The Snow Creature Reviews

Page 1 of 1
366weirdmovies
Super Reviewer
February 24, 2014
A botanist on an expedition in the Himalayas gets sidetracked into capturing a Yeti, then flies him back to Los Angeles where the creature quickly escapes. Dull, by-the-book creature-feature.
sanjurosamurai
Super Reviewer
½ June 23, 2012
i loved that they brought this film through three very different environments, mountains, city, and sewer, but the shots locations were too noticeably recycled and the script too lazy. overall a decent short watch for a night when youre looking for something goofy.
September 9, 2012
there is A LOT of walking around in this movie. And white people are really bossy to the sherpas. The Yeti is kinda lame and really only socks a couple jerks. Otherwise, he just wants a wife. Or maybe be doesn't it is hard to figure out much. The yeti is always backing away into shadows. By the time the whites are chasing the Yeti through the storm sewers, the movie has lost all its will to live. Just like the Yeti.
½ March 7, 2013
72%

"The whole thing sounds fantastic."-Peter Wells (Leslie Denison)

Could you blast Bigfoot or a Yeti who just wants to get back home to his family?
½ December 7, 2012
Decent 50's monster movie, but the monster is rather disappointing. You never get too good of a look at the Yeti, and most of the time it just looks like a man in a thick jacket. The storyline is slow and rather dull and the acting isn't top notch. It's a fun little watch for a late night b-movie marathon.
½ May 24, 2011
The Snow Creature, marks the beginning of the Yeti/Bigfoot genera, or rather horror subgenera. To my knowledge it is the first time the beast is presented on celluloid. The director, W. Lee Wilder (Phantom from Space) inadvertently set a trend or more likely a curse on all future Bigfoot themed films. That's right, from here on, Bigfoot movies head into a long succession of "B" quality.

The Snow Creature borrows story elements from King Kong. A beast is captured, taken to the city, escapes and causes mayhem, blah blah blah, you get the idea. The plot isn't the only thing Wilder decided to recycle. There is a few seconds of footage that is used and reused to the point of becoming a joke. It's a creepy shot of the Yeti appearing out of the darkness. Its features are barely lit and heavily contrasted against the negative space behind him. The shot is then reversed and the Yeti returns into the darkness. Sometimes we'll see this same footage repeated within an interval of just a few seconds. Once or twice would have been fine in separate scenes, but 20+ times is ridiculous. Obviously, this was the scariest image they had to work with and needed to use it to build suspense in key moments. It's either lazy filmmaking or Wilder exceeded his budget and couldn't get the shots needed to complete these scenes.

In all, it was an okay B-movie with one cool but annoyingly repetitive Yeti shot. I only wish I could watch it in a better resolution.
½ July 27, 2009
As a purveyor and supporter of cinematic kitsch, I was really looking forward to Snow Creature. I'd never seen the film and had high hopes that it was going to fall into the "so bad, it's good" category. Imagine my dismay when the film showed enough technical savvy, competent writing, and acting talent to keep it from being hysterically bad. Yes, it's mundane and forgettable, but there's nothing inherently funny about that, now is there?
March 16, 2008
Low budget sci-fi film, it isn't very professionally made but it at least has some imagination and creativity.
Page 1 of 1