Sex and the City Reviews

Page 1 of 9
David Keyes
Cinemaphile.org
October 10, 2013

The ladies settle into the doldrums of marriage and their antics are reduced to a detached series of scenes that involve sulking, yearning or just plain indulging.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/4

Digital Spy
July 14, 2011

Ultimately, it's this streak of realism that prevents Sex And The City from becoming just another fluffy New York fairytale.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Pablo Villaca
Cinema em Cena
May 26, 2010

As amigas de Sex and the City estão entre as criaturas da ficção mais repulsivas que já conheci: fúteis, estúpidas, egoístas e entediantes. Além disso, isto não é um filme, é um catálogo.

| Original Score: 1/5
Dragan Antulov
Index.hr
July 15, 2009

Ono sto je u tridesetominutnoj epizodi moglo proći kao vrckavi drustveni komentar u dva i pol sata se pretvorilo u praznu ljusturu.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
Mark Bourne
Film.com
Top Critic
February 2, 2009

...'Yes,' she said. 'It's Star Trek for women.'...

Tony Macklin
Fayetteville Free Weekly
February 1, 2009

The movie Sex and the City is a heady female fantasy -- I think. I tried to snuggle up to Sex and the City, but the attempt to snuggle for two hours and 20 minutes is in itself a fantasy. Like many typical men, I'm afraid I fell asleep.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
October 3, 2008

The behemoth 145-minute running time for this lightweight romantic comedy is unforgivable, and that's only the first of this movie's problems.

Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
September 26, 2008

Reliving the fantasy lush life.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Heather Huntington
ReelzChannel.com
September 8, 2008

I went in rooting for SATC with everything I had, and it left me a bit disappointed.

Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
July 19, 2008

Wouldn't it be redundant to describe the self-indulgent big-screen adaptation as similarly vapid, pointless, and poorly acted as the popular HBO show upon which it is based?

Full Review | Original Score: D
Karina Montgomery
Cinerina
July 17, 2008

Cinerina invites her first guest reviewer, Melanie Treco. See full review for details.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Michael Drakulich
Star Newspapers (Chicago, IL)
July 7, 2008

What does that say when a self-admitted narcissist receives such a following? In playing the victim card so often, Sarah Jessica Parker's character is one of the most unlikable characters I've seen in a long time.

Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Sean Means
Salt Lake Tribune
June 27, 2008

Was this bonbon to the show's fans, four years after the "happily ever after" series finale, really necessary?

| Original Score: 2.5/4
Dustin Putman
DustinPutman.com
June 24, 2008

Plays like nothing more than a marathon viewing of an entire seventh season that should have never been made.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Kyle Smith
KyleSmithOnline.com
June 20, 2008

To its credit, though, the movie turns Carrie's value system, which equates "the two Ls--Labels and Love," to its advantage, and in the second half the movie achieves a nice balance between comedy and drama.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Frank Ochieng
Movie Eye
June 16, 2008

It's too bad that the false sense of high heel empowerment never registers as soundly as our resident money-styling maidens look to achieve in this beleaguered City.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Todd Gilchrist
IGN Movies
June 12, 2008

Sex and the City is not a painful experience for men (or even guys), just a predictable one...

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Beverly Berning
culturevulture.net
June 10, 2008

Somewhere along the line, the movie version of Sex and the City got too much Botox injected into the script, and all the life was ironed out of it.

Paul Byrnes
Sydney Morning Herald
June 8, 2008

It's nice to see these women again, because they are all rich and complex characters, but it's basically a sentimental exercise, designed for maximum cash flow before the idea is retired.

Beth Accomando
KPBS.org
June 8, 2008

I spent most of the film's 148 minutes just wanting to slap these women because I grew weary of their whining.

Page 1 of 9