Run! Bitch Run! Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Super Reviewer
May 7, 2011
Exploitation to the utter extreme. I like my rape revenge flicks to be serious. That may just be me. Exploitation is fine, but this film lacks any form of enjoyability. All it contains is a series of rapes and then murders. It's so poorly shot, that it's obvious all the thought went into assaulting the audience. The film didn't so much offend me, which would have been a good thing, so much as it just made me feel dirty. Not because of all the raping and killing, but because I just knew this film had nothing to say. On the plus side, it did have some fantastically bad one liners which made me laugh. These hinted towards a movie that could have been a dark comedy.
thefog1331
Super Reviewer
½ December 7, 2009
After watching the I Spit On Your Grave remake I've had a hankering for 'Women on the Warpath' movies. So since then I've watched Killer Nun (thumbs down) and Nude Nuns with Big Guns (thumbs UP) and now this one and wow what a letdown. The dialogue and acting are just laughable (the lead bad guy sounds like Corey Feldman in The Lost Boys sequels) and the violence is too sparse and dull minus the final confrontation which is the highlight of the whole thing. While NNWBG feels like a well done simulation of a Robert Rodriguez movie this feels like a bad knock off of Quentin Tarantino. If you watch it as a black comedy you may find some value but for those looking for an entertaining exploitation movie you should probably look elsewhere.
cancercapricorn2002
Super Reviewer
June 9, 2010
In the genre of grindhouse cinema you have the rape/revenge films. Director Joseph Guzman has made his addition to this controversial little corner of cinema and with a title like Run! Bitch Run! it will have already grabbed your attention, the title coming from one of the less pleasant scenes in the movie. Thats actually saying something because there aren't too many scenes that you could tag the word pleasant onto, being as though this another nasty little movie brought to us by Vicious Circle Films. The same company that also gave us the charming Hanger.

Run! Bitch Run! doesn't mess about either. Right off the bat they screen is awash with drugs, nudity, blood, nuns, more nudity and violence, as we are welcomed to the seedy whorehouse/drug den of the rather despicable Lobo. He's a rather unsavory character who comes into play far more a little later on when Catherine (Cheryl Lyone) and Rebecca (Christina DeRosa), our main characters, happen across this pit of depravity.

Catherine and Rebecca are Catholic School girls who are traveling about trying to sell Bibles door to door. Catherine takes this all very seriously, whereas Rebecca is a more happy-go-lucky kind of character. After being directed towards the town of Moseley, by a charming local with a wicked turn of phrase, they find no joy in their attempts to make any sales. They even fall foul of a local boy (Daeg Faerch in a small cameo), who makes off with what little money they do have. However, things don?t really take a turn for the horrific until they visit Lobo's residence. Before they even try to make a sale they witness a murder, and then things go downhill from there. The first sentence of this review tells you all you need to know on where this movie is going, and from here on in it isn't easy viewing.

Run! Bitch Run! is for the most part a very good movie, it's well made and well acted. The scenes that are supposed to shock you will no doubt do that, and when it comes to the revenge part I can see it being cheered on. On occasion I found the seemingly constant fading in and out of scenes a little distracting, and the middle section seemed a little drawn out for my liking. On top of this I found that a couple of the characters that pop up appeared to be there just to get killed. Of course,that's nothing we haven't seen before in a horror/exploitation movie.

The movie starts of in a very Tarantino-esque style, with the music being very reminiscent of some of his movies, in particular Planet Terror. The dialogue is crisp, and at times quite amusing. Then it changes into a sort of bastard hybrid of I Spit on Your Grave and Thriller: They Call Her One Eye, with the whole tone of the picture changing as you can well imagine. It's a downbeat flick and rightly so. I would have like to have known how certain characters became so proficient with firearms, but then I can't have everything can I?

Overall Run! Bitch Run! is a very decent modern day entry into this seedy little sub-genre. It isn't something that hasn't been done before, like in some of the movies I have previously mentioned, but it does appear to be made with a good deal of passion from those involved and it does show on the screen. Run! Bitch Run! is violent, nasty and will leave a bad taste in your mouth, and that is exactly what it is supposed to do. I enjoyed the movie, but I do appreciate that it won't be too everybody's taste.
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
July 13, 2013
Attempting to copy the grittiness of scuzzy '70s exploitations Last House on the Left and I Spit On Your Grave, this is just plain nasty. The kind of movie that makes me feel sorry for some of the actresses involved and wanting to start a collection so they can hire better agents.
Super Reviewer
½ July 29, 2012
An homage of the 70s exploitation films, pretty much just the same formula for revenge films with better quality of equipment. If you wanna make a homage, be sure to actually improve the acting, dialogue and storyline. The actresses are clearly over aged to play school girls, everyone was reading lines, make up was non-existent. Good intention, ended up as porn.
John2223
Super Reviewer
January 3, 2010
"Run! Bitch Run!" is a very decent modern day entry into this seedy little sub-genre and has a very catchy title. The movie starts of in a very Tarantino style, with the music being very reminiscent of some of his movies like "Grindhouse" then it changes into mixture between "Last House on the Left", "I Spit on Your Grave" and "Thriller: They Call Her One Eye" with alike production values and of course violence, drugs, nudity, blood and nasty scenes.
Though the trailer is a lot better and has more bitches than the movie I was please with what I saw. If you enjoy exploitation cinema then this is a MUST SEE for you.
February 4, 2012
It's about time a film captures the true charitable spirit of Catholic youth and their willingness to help others without prejudice. This movie begins with two Catholic school students spreading The Word by delivering bibles door to door in an impoverished neighborhood. At first, all they meet are closed-minded heathens, but they eventually come across a dysfunctional family in need of saving.
Unfortunately, one of the students realizes that she is not up to the task of sacrificing her time for the needy family (it turns out the poor girl has a gambling problem and abandons her school friend in favor of playing roulette). But her more spiritual friend, who is played marvelously by Cheryl Lyone, sticks with the struggling family, even to the point of moving in with them.
A pivotal point in the film comes when Lyone's character accompanies the family on a camping trip. While enjoying the outdoors, Lyone learns that all of her new friends have physical challenges and she becomes concerned about their health. For instance, the younger brother has a speech impediment, the sister has a drug problem and the older brother suffers from hemorrhoids (which are so severe that he often howls in pain). Realizing that poor families, such as her new friends, cannot afford health insurance and the promise of Obamacare is still woefully unfulfilled, Lyone decides to commit herself to becoming a nurse!
We are then treated to many uplifting scenes as Lyone practices her new profession both in hospital settings and on the street. In one touching scene, she comes to the rescue of a homeless man in an alley who has got something stuck in his eye. Lyone doesn't hesitate to help remove the obstruction.
Without giving too much away, Lyone never forgets about her adopted family and eventually helps them too. By the end of the film, the younger brother no longer stutters, the sister gives up drugs forever and the older brother even finds a cure for hemorrhoids.
This is a very uplifting film and I highly recommend it to anyone who cherishes and believes in the power of the human spirit. Be forewarned, however, that there is some nudity, but such brief glimpses of the human anatomy should be expected in a medically-theme movie such as this.
Rich Bottles Jr., author of "Lumberjacked" and "Hellhole West Virginia".
June 25, 2010
The film had a caption saying "Quintin Tarintino would be proud". The movie tested my patience many times. The film makers went out of the way to push buttons... drug use, rape, nudity, violence you name it. The budget is also low and the acting is bad. It is by no means a good movie but for an under ground movie it might appeal to some people. There were a few things that kept me watching. The movie has a relly good Tarantino sounding soundtrack and a 70's explotation movie vibe. I haven't seen "the last house on the left", but it probally is similar.
½ July 14, 2010
This was fairly watchable, though never gets as sleazy as one might expect during an actual rape, the more creepy or explicit material happens during other scenes in the film, which I found odd. A fairly by the numbers throwback to the exploitation rape-revenge films, this even looks as if it was shot 30+ years ago and sports some inspired shots here and there.

The subject matter will turnoff the casual viewer, but fans of the more extreme horror fare may find something worth watching.

Tentative rental.
June 10, 2010
A B movie in the true sense. It reminds you of "last house on the left", but it most certainly isn't that.
½ January 19, 2010
Horrible dialogue and scenes but true to the classic B movies. Lots of boobs. A long extended unnecessary scene near the ending.
½ January 16, 2014
If there is a movie with the title "Run! Bitch! Run!" I kinda expected a hilarious grindhouse flick but i got an uninspired, unoriginal and lazy movie that's been done to death a million times but better.
April 16, 2013
Should have been offensive and hard to watch.. somehow it manages to be entertaining. What this actually says about the movie, I don't know, but if you're a Tarantino fan, you're likely to enjoy the style of this movie.
March 26, 2013
WTF IS THIS? It's basically a REALLY REALLY bad Grind house version of "I Spit On Your Grave" and "Nuns with Big Guns" I don't know...WHY I watched this but...I did anyway. This is really one of the worst films I've ever seen. Like I haven't really walked out of films much(really only about three films so far This,I Spit n Your Grave and Texas Chainsaw Massacre The New Beginning) But this film made me just leave after about ten mins into the film past the opening credits. The story is just retarded,I don't even really remember it that much I just remember how ubsord it was, And the whole film is this disgusting vial film of rape and sex. Like I like sex as much as the next guy but this was just.....GOD....I can't even recommend this film to ANYONE. the only small saving grace this film has is the grind house style of shooting which is kind of interesting but it doesn't save the film and the trailer has this hilarious hill billy type guy doing it which is comical. Other then that this film is A DISGUSTING, VIAL,HORRENDOUSLY LARGE PILE OF SHIT Avoid it like an STD infested Woman at the bar.
February 25, 2013
Do I really even have to explain?
December 9, 2012
Even for the genre's standards, this is awful. It's not the misogyny or anything that come with this sort of films, it's just that the whole thing is pretty bad. There's not one memorable scene and all characters are instantly forgettable. Worse, it's boring.
Super Reviewer
½ July 29, 2012
An homage of the 70s exploitation films, pretty much just the same formula for revenge films with better quality of equipment. If you wanna make a homage, be sure to actually improve the acting, dialogue and storyline. The actresses are clearly over aged to play school girls, everyone was reading lines, make up was non-existent. Good intention, ended up as porn.
½ May 29, 2012
If you enjoy 1970s grime and grindhouse movies then you should definitely stick to the originals. Sure, some of the recent revivals have been decent to very good but this one is insufferably boring and far too derivative to be worth any kind of watch. If you can make it past the 20 minute mark without passing out from boredom or ripping your hair out due to how badly played this is, don't say I didn't warn you. I enjoy bad movies (ones that aren't even in the canon of "so-bad-it's-good" category) but this is just worthless.
½ May 29, 2012
There's a certain way you have to go about your rape/revenge films. This is not it.
Page 1 of 5