Repo! The Genetic Opera Reviews

Page 1 of 3
John P. McCarthy
Boxoffice Magazine
November 7, 2008
Without question, Repo! The Genetic Opera will pop up on worst-movies-of-the-year lists.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/5
James Rocchi
Common Sense Media
November 7, 2008
Gory, goofy musical is bloody and bombastic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Edward Douglas
ComingSoon.net
November 7, 2008
Certainly in the future, depicted here so stylishly, Andrew Lloyd Webber is probably turning in his grave.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/10
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
November 7, 2008
You've never seen anything like Repo! The Genetic Opera. Not that you'd want to.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Anton Bitel
Little White Lies
March 6, 2009
Falling somewhere between Rocky Horror, Moulin Rouge! and Eyes Without A Face (with songs!), Repo! The Genetic Opera is the filmic equivalent of what architects call a 'folly'.
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
November 10, 2008
I hated this movie.
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
November 10, 2008
I don't know if words can describe just how awful and disgusting and insulting this movie was to watch.
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness
November 5, 2008
Rips off heavy metal and horror aesthetics to absolutely dismal effect.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Sean Gandert
Paste Magazine
November 7, 2008
for all its mish-mash of genres and ideas, it's mostly just a confusing musical.
Full Review | Original Score: 46/100
Simon Abrams
New York Press
November 5, 2008
While it may be unfair to compare Repo! to Whedon's Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog, a vastly superior three-webisode-long comic- book musical, it's necessary.
Mark R. Leeper
rec.arts.movies.reviews
April 13, 2009
This is a Grand Guignol science fiction rock opera. The plot is minimal and for a rock opera, there is too little real melody.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
November 7, 2008
The smudgy pall cast over everything by director Darren Lynn Bousman might work for a five-minute music video, but it quickly becomes as tiresome as the general air of bombastitude.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Geoff Berkshire
Metromix.com
November 6, 2008
Deserves points for showing some guts in a year of bland musicals ... It's just too bad the music's so one-note.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
November 6, 2008
Repo! might have been an SNL or MADtv skit, but as a movie, it should be repossessed by its financiers.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Rob Humanick
Projection Booth
January 20, 2009
If you're looking for insight into the death and resurrection of Christ, look no further: I can think of no better means by which to experience the cumulative effect of three days in hell in under 100 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Top Critic
J. Hoberman
Village Voice
November 5, 2008
So embarrassing that, for the first time, I wanted to avert my eyes from the screen, although that might have also been because Repo! appears to have been shot with a cell phone.
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
November 6, 2008
Talented actors are involved, and I will spare them by not citing their names.
| Original Score: .5/4
Top Critic
Nathan Lee
New York Times
November 7, 2008
Darren Lynn Bousman, the director of several Saw sequels, has devised an excruciating new torture with Repo! The Genetic Opera.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
James O'Ehley
Sci-Fi Movie Page
June 2, 2010
Andrew Lloyd Webber meets SAW!
November 7, 2008
A movie in search of a cult. Good luck.
Top Critic
John Anderson
Variety
July 24, 2008
So over-the-top it's purple.
Page 1 of 3