Rosalie - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rosalie Reviews

Page 1 of 1
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
April 14, 2014
Some nice songs and lavish production numbers with Eleanor dancing like a dervish. Both Frank Morgan and Edna May Oliver are very amusing but that block of wood Nelson Eddy in the lead brings the whole thing to a grinding halt whenever he's on screen. Truly the man is so stiff you would think his head would break off if he turns it too fast!
Super Reviewer
September 5, 2010
It's predictable and there are some annoying songs, but it has some charm, and the actors are okay. Overall an alright movie.
January 31, 2015
Gargantuan MGM musical wears out its welcome quickly, but still managed to make money based on Eddy & Powell, who were at the height of their popularity. Cole Porter's score includes the title tune and "In the Still of the Night."
January 31, 2015
Gargantuan MGM musical wears out its welcome quickly, but still managed to make money based on Eddy & Powell, who were at the height of their popularity. Cole Porter's score includes the title tune and "In the Still of the Night."
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
April 14, 2014
Some nice songs and lavish production numbers with Eleanor dancing like a dervish. Both Frank Morgan and Edna May Oliver are very amusing but that block of wood Nelson Eddy in the lead brings the whole thing to a grinding halt whenever he's on screen. Truly the man is so stiff you would think his head would break off if he turns it too fast!
December 7, 2012
Rosalie is a decent film. It is about a West Point cadet Dick Thorpe who falls in love with a girl, who turns out to be a princess from an European kingdom. Nelson Eddy and Eleanor Parker give good performances. The screenplay is good but a little sappy. W.S. Van Dyke did an alright job directing this movie. I like this motion picture but not one of my favorites.
½ November 18, 2012
predictable so so songs
Super Reviewer
September 5, 2010
It's predictable and there are some annoying songs, but it has some charm, and the actors are okay. Overall an alright movie.
March 1, 2008
it's not nice to put powell in a film with nelson eddy! there's no chemistry between them. i wish that allan jones could have done this film as well as 'the firefly'. he had the knavish energy to bounce off mcdonald and he would have been a huge asset to this film as well.

but what mgm got wrong with casting, they let powell do her thing with three of the hottest, brilliantly dance solos of her career! and there's extra pop from albertina rasch's 'pierrette dance' to tchaikovsky. throw in ilona massey's crazy aria and you have one true curio!
June 29, 2007
Very obviously a product of its time. I loved the character of the king, and the random massive choreography. Oh, and the very obvious lipstick and eyeshadow on the male lead. Sexy!
June 8, 2007
I just Love Ellie... what can I say? :-D
Page 1 of 1