Somebody Up There Likes Me Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
July 13, 2013
It might not be everyone's cup of tea, but this mixture of magical realism and bittersweet absurdity benefits from a consistency of vision and a genuinely unusual storytelling approach.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Ron Wilkinson
Monsters and Critics
April 14, 2013
An easy going family comedy featuring odd people who turn out to be just like us.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Marc Mohan
Oregonian
April 11, 2013
Deadpan absurdity and an insistently whimsical score only add to the cookie-cutter feel, but the performances are appealing enough.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Leah Churner
Austin Chronicle
April 5, 2013
Somebody is nihilistic, misanthropic, and weirdly relaxing. I've never seen anything like it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Matthew Odam
Austin American-Statesman
April 4, 2013
Somebody Up There Likes Me is a poignant and at times trying work of personal art that will likely mean different things to different people. Like its director, it seems to reflect more than it reveals.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Neil Genzlinger
New York Times
March 28, 2013
It's all kind of cute. Maybe a little too cute, but it does have a nice circle-of-life ending.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Ted Scheinman
Village Voice
March 26, 2013
The film itself is so charming that you almost forget to ask whether these people truly deserve our empathy.
Kenji Fujishima
Slant Magazine
March 25, 2013
Bob Byington's perspective may be above it all, but that doesn't quite account for the shades of melancholy that pop up unexpectedly in lines of dialogue and in some of the performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
David Lewis
San Francisco Chronicle
March 25, 2013
American cinema has been churning out slacker movies for what seems like eons, so it's refreshing to report that Somebody Up There Likes Me enlivens the genre with a welcome breath of imagination, wit and charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ted Scheinman
L.A. Weekly
March 15, 2013
The film itself is so charming that you almost forget to ask whether these people truly deserve our empathy.
Caitlin Colford
Paste Magazine
March 14, 2013
Somebody Up There Likes Me is an entertaining film with a strong artistic exertion and a resilient attention to detail, making for a memorable seventy-five minutes thanks to its outlandish quirk and well-defined characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.8/10
Top Critic
Mark Olsen
Los Angeles Times
March 14, 2013
Words such as offbeat, charming or, Lord help us, quirky are wildly overused and yet this is exactly the kind of film to which they best apply.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Edward Johnson-Ott
NUVO Newsweekly
March 8, 2013
I didn't find Somebody Up There Likes Me as funny as others seem to, but I was fascinated enough by the curious offering to watch it twice.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Eric Kohn
indieWIRE
March 8, 2013
In the hands of another filmmaker, Byington's approach might come across as gimmicky or overly precious. Instead, Somebody Up There Likes Me retains a playfully philosophical edge.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Stephen Dalton
Hollywood Reporter
March 8, 2013
Highly original and delightfully unorthodox.
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
March 7, 2013
Bob Byington's imaginative indie comedy recalls some of Richard Lester's 60s films in its freewheeling narrative structure and cartoonish sight gags, though the humor is more often peculiar than laugh-out-loud funny.
William Goss
The Playlist
March 13, 2012
Walks a fine line between casual cruelty and the grander schemes of time.
Christopher Null
Film Racket
October 13, 2013
This isn't mumblecore, but it isn't slapstick, either. File under mumblestick, perhaps?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Michael Atkinson
Time Out
March 26, 2013
The time-killing universe Byington has created makes sure we never forget how absurd he thinks the whole movie is. Fun for him, perhaps.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Brian Tallerico
HollywoodChicago.com
March 21, 2013
The film never quite comes together enough to get over the sense that it's a comedy made by people who think they're too cool to laugh but it comes close.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic

New York Times
May 30, 2013
Page 1 of 2