She's Out of My League Reviews

Page 2 of 7

Liverpool Echo
June 4, 2010
She's Out Of My League is a predictable yet hugely enjoyable genre piece that relies on our natural empathy for Baruchel's nice guy...
Alex Zane
Sun Online
June 4, 2010
With his debut feature, English director Jim Field Smith handles the humour with skill. A solid if formulaic addition to the genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Tim Robey
Daily Telegraph
June 3, 2010
This is the rare one with unisex appeal - it's sweet and it's raunchy, and it has an underdog male lead of huge oddball charisma in Jay Baruchel.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Roz Laws
Birmingham Post
June 3, 2010
A funny and charming romcom.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Simon Reynolds
Digital Spy
June 3, 2010
Fast, frequently funny and isn't a chore to watch. Measured on its own dating scale, She's Out Of My League is a solid six with room to climb higher.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Karen Krizanovich
Radio Times
June 3, 2010
The gross-out level is kept to a minimum and the language is reasonably clean, making it a refreshing change from similar testosterone-fueled movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
June 3, 2010
For all its rude humour and chucklehead antics, this is actually a sweet and shy romantic comedy. It also boosts Jay Baruchel into leading-man status with a thoroughly charming performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Matt Risley
Sky Movies
June 2, 2010
While there's no particular originality to proceedings, each character is eminently likeable, and while that doesn't neccesarily translate to memorable comedic gold, it just about works well as a new contender.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matthew Turner
ViewLondon
June 2, 2010
Hugely enjoyable, frequently funny romcom with likeable characters, a witty script, a steady stream of laugh-out-loud gags and terrific performances from its two leads.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Anna Smith
Time Out
June 2, 2010
Like its hero, it has hidden depths -- it's just a shame they're not allowed to shine.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Sam Bathe
Fan The Fire
May 26, 2010
The direction from first-timer Jim Field Smith is bland and without character, and you feel that if someone with more confidence and a swagger to their filmmaking had been in charge we'd have seen something that stepped beyond cinematic mediocrity
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
April 10, 2010
Sloppy, sometimes tasteless and at times silly, 'She's Out of My League' is a lovable mess. It's raunchy humor with a heart of gold.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Dominic Corry
Flicks.co.nz
April 8, 2010
Some half-way decent character comedy props up this otherwise pretty frivolous outing that marks burgeoning star Jay Baruchel's first cinematic leading role.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jason Zingale
Bullz-Eye.com
April 6, 2010
Although the film follows all the usual peaks and valleys of a typical rom-com, She's Out of My League gets a pass for making me laugh even when it's at its most formulaic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
April 5, 2010
... inoffensive but strictly routine ...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Kevin A. Ranson
MovieCrypt.com
April 4, 2010
If John Hughes has made Clerks 2, it might have went something like this.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4.0
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
April 1, 2010
I found some of the Judd Apatow films really funny. This is a pale imitation, not actually in their league at all.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Sandra Hall
Sydney Morning Herald
April 1, 2010
The film is not an Apatow production but it feels like one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jason Di Rosso
MovieTime, ABC Radio National
April 1, 2010
She's Out of My League is perhaps the funniest film since There's Something About Mary.
Jarrod Walker
FILMINK (Australia)
April 1, 2010
An enjoyable ride with a cheerfully funny and realistic edge.
Page 2 of 7