Searching for Debra Winger Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Super Reviewer
½ October 15, 2009
No real structrual form which weakens this doc but what several of the actresses have to say is interesting. Not great but a good try.
Super Reviewer
June 8, 2009
I really loved this documentary. Rosanna asks her peers if it is possible to balance work and a personal life and why aren't there better roles for women 30+.
She interviews a great group of actresses including; Salma Hayek, Vanessa Redgrave, Meg Ryan, Jane Fonda, her sister Patricia Arquette and many more.
Their responses were very intelligent and interesting. Part of the reason I rate this documentary so highly is because you could take almost anything that is said and apply it to any North American woman.
Rosanna Arquette is very natural when she turns the camera on herself. She doesn't oversell herself, so you don't get the sense this project is a product of self-aggrandization, which is very important. It isn't even an attempt to stroke the egos of her fellow actresses (though it is obvious she admires them.)
There are some really honest moments, which I didn't expect.
Super Reviewer
½ October 25, 2008
A pretty cool documentary about women in Hollywood.
½ August 2, 2007
Rossana does a fabulous job in this doc. So interesting to hear all these actresses talk about the business. If you like doc's you'll enjoy this.
January 17, 2007
i think this is a good movie 2 do andits good 2 see them real. but y arent there more movies w/ women this old why do the womena lways have tob e beautiful but nothe man?
½ September 16, 2009
A good documentary by Rosanne Arquette about the challenges Hollywood actresses face in balancing career with family, and the apparent lack of quality leading female parts to women "of a certain age" in Hollywood. Could easily be expanded to women in the work force well beyond Hollywood.

It's a very good sign for a documentary when you think of ways in which the film could be made even better, rather than tear down what was offered. The only comment I could make would have been to provide input from the established corporate side of Hollywood to counterpoint the argument voiced by the actresses. Perhaps Arquette tried to get a few Hollywood moguls to appear on-film, without luck.
June 7, 2009
This should be a classic on working women and mothers, and the effects of aging on a woman's professional life. The interviews are fascinating.
½ June 5, 2008
Listening to these women speak is like feasting on intelligence in your best friend's cozy dining room. I might just have some extra lines on my face from smiling so much.
March 12, 2004
i keep watching that same stupid teaser trailer for i heart huckabee's over and over. i know i know, very sad. i rented searching for debra winger, the saftey of objects, the missing, and nowhere in africa. so far ive watched searching for debra winger. i really liked it but it knida drug on at the end. i liked jane fonda and diane lane the best out of all the folks interviewed, i got tired of samantha mathis, i was like "uhh shut up!". overall, id give it a 8/10. i liked it pretty good. im about to watch nowhere in africa, i think im really going to like it. oh and i watched the trailer and the teaser for the villiage, and i have to admit, its looks but boring. i dont think it'll be getting any academy awards come next february. well im off to watch nowhere in africa.
Page 1 of 2