Runaway Bride - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Runaway Bride Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
March 25, 2016
The pic is sweet, well-played and a bore.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Betty Jo Tucker
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
February 17, 2013
The predictability of this romantic comedy co-starring Julia Roberts and Richard Gere in no way detracts from its humorous charm.
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 28, 2010
Cute romantic comedy OK for most older kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
July 30, 2004
Runs a half-hour too long, and it drags through its multiple endings. Runaway Bride has plenty of delights, just a few too many.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat
Spirituality and Practice
March 3, 2002
A satisfying romantic comedy that reveals that we can't open our hearts to love until we stop cheating on our true selves.
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
April 7, 2001
Remember the romantic sparks between Julia Roberts and Richard Gere in Pretty Woman? In Runaway Bride it's more like a damp fizzle.
| Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Rod Dreher
New York Post
January 1, 2000
A runaway bore!
| Original Score: 2/4
Wesley Morris
San Francisco Examiner
January 1, 2000
Misses more frequently than it hits and couldn't care less.
Harvey S. Karten
Compuserve
January 1, 2000
While the hackneyed dialogue that swims throughout the entire film is flaw enough, the feel-good ending drowns the show thoroughly.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
January 1, 2000
This sappy romantic comedy is a weak stab at capturing lightning in a bottle again!
Alex Sandell
Juicy Cerebellum
January 1, 2000
It isn't that Runaway Bride is a horrible movie, it's that I've already seen a slightly different version of it done dozens of times before.
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
That charming thing only works if the story is good.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
January 1, 2000
We can no longer buy Roberts in her tearful romantic - melancholy mode.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Ernest Hardy
Film.com
January 1, 2000
Runaway Bride is an atrocious bit of by-the-numbers screen filler.
Top Critic
Robert Horton
Film.com
January 1, 2000
Safe and sane and bland.
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Film.com
January 1, 2000
It looks as if Julia and the horse were trying to get the hell away from the camera, and into a better movie.
January 1, 2000
Julia Roberts es la única razón por la que vale la pena verla
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Mac Verstandig
Moviereviews.org
January 1, 2000
Simply isn't as good as its antecedent.
David N. Butterworth
rec.arts.movies.reviews
January 1, 2000
Better than "The Princess Diaries." And if that's not damning with faint praise then I don't know what is.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Dustin Putman
TheFilmFile.com
January 1, 2000
Stuck on auto-pilot, and therefore, comes off as a tiresome excursion into terrain that has been covered too many times to count.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 6