Rio Reviews

Page 2 of 300
Super Reviewer
April 14, 2011
A cute, entertaining yet forgettable animation with too many clichés and whose charm lies on its exuberant visuals and an exotic (but clichéd) composition of a Rio de Janeiro full of samba and colors. It is only sad though that the story is so conventional and never goes beyond ordinary.
½ August 19, 2015
I like the sizzle, but there really wasn't much steak.
½ August 11, 2015
Rating: 69%
With bright animation, colorful yet silly characters, and a so-so plot, Rio should entertain the kiddies while giving the adults a fair share.
February 21, 2012
Annoying and colorless, Rio is simply a horrible example of a fun filled family adventure
½ June 29, 2015
Lightweight and funny, Rio succeeds at family entertainment with great visual animation and hilarious voice acting.
June 24, 2015
Somewhat humorous and enjoyable, but the musical numbers were less than spectacular.
February 21, 2015
I really like this movie series. The colours are wonderful.
March 28, 2014
Dreamworks relives once again producing another great family adventure. (B-)
½ May 16, 2015
A good movie, with the feel and energy of Brasil. The music is the high point.
½ April 13, 2015
'Rio' falls in comparisons as its premise is not exactly new or innovative and it's even somewhat weak compared to other animated films of the same year. But the voice acting is energetic and outstanding (with Anne Hathaway standing out), the animation is colourful and excellent, and the story is joyful and funny enough for kids to enjoy more than just once. Its music should also provide another good reason to recommend.
½ May 7, 2011
Has delightful Brazilian colors, punchy original songs, and a nice amount of laughs; but there's barely a moral that can be identified, other than don't poach.
½ March 30, 2014
Mildly entertaining, but nothing you'll want to see twice.
½ April 21, 2014
Grade:High 7/10

Rio is a fun, bright and colourful film about a whole host of animals
living in the inner city Rio de Janeiro and the rainforest just on the
outskirts of the city. It although a kids film can be enjoyed by all,
not the funniest film ever but still manages a sweet story with some
great visuals even for an animation film. I felt the film was firmly a
Good movie and would tell you to show your kids this film on a Sunday
afternoon, but here is why I think even middle aged adults can enjoy
this film.

The story is straightforward and although it is like that it manages to
bring smiles to your face and put me in a food mood for the rest of the
film. The plot is fast paced with big falls and typical traits you see
in Kids movies but I did feel most of all that it wasn't too cheesy
like you see in many kids films and churned out a fun story. The
villains are fun and the heroes have fun with them too to make a story
that is fun for the whole family as well, and with a sequel it has to
be said it is good.

The voice cast are good Jesse Eisenberg as the main bird is a scared
character who comes out of his shell to be a slight hero as the movie
progresses onwards. Anne Hathaway's bird if courageous and hates to be
kept in captivity, in comparison to Eisenberg who wants to stay put and
has been pampered in America all his life. I liked all the voices even
though they were all nearly American even though they are from Brazil
but I shall let that pass in sake of the plot.

I love the animation style which is far from superior style motion but
serves some great colours up and the vibrancy of Rio is brought to life
in this animated film, especially the carnival(what film set here
doesn't have the carnival). The movement is also good with fast flowing
motion that serves the faster parts of the story well as you feel the
film will end soon but not in a hurry and a good pace. I enjoyed the
script and it serves to let the Birds and humans have an equal say on
the matters all the way through.

The film I believe was meant to be a comedy and now for kids it may
amuse them but for more mature people the comedy is poor and near none
existent, I enjoyed the films plot and style but the comedy seemed
underused and when it came up it just served to annoy rather than make
you laugh. Eisenberg seems to rarely get into the role well but it
doesn't hinder the movie, the plot as I said is predictable but the
movie does turn up some good moments and nice effects and sequences.

I could easily say this is made for 3 year olds but I think lots will
enjoy this if they watch it with the intention of not laughing but
enjoying a sweet movie and some nice characters too. Those who like
animation films generally will like it as it flows nice and I said
about the motion being fast, along with the film being not too long
either. Finally I must say don't watch this film in a bad mood because
I can imagine people would absolutely hate this when they are angry or
sad.

Overall I give it a high 7/10 meaning firmly good, the film serves as fun
entertainment for a family but not maybe everyone's cup of tea in
truth, give it a miss if you want funny animation. I felt FOX did well
to make it and put it out but failed to see if it was really funny, but
hey watch it and a give it a try, you may just thoroughly enjoy
yourself, but on the same hand you may find it cringe and boring, your
call.
April 12, 2011
Los estudios Blue Sky de Fox, son el tercer mejor estudio de animación hoy. (El segundo es DreamWorks y el primero, indiscutiblemente, es Pixar). Deestudio de animación que nos trajo la trilogía de "Ice Age", llega este relato ambientado en Brasil, acerca de un pájaro llamado Blue que debe unirse con una hembra, ya que es el ultimo macho de su especie. "Rio" trata de funcionar como una denuncia al tráfico de aves exóticas, pero funciona más como simple diversión. Los personajes están bien construidos y algunas escenas son de una indiscutible belleza y efectividad (los saludos, el romance en el camión, el carnaval, la lucha de los monos contra las aves). Sin embargo, "Rio", con sus clichés y fórmulas, está a la sombra de cualquier película de Pixar. No hay nada que hacer.
½ December 7, 2014
Light, straight forward and thoroughly entertaining. With a cracking cast and beautiful animation this a film strewn with gags and you'll enjoy every minute it is on.
Super Reviewer
December 7, 2014
My 9yo and I both liked this. "Mum, they're not singing in English." "That's because in Brazil people speak Portuguese." "Mum, this movie is not very realistic." "Most movies aren't realistic." "Mum, this movie is really kind of weird." "Is it better than Horton Hears a Who?" "YES!"
November 16, 2014
That movie is enjoyable, it's have a nice animation and some of the character are realy interesting, but the main plot isn't.Sure it's got some funny jokes and it's preety good family show but i wouldn't call it BlueSky best.I think that give it 3/5 is fair.
Page 2 of 300