social and political sugar-coating that takes place is even more disturbing.
Jon Popick
Planet Sick-Boy
January 1, 2000
After weeks of hating each other, the Titans inexplicably seem to unite over a Marvin Gaye song and a contest where they rank out each other's moms.
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
January 1, 2000
Once kicked, the ball deflates midway through the goal posts, and then lies there sagging for another 45 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic

Ebert & Roeper
January 1, 2000

Boston Phoenix
March 24, 2002
August 12, 2002
Page 1 of 7