The Shining Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
June 17, 2014
One of the best scary movies ever made, one of the best scary movies even imaginable.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
Top Critic
Ben Walters
Time Out
October 6, 2013
A masterpiece.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Ralph Novak
People Magazine
October 6, 2013
The Shining is like a near-miss auto accident: You don't know how scared you really were until you start shaking a few hours later.
Simon Miraudo
May 13, 2013
The first time I saw Stanley Kubrick's The Shining, I had to turn it off during three key moments... Perhaps this time, I prayed, [it] would seem almost comically silly. Yeah, not so much.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Josh Larsen
April 19, 2013
...above all a movie about spaces, and how few things are more frightening than not knowing which way to go.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Andy Lea
Daily Star
November 8, 2012
Strange and deeply creepy.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Adrian Turner
Radio Times
November 7, 2012
The technique is as overpowering as Nicholson's performance, which is both hammy and deeply disturbing.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 4, 2012
Kubrick's compositions and Jack Nicholson going kill-crazy with an axe remain hard to beat on the big screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Killian Fox
Observer [UK]
November 4, 2012
It's all in the build-up: Kubrick sets the scene for the horror with meticulous care.
Emma Dibdin
Digital Spy
November 2, 2012
Re-cut or not, The Shining remains one of the most viscerally disturbing films ever made.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Peter Bradshaw
November 1, 2012
Deeply scary and strange.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Ashley Clark
Little White Lies
November 1, 2012
Essential viewing. Prepare to be disturbed.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Kevin Harley
Total Film
October 29, 2012
Its artful ambiguities are immersive. Check in.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Robert Hatch
The Nation
October 9, 2012
As in 2001, Kubrick likes ghost stories more than I do. And he gives me enough else, in the way of acting and bizarrely beautiful surroundings, to keep me happy.
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
September 30, 2012
Stanley Kubrick's film is a work of art that will continue to be broken down and explored for decades to come...
Jeremy Knox
Film Threat
October 21, 2010
Kubrick doesn't dumb it down or anything, but he's not actively trying to appeal only to film connoisseurs either. If any of his movies could be called mainstream, it's this one.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Richard Schickel
TIME Magazine
October 21, 2010
Kubrick has made a movie that will have to be reckoned with on the highest level.
Rob Gonsalves
July 13, 2009
The Shining is an intense and not always ingratiating experience, a natural bookend to 2001...
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
April 30, 2009
As a ghost story and adaptation of the Stephen King novel, it's largely a failure. On the other hand, as an example of directorial bravura and as a study of madness and the unreliable narrator, it's a brilliant success.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Steve Biodrowski
February 3, 2009
The result may not quite match Kubrick's greatest films, but it is enthralling and hypnotic - a brilliant, ambitious attempt to shoot a horror film without the Gothic trappings.
Page 1 of 4