Rewind This! Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
December 17, 2013
A hilarious and utterly excellent look back at a time where movie collecting was more of a sport and treasure hunt than a matter of simple point and click.
Brian Orndorf
Blu-ray.com
September 9, 2013
It's affectionate and educational, with enough visual evidence to act as a time machine, bringing viewers back to an era of movie-watching exploration and physical media worship.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Jennie Kermode
Eye for Film
September 9, 2013
The film is elevated above the average 'these are a few of my favourite things' documentary by its willingness to take on larger narratives around the social, economic and literary significance of the genre, all in a fully accessible way.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Anton Bitel
Grolsch Film Works
September 6, 2013
a fascinating, funny and focused journey through our recent - and rapidly changing - cultural memory, lest we forget.
Nathan Rabin
The Dissolve
September 4, 2013
The film is ultimately less interested in giving an objective overview of VHS' history than in paying loving, irreverent tribute to some of the strange subcultures that sprung up in the home-video world.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Jeff Shannon
Seattle Times
August 29, 2013
Johnson's savvy authority ensures that "Rewind This!" will leave many film-and-video lovers begging for more.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Shaun Munro
What Culture
August 28, 2013
This unabashedly nostalgic doc serves as a potent reminder of VHS' pivotal role in the history of entertainment, even if we've all moved on now. Well, most of us.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
August 27, 2013
Perhaps the best compliment I can pay the film is to say that it made me want to go down in my basement and dig through all those old VHS tapes that I have boxed up.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Michael Nordine
L.A. Weekly
August 14, 2013
There's nary a trace of ironic detachment or condescension here, which is exceedingly rare for any depiction of geek culture.
Fred Topel
CraveOnline
July 29, 2013
Rewind This! didn't delve into every corner of VHS I might have wished, but it introduced plenty I'd never thought of.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Mark Adams
Screen International
July 29, 2013
Rewind This! is a charmer of a documentary that will strike a chord with audiences who have grown up with the format.
Top Critic
John DeFore
Hollywood Reporter
July 29, 2013
Lively history makes some good observations about video and the culture it enabled.
Cory Everett
The Playlist
July 10, 2013
Rewind This! is both a history lesson and love letter to a format which should prove to be a must-see for all cinephiles that came of age during the VHS era.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Cameron Williams
The Popcorn Junkie
July 10, 2013
Incredibly fun doco that delivers the perfect hit of nostalgia for generation-VHS while educating the uninitiated on an important part of pop culture history
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Matthew Sorrento
Film International
June 16, 2013
Like any pop cultural tradition, the videotape has its diehards, who are the diverting guests in Josh Johnson's new documentary.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Page 1 of 1