Un Baiser s'il vous plaît (Shall We Kiss?) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Un Baiser s'il vous plaît (Shall We Kiss?) Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
April 2, 2009
Is Shall We Kiss? without merit? Not entirely. It has a grace, a languid charm, a pictorial elegance. The plot, when it winds up and unwinds, is ingenious. But are we expected in any sense to find these people realistic?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
Village Voice
March 24, 2009
Bogs down in the philosophical shallow end and never quite recovers from what's clearly meant to be a deceptively light tone.
Andrew Schenker
Slant Magazine
March 23, 2009
An amusing enough trifle.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Fr. Chris Carpenter
Movie Dearest
March 26, 2009
A one-joke comedy that is indulged for far too long and, in the end, becomes a pat morality tale.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Edward Douglas
ComingSoon.net
March 25, 2009
Anyone with half a brain is likely to be insulted by the film's insipid cutesy tone that creates a ridiculous fantasy scenario that has no basis in reality.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
April 10, 2009
There are two couples in the French Shall We Kiss? One is appealing, one is annoying, and unfortunately, we spend most of the time with Monsieur and Mademoiselle Blecch.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Kam Williams
NewsBlaze
March 27, 2009
A French chick flick designed to keep soap opera fans on the edge of their seats while watching for a couple of guilt-ridden cold fish anguish over whether to share just one kiss. For the sequel, get a room!
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Julie Rigg
MovieTime, ABC Radio National
June 12, 2009
The film goes badly awry, I think. There is something coy and miscalculated about it all. Mouret is quite talented as an actor, but maybe it's time he found another writer.
Sandra Hall
Sydney Morning Herald
June 12, 2009
[The] polite inquiry [of the title] pretty well sums up the tone of this featherweight ensemble comedy about French people falling in and out of love.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Geoff Berkshire
Metromix.com
March 26, 2009
You can all too easily imagine an unfortunately faithful remake starring Zach Braff and Zooey Deschanel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
April 3, 2009
Shall We Kiss? has an Allen-ish feel; but it also feels like a bad copy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Jan Stuart
Washington Post
April 9, 2009
It is as if the director had studied the comedies of Eric Rohmer and Woody Allen from top to bottom and come away with all the wrong lessons.
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
April 10, 2009
Perhaps the film's biggest weakness is that all the characters are so naive and petty you can't really work up much fervour about who sleeps with whom.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jim Slotek
Jam! Movies
April 10, 2009
Having two stories built around the title question is a good way to stretch a slight premise, but the result is simply two slight premises.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
May 14, 2009
Shall We Kiss? is not without charms, but the crux of the characters' quandary is about as monochromatic as the clothes they wear.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Sean P. Means
Salt Lake Tribune
May 22, 2009
You cannot talk yourself into passion, nor can you talk yourself out of it. The naive characters in Emmanuel Mouret's chatty romance try anyway.
| Original Score: 2/4
Thomas Caldwell
Cinema Autopsy
March 27, 2009
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
June 24, 2009
More quirky than wacky, this winning comedy only hits its romantic high when we return to that framing story, the storyteller who won't casually kiss because she knows, damn well, there's no such thing as a casual 'French' kiss.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
April 10, 2009
The film's very slight (pick your comparison: bonbon, souffle, sorbet) but it has a way of lingering a while after you see it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
March 26, 2009
Shall We Kiss? gives us storytelling as art. Emmanuel Mouret's romantic drama is expert, intricate, ineffably droll, ultimately provocative and entirely enchanting.
Alicia Potter
Boston Phoenix
April 23, 2009
Mark Jenkins
NPR.org
April 7, 2009
Page 1 of 4