Sex Is Comedy Reviews

Page 2 of 7
Super Reviewer
June 30, 2013
This was a pleasant surprise. I have found many of Mdme Breillat's films tough going and have often failed to understand her purpose. This, however, was a fascinating study of the process of making a film that kept me entranced. The acting was excellent and the story may be her most accessible. From what I've read, it is somewhat autobiographical. But, as a study in the process, it ought to be required viewing in a film studies curriculum.
June 5, 2013
Catherine Breillat seems to have a ton to say in certain films (like, "Fat Girl," which this one plays off of and "The Sleeping Beauty")... but then can't come up with much of anything in others (like "Bluebeard"). There are some good scenes, but this one doesn't work...
Super Reviewer
May 20, 2013
Fun character study of the perfectionist director.
hunterjt13
Super Reviewer
½ May 25, 2012
A director cajoles, threatens, berates, and befriends her actors in order to get them to perform the perfect sex scene.
The shooting of a sex scene has always been a curiosity for me. To put something so personal and private on screen in front of everyone from one's fellow actors to the Teamsters rep to the gum-chewing, fanny-pack-wearing, high school dropout key grip speaks to what levels of courage actors must have to do such a job. But this film doesn't focus on the actors' journeys but the director's various tactics to get them to do the scene. I can see how this concept might make a good film, but not with this director. Jeanne is a myopic, self-centered bitch, and her little manipulations are thoroughly uninteresting. What is more, I had trouble seeing the real conflict in the film. It's true that the Actor was resisting Jeanne's appeals, but I didn't see any real rebellion like the clear refusal of Sarah Jessica Parker's character in State and Main. The actors in Sex is Comedy seem willing and professional even though they are naturally uncomfortable.
Overall, despite its title, Sex is Comedy isn't funny or particularly insightful, and its focus is on the least interesting and least appealing character in the film.
November 5, 2011
probably overrating this. but anne parillaud is pretty attractive. along with roxane mesquida.
Super Reviewer
April 21, 2011
Not a comedy as such, but a interesting story and indeed study, of a writer/director, trying to get a scene she imagined right. the scene in question, a romantic scene between two people. but as we join the crew on this story all is not well, the director feels the two leads cast just dont have it, problems possibly personal, with male lead especially making some way into things. we watch as the set is left to stand around as filming stalls, and, retooling scene begins. its quite fasinating to watch at times, especially when nudity is brought into question, and actors doubts. the film deals well with behind the scenes going ons, its ups and downs. the leads all superb, bringing each their own. and film although stopping and starting due to the concept of a scene trying to get right, runs nicely. a interesting watch.
April 29, 2010
sex is serious bussiness ._.
March 31, 2009
Watch this in big screen.
Super Reviewer
January 7, 2009
A movie about making a movie. The director in the film tries everything from cajoling to befriending to get a sex scene correctly played in her film. The last scene of this movie is the filming of that sex scene in the movie. I gotta say, it looks like they got it done right.

But this movie seemed to take too long. I'm sure they could have achieved the same reaction from her audience in a movie half as long as it was.
½ December 28, 2007
of course its comedy
shesdownbytheriver
Super Reviewer
October 17, 2008
No thankyou - Not interested
June 19, 2008
wwwwooooooooooooooowwwww
IT'S AMAZING...
I LOVE IT..
MO.
June 5, 2008
Not interested in seeing this.
½ May 28, 2008
I don't know what to say about this movie. It makes no sence. I have watched two times and still dont understand what it is about. I was lost. Looks like the movie is about a film trying to do a sex scene. Okay. Hmmmmm..... I don't know.
Super Reviewer
April 29, 2008
This is like watching funny porn...except its not funny or sexy. It's just weird.
½ February 22, 2008
Quite funny in some parts, and really illustrated the development of a film or a scene. Also, it showed a different relationship French directors had with their actors compare to Americans.
February 9, 2008
Probably Catherine Breillat's weakest film - it is essentially a behind the bedroom scenes of her most famous work, "Romance". There is some funny stuff here, and some interesting deconstructions of cinemas scopophilic gaze.
August 20, 2007
Not interested. Sorry. But thanks!
August 19, 2007
ALL SEX IS A COMEDY SEX SHOULD BE FUN AT ALL TIMES
Page 2 of 7