Shame - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Shame Reviews

Page 2 of 153
November 25, 2015
A horrible movie about a douchebag.
½ November 25, 2015
I was told this is a powerful movie that doesn't leave your mind....I was disappointed.
½ October 22, 2015
Este salvaje drama erótico, tiene una de las mejores actuaciones en los últimos cinco años y su fotografía es una belleza visual.
Super Reviewer
½ December 11, 2011
An unpretentious, devastating character study that takes a disturbing look at sexual addiction, with magnificent performances by Fassbender and Mulligan, and it is directed with absolute control by Steve McQueen, who leaves no room for easy resolutions or happy endings.
October 12, 2015
It indulges the addiction, while remaining interesting in the moment.
October 12, 2015
A beautiful and confident performance from Michael Fassbender.The film allows the audience to witness the destruction of ones life.However, at times I personally felt that 'something' was perhaps missing from the plot. For me the film does not have a clear beginning,middle and end.
November 19, 2011
It's a Shame that due to its NC-17 rating, few people will get the chance to watch this Steve McQueen vehicle. Other director-actor pairings better watch out, McQueen-Fassbender may just be the Scorsese-De Niro of our day.

Fassbender's performance is all-in; he bears all as Brandon, and the viewer finds his behavior so wretched and despicable, yet we spur him onward by continuing to watch. Carey Mulligan also delivers a tremendous but nuanced role as Brandon's sister, appropriately named Sissy. In some movies, a musical number like Sissy's "New York, New York" might seem superfluous and over the top, but it is almost essential in this case.

But the highest praise must go to the man behind the lens. McQueen's ability to say so much with so few words is simply unprecedented. It lacks dialogue in the vein of another 2011 film, Nicolas Winding Refn's Drive. What's different about Shame is that it doesn't seem to be missing anything; rather, the words just aren't necessary. A furrowed brow and carefully measured eye movements tell the story sufficiently and perhaps even better. There is no better example than Brandon's two encounters with married women on the train, one near the beginning of the film as well as the final shot. Similarly, the lack of a soundtrack is both gritty and real, minimalist by function rather than style.

Furthermore, McQueen's ability to turn sex into a sort of character in itself is amazing. Few, if any, people can turn what is a common occurrence in cinema into something more. In this case, it is almost as if sex - or more precisely, sexual deviancy - is a sort of devil that has found it's way into a man's soul. Finally, I must point out the long tracking shot of Michael Fassbender jogging on the concrete sidewalks of New York. Both technically and artistically, it is nothing short of an achievement. Absolutely stunning, now to watch Hunger.
September 26, 2015
A solid character study that is difficult to enjoy but hard not to appreciate.
September 19, 2015
So here's another Fassbender film that borders on being an unbearable sit. Not because it's bad; it's a bare, intentionally unsexy, and lonely dive into shame, a state that puts a wall between us and the world, causing us to dig even deeper into our own sadness. However, its desire to be transparent makes it a slog to get through. "Shame" is a purposeful and penetrating movie I find very little fault in that I am hard pressed to say I "enjoy" or can even comfortably recommend.
September 18, 2015
This is one of the strongest movies I've seen in a while and certainly one of the cleverest.
Brilliant performances by Fassbender and Mulligan.
September 12, 2015
not bad 4 a NC-17 rating who r the MPAA anyway
September 9, 2015
July 28, 2015
Very, very powerful scenes, very intense, it's an achievement in the visuals and script, but I felt it was too much for me. I felt a little uncomfortable, clearly it's not a fast entertaining movie.
½ August 23, 2015
Fassbender's performance is terrific, and the film explores the issues of addiction, depravity and intimacy in a cold, oppressive tone.
July 26, 2015
Intensely evocative and calmly disturbing, Shame presents a shameless portrait of a man deep in the mires of sex addiction, and the camera remains unforgiving.
½ March 12, 2015
The movie for moments have unnecessary pornographic scenes who don't apport anything to the plot, but in spite of that Steve McQueen made a good job mixing drama and eroticims. Michael Fassbender and Carey Mulligan give to us excellent performances and the score accompanies very well every scene.
July 24, 2015
More than anything when I was told about Steve McQueen's Shame, was that its something that will divide your opinion, even after its finished. Correct, I do not know what to say, apart from its fantastic or disappointing all at the same time.

Fassbender is memorising ticking time bomb which keeps the film flowing at a reasonable pace. He's cool, calm but rotates almost immediately to pure lust, hatred, and relentless emotion which simmers all to Carey Mulligan's Sissy. The two are troubled, damaged and broken for any love or interaction with each other, or any one for that matter. This is McQueen's powerful study, not just with sex addiction, but also with subjects which hardly ever gets a mention.

Fassbender's Brandon is a spiralling mess, getting progressively worse as the film goes on, never really showing a redeeming attribute that he will get help. Which brings me to the films downfall.

Shame is a masterclass in acting, Fassbender deserves nothing but praise. The film is sometimes hard to watch as Brandon slowly descends into a hollow shell. But this is exactly what the film entails. I suppose at some point I expected redemption from Brandon, but he is, like I said, a bomb ready to explode. Quite frankly, its a very lonely, empty film which in the end, leaves with an ambiguous question mark.
July 18, 2015
Has a very strong massage. Full of junk and boobs. Carey Mulligan naked??
Page 2 of 153