Rendition - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rendition Reviews

Page 1 of 8
June 10, 2010
Designed to make us feel like we've just witnessed a powerful experience. The reality of the film is that it's nothing but a shallow and underdeveloped position paper.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 27, 2009
The sort of schematic slog that stirs more discussion about the cluelessness of the filmmakers than anything else
Heather Huntington
ReelzChannel.com
August 26, 2008
Rendition features decent performances by all its actors, although few are given any chance to shine.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Sean Gandert
Paste Magazine
July 31, 2008
Rather then telling a story with characters growing and exploring the politics of the world around them, they simply take up the roles of well-dictated automatons.
Rossiter Drake
San Francisco Examiner
June 6, 2008
The film unfolds brilliantly and methodically, as director Gavid Hood's vivid characters are unwittingly drawn together.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 1, 2008
But Rendition, in the end, is a Lifetime movie with pretensions toward being a political thriller. (They could even call it YOU HAVE MY HUSBAND! since Witherspoon shrieks that at Streep in a ludicrous scene.)
Brandon Fibbs
Colorado Springs Gazette
February 28, 2008
The film exists in a gray zone that acknowledges the existence and relevance of both sides.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
February 8, 2008
Jake Gyllenhaal gets better with each role and here he is impressive as the novice CIA analyst forced to confront his own conscience
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
January 26, 2008
[A] spotty, but ultimately effective thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Enrique Buchichio
Uruguay Total
January 22, 2008
Un thriller político bastante crítico hacia los métodos anti terroristas de Estados Unidos y sus aliados, en la misma línea de Syriana, Munich y Leones por Corderos (aunque mucho más efectiva que esta última).
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
January 10, 2008
Apresenta-se simultaneamente como um bom filme e, lamentavelmente, também como uma oportunidade desperdiçada.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 22, 2007
Rendition's heart is in the right place, but feels like a desperate single attempt to get it all out at once out of fear of losing another chance. I am glad I saw it, but I don't ever need to see it again.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Michael W. Phillips, Jr.
Goatdog's Movies
November 21, 2007
The film doesn't know or care who Anwar El-Ibrahimi is outside of how his plight affects the white folks connected with him.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
November 21, 2007
Rendition gives its take on this practice with enough complexity to keep us engaged - and on the fence about how far our nation should go ...
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
Roger Tennis
Cinemaclips.com
November 19, 2007
"Rendition" is well-acted and well-written with a surprising twist that I didn't see coming. It's difficult to single out one performance - making it high on my list for an ensemble award. Powerful renditions by all involved.
| Original Score: 4/5
Prairie Miller
NewsBlaze
November 11, 2007
While Reese won't take no for an answer from the suits in DC and fights for her man, Meryl Streep's ambitious and wicked CIA boss fights for her career, but this time around the devil wears pistols.
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
November 7, 2007
Hood's greatest concern is the line between moral courage and cowardice.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
November 1, 2007
And what the heck does this title mean, anyway? Competing with "Things We Lost in the Fire" for its fuzzy appellation, "Rendition" refers to the U.S. policy of "extraordinary rendition" that allows the government to arrest and keep imprisoned anyone suspe
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
Diana Saenger
ReviewExpress.com
October 29, 2007
The thought that my life might be turned upside down merely by someone calling me is very frightening indeed.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
October 24, 2007
Rendition is an important film. Art, by definition, is supposed to provoke, to spur emotions, to enlighten. On those counts, this movie scores a bull's-eye.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 8