The Sixth Sense - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Sixth Sense Reviews

Page 1 of 8
December 5, 2015
Strengthened by the loving friendship between Crowe and Cole, the film takes Cole, and us, through the shadow of death, but it never strands us there.
Top Critic
Stephen Hunter
Washington Post
October 7, 2014
You leave slightly asquirm. You know it will linger. It becomes a clammy, chilly movie building toward a revelation that you cannot predict. As I say: I cannot tell you. You'd hate me if I did. I can only say, don't look now, but look sometime.
Bill Gallo
New Times
October 7, 2014
Beyond these startling apparitions, there's a surplus of mumbo-jumbo in here -- and some ludicrously false notes.
Margaret Pomeranz
sbs.com.au
October 7, 2014
It takes you on an intriguing, unsettling journey.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Peter Bradshaw
Guardian
August 27, 2013
Dr Crowe gradually comes to believe that little Cole can indeed commune with the unquiet souls, who are reaching out to him for help. And, yes, the scenes where Cole does so can be very creepy indeed.
Andrew Collins
Radio Times
August 27, 2013
M Night Shyamalan has fashioned a modern classic here, a chilly, intelligent, emotional ghost story that relies not on the obligatory gore and knifeplay for its many shocks but on glimpses of an afterlife that's anything but angels and harps.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Dayana Stetco
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
August 27, 2013
Another "could-have-been" film, another almost successful compromise, another intelligent flick done in by its misplaced and worn-out star.
Leah Rozen
People Magazine
August 27, 2013
If ultimately there is less to Sense than meets the eye, director-writer M. Night Shyamalan (Wide Awake) at least avoids gory cheap thrills in favor of muted chills. He bears watching.
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
August 27, 2013
So transparent is Osment as an actor, and so rare, that the pain on his face stabs you in the heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
August 27, 2013
Osment's pinched, old-young face suggests an ancient's insight without an ancient's defenses -- a sensitivity so exquisitely morbid that you worry more for his emotional than physical well-being.
Top Critic
August 27, 2013
Willis turns in a measured and understated performance.
Top Critic
David Denby
New Yorker
October 10, 2012
A delicate, emotionally attentive, but very scary ghost story.
Top Critic
Jack Mathews
New York Daily News
October 10, 2012
I was not only surprised by the film's final twist, I wasn't even looking for one. I just thought I was watching a bad movie. The end doesn't quite redeem it, but it makes you think about what you've seen. That's a saving grace of some sort.
Top Critic
John Anderson
Los Angeles Times
October 10, 2012
Shyamalan's script is a clever construct, but also contains a great deal of sensitivity to the plight of the "different" child.
Top Critic
Keith Phipps
AV Club
October 10, 2012
Like Kieslowski and others, Shyamalan knows that what makes for lousy metaphysics can make for powerful metaphor, and in the end he creates a deeply, surprisingly affecting film out of a little bit of smoke and brimstone.

Total Film
October 10, 2012
Like The Exorcist, this isn't really a gore-spattered shocker, more a slow-burning, subconscious-botherer.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Kevin Jeys
Sacramento News & Review
October 10, 2012
Osment is excellent, as is Bruce Willis, as a melancholy child psychologist scarred by his failure with a similarly haunted youth, and Toni Collette, as the boy's fiercely loyal mother.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Philip Strick
Sight and Sound
June 18, 2012
Constantly on the brink of explanation, The Sixth Sense in fact derives most of its fascination from explaining next to nothing.
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 29, 2010
Great, but sometimes scarier than R-rated horror.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
July 6, 2010
The performances are solid with an outstanding debut from Haley Joel Osment.
Page 1 of 8