Sleepless in Seattle - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sleepless in Seattle Reviews

Page 2 of 3
Widgett Walls
March 11, 2003
Cute, syrupy, but won't give you a rash.
| Original Score: 3/5
James Rocchi
November 7, 2002
This is essentially a romance involving two people on different coasts, but Hanks and Ryan and Director Ephron's screenplay make it work, along with some very nice supporting performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Kevin N. Laforest
Montreal Film Journal
September 10, 2002
It's the kind of movie that reaches your emotional core and your dreams and make you feel alive by showing you how good life can be despite the little setbacks.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
August 22, 2002
Overrated but still cute love story.
| Original Score: 4/5
August 2, 2002
Meg and Tom are the perfect couple for this movie.
| Original Score: 5/5
Stephen Farber
January 9, 2002
Nora Ephron's Sleepless in Seattle is a throwback to the sexless romantic comedies of the 1930s.
George Perry
April 17, 2001
Ryan and Hanks, even apart, have the chemistry to make a very agreeable entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
January 1, 2000
Sleepless in Seattle is hopelessly romantic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
Sleepless in Seattle is as ephemeral as a talk show, as contrived as the late show, and yet so warm and gentle I smiled the whole way through.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Mark Salisbury
Empire Magazine
January 1, 2000
Not one of the cleverer rom-coms of this ilk... but sweet and touching nevertheless and Tom Hanks is always watchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Joe Brown
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
A quick check of the exiting audience found many smiling -- and still clutching tissues.
Top Critic
Hal Hinson
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
We fall -- and I think a lot of people will fall hard for this movie -- even though we know we shouldn't.
Chris Hicks
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
January 1, 2000
Call me a hopeless romantic, but I have fallen in love with Sleepless in Seattle.
Mark R. Leeper
January 1, 2000
While the plot is sentimental and a little sticky, the dialogue is a lot of fun and often very witty and insightful.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/8
Eugene Novikov
Film Blather
January 1, 2000
Nora Ephron botched Sleepless in Seattle, a hollow, boring romance that should appeal only to the most gullible of viewers; the ones willing to buy into Ephron's whiny views of life and romance.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
January 1, 2000
This is a dreamy, romantic fantasy whose mood falls somewhere between magic and reality.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: C
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
January 2, 2005
| Original Score: 2/5
Sarah Chauncey
June 4, 2004
| Original Score: 4/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
October 15, 2003
| Original Score: 3/5
Page 2 of 3