Sarah Silverman: Jesus Is Magic - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sarah Silverman: Jesus Is Magic Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
August 1, 2008
Silverman's full-on approach works because she unflinchingly examines these themes with a disarming sweetness.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Tim Robey
Daily Telegraph
August 1, 2008
Her high-wire stage performance is unmissable all the same, particularly when she's taking aim at such untouchable sacred cows as Martin Luther King. "They only mention the good stuff! He was a litterbug."
Peter Bradshaw
August 1, 2008
Bad-taste material, delivered with an insouciance that looks easy until you see lesser comics trying it, is what she does best: killer gags about seven-year-old lesbians and Jews killing Jesus.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Kevin Maher
Times [UK]
August 1, 2008
Hit'n'miss gags that target 9/11, rape, the Holocaust and Aids ("If God gives you Aids, I say, 'Make Lemon-Aids'!") prove that Silverman is a gifted performer but that sometimes busting taboos isn't enough in itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Richard Luck
August 1, 2008
It's uneven and the relationship between your sense of taste and your sense of humour will determine whether you enjoy it, but at its best, Jesus Is Magic doesn't look out of place alongside the best stand-up concert movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Tim Arthur
Time Out
August 1, 2008
Not to everyone's taste but her legions of internet fans won't be disappointed. Anyone who can come up with a line like 'I don't care if you think I'm a racist, I just want you to think I'm thin,' is okay in our books.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/6
Matthew Turner
July 31, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jason Gorber
Film Scouts
June 21, 2007
The wit, the smile, the rape and holocaust jokes, they all tie together in a lovely, compelling little package called Sarah.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
David Noh
Film Journal International
March 1, 2007
There is a healthy release to be had in this address of our shared, so-often-facile Hallmark-card reverence. Humor can be the best weapon after all.
July 1, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
June 13, 2006
Silverman's raunchy pretend comedy act can't sustain its energy and humor.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Bob Grimm
Sacramento News & Review
May 12, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
April 26, 2006
A montagem é caótica e as seqüências extra-palco são, em sua maioria, fraquíssimas. Ainda assim, a forma aparentemente inocente com que Silverman interpreta seu texto politicamente incorreto compensam estas falhas.
| Original Score: 3/5
Brian Gibson
Vue Weekly (Edmonton, Canada)
April 6, 2006
Here, in her own vehicle, Silverman veers from the faux-naive mockery of minorities into an oncoming collision with white liberal guilt and condescension . . . stand-up [that] makes you sit and think.
James Sanford
Kalamazoo Gazette
February 23, 2006
Whether you think it's awesome or awful, there's no denying that 'Jesus is Magic' is sheer Silverman, a portrait of the artist as a young maniac.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 7, 2006
Silverman is clearly in the line of such fearless comedy forebears as Lenny Bruce and Richard Pryor. As she says at the end of this mostly hilarious movie, 'I don't care if you think I'm racist. I just want you to think I'm thin.'
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
January 13, 2006
... her jokes ... are often obliteratingly funny in themselves, they are compounded and deepened by the disconnect between the blackness of their substance and the pretty mouth that utters them
Full Review | Original Score: B
David N. Butterworth
January 1, 2006
If "'Jesus is Magic" then God is, without a doubt, a Woman: Sarah Silverman.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Duane Dudek
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
December 17, 2005
Sarah Silverman is the third rail of American comedy.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Bill Muller
Arizona Republic
December 15, 2005
I wouldn't take my mother, but this stand-up movie is pretty funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5

Baltimore Sun
December 17, 2005

Boston Phoenix
December 6, 2005
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
December 6, 2005
Top Critic

AV Club
December 6, 2005
Page 1 of 6