Restrepo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Restrepo Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
August 4, 2010
If that intimate access had been married to a stronger narrative structure, Restrepo might have been a great film instead of just a collection of striking moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
August 23, 2010
At this point in all our Middle Eastern conflicts, we need more from a documentary than just a grunts-eye-view of the frustrating nature of the war.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Michael Smith
Tulsa World
August 13, 2010
The film's depiction is honest, but showcasing anything more engaging or important proves elusive.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5
Top Critic
John Anderson
Variety
June 21, 2010
Despite its remarkably intimate footage of war and loss, Sebastian Junger and Tim Hetherington's documentary suffers from the same problem as the ongoing U.S. drama in Afghanistan: a lack of narrative coherence.
Mike Edwards
What Culture
February 1, 2011
Everything about the way this film is shot, edited and packaged scream of a desire to show the war exactly as it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
July 19, 2010
The directors push no agendas, but they also pull no punches. They show the soldiers in their bravest moments, most vulnerable and frightened moments, and even their most frighteningly bloodthirsty moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.8/10
Chris Buckle
The Skinny
October 6, 2010
Restrepo gazes unflinchingly on those at the heart of a contentious conflict and renders their experience viscerally and -- most importantly -- humanely.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Annlee Ellingson
Moving Pictures Magazine
June 25, 2010
Restrepo is relevant now more than ever.
Thomas Caldwell
Cinema Autopsy
February 20, 2011
Restrepo succeeds as both a remarkable piece of cinéma vérité documentary filmmaking and a tribute to the soldiers who are put through hell.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Margot Harrison
Seven Days
September 15, 2010
It's hard to watch the film without feeling a deep empathy for these guys, partly because they relate to the camera like it's a comrade, not an intruder.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Jeff Meyers
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
August 12, 2010
Riveting, harrowing doc shows the war we ignore
Full Review | Original Score: A
Tom Seymour
Little White Lies
October 7, 2010
Film doesn't get more relevant.
| Original Score: 5/5
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
August 13, 2010
...in some ways the most harrowing film I've ever seen
Full Review | Original Score: 89/100
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
July 1, 2010
This is hard, hard duty. A 15-month tour. Our admiration for these men grows. Their jobs seem beyond conceiving. I cannot imagine a civilian thinking he could perform them.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
August 6, 2010
In hewing closely to the rhythms of war, Junger and Hetherington forgo different considerations about war.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
Village Voice
June 22, 2010
The warrior drama unfolds organically, without artificial suspense.
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
At the Movies
June 28, 2010
It's the best thing I've seen in a long time.
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
June 24, 2010
This movie will stir your heart and open your mind. It's a group portrait of practicing patriots.
Simon Foster
sbs.com.au
February 7, 2011
Restrepo captures the physical trauma and psychological torment that forms the essence of the 'War is Hell' mantra, regardless of which flag you fight under.
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
July 15, 2010
Restrepo deserves some highlighting as one of the very few films from our current "war years" that resonates after the lights go up.
Top Critic
Ann Hornaday
Washington Post
September 24, 2011
Page 1 of 6