Rock of Ages Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
May 3, 2015
I know that in the history of cinema there have probably been worse movies. I'm just having a hard time thinking of one right now.
Glenn Dunks
Trespass
September 8, 2013
Oscar-worthy costume design by Rita Ryack ... enliven the proceedings that are constantly mired by Tom Cruise's unattractive vanity mugging, off-putting gay jokes and questionable taste in choreography.
Kimber Myers
The Playlist
August 15, 2013
Rock of Ages will make you want to raise your arms...and then immediately plunge your fingers into your eyeballs for salvation (you can go back for seconds to rescue your ears).
Full Review | Original Score: D-
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
June 2, 2013
Feelin' the noise ain't the same as feeling something for the characters, most of whom fail to amp it up in the soul department.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Tom Glasson
Concrete Playground
March 4, 2013
Neither Tom Cruise nor a solid 80s playlist can keep the Rock alive.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Andy Lea
Daily Star
November 15, 2012
Tom, we're really not worthy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
October 2, 2012
If you grew up with the music of the 1980's and want to relive it, you may enjoy the film. For me, I could easily have skipped both the music and the movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Ben Kendrick
ScreenRant
September 27, 2012
Rock of Ages panders to its base without putting in the extra effort to standout as not just a competent musical but a must-see film experience for all audiences.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Adam Ross
The Aristocrat
September 27, 2012
Tom Cruise is monumentally good in this film. If this film was called Stacee Jaxx it might have been my film of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Kristal Cooper
We Got This Covered
September 15, 2012
Far from being a true "Juke Box Hero," Rock of ages still manages to delight with its own giddy brand of utter stupidity.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com
September 14, 2012
"Rock of Ages" just never comes together, resulting in a mishmash of mostly-bland music and undeveloped stories.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Matt Looker
TheShiznit.co.uk
September 13, 2012
Rock Of Ages is a stone-cold medley of cheese and cliché. It riffs on dated guitar bands and power-anthems and it builds its city on dry ice and key changes. And yet... it still kinda rocks.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Justin Craig
FoxNews.com
September 10, 2012
There are two reasons to see "Rock of Ages." One: If you live and breathe for 80s rock music. Two: A drugged up Tom Cruise belting out Bon Jovi. Unfortunately, that's about it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
William Bibbiani
CraveOnline
August 22, 2012
If this isn't one of the worst movies of the year, we're all in a whole lot of trouble.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/10
Martin Roberts
Fan The Fire
August 12, 2012
It's overlong, overblown and couldn't establish a convincing plot if its life depended on it, but it sings at the top of its lungs, and if you haven't gone deaf by the mid-point, you might just find yourself humming along.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Richard Knight
Knight at the Movies
July 15, 2012
Would have been more honestly titled Rock for Ages -- because that's how long this headbangers ball seems to go on.
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
July 12, 2012
The worst of Michael Schultz's Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band and Menahem Golan's The Apple with the kind of music that caused me to stop listening to radio altogether.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
July 5, 2012
... the driving beat keeps toes tapping.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
July 4, 2012
An illustrative dividing line: REO Speedwagon is probably thrilled to death to be on this soundtrack - meanwhile Joan Jett is likely embarrassed that she is too.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Dan Lybarger
eFilmCritic.com
July 1, 2012
Shankman makes a lively, consistently entertaining film that blends two seemingly incompatible art forms: a Broadway musical and '80s rock 'n' roll.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 11