Something Borrowed Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
February 7, 2012
The work of the lead trio keeps the movie from ever becoming something blue.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
May 16, 2011
...a passable romcom that just barely gets the job done...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
May 8, 2011
Like a trashy paperback you take to the beach, I'm not proud of liking it and I'm not saying it doesn't have problems, but in the end I kind of enjoyed it anyway.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5
Betty Jo Tucker
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
May 8, 2011
Although 'Something Borrowed' deals with serious love vs. friendship issues, Kate Hudson's performance is over-the-top funny.
Keith Cohen
Entertainment Spectrum
May 7, 2011
Hudson and Goodwin have great chemistry together. Krasinski does the best acting job and steals every scene he appears in. The cinematography, scenic New York locations and a romantic soundtrack are added bonuses.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
May 6, 2011
... rises above its lack of promise ...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Daniel M. Kimmel
New England Movies Weekly
May 6, 2011
Compared to last year's Sex and the City 2, this is a breath of fresh air. For those who enjoy the great romantic comedies, though, Something Borrowed hasn't borrowed enough.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
May 6, 2011
The tension between the film's happy public surface and the thorny interior themes of guilt and deception gives the movie a perhaps unintentional 'romcom noir' distinctiveness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Pete Hammond
Boxoffice Magazine
May 6, 2011
Something Borrowed is a snappy rom com about intersecting desires among a group of twenty-something friends.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
May 5, 2011
A genial cast and moderately funny script prevail over the sort of sappy music cues and white-bread settings that have become the grating norm in Hollywood rom-coms.
Dustin Putman
TheFilmFile.com
May 5, 2011
Doesn't always evade the traps of convention, but it is the first film of its kind in a while with an ending that isn't such an obvious foregone conclusion.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
David Noh
Film Journal International
May 5, 2011
Kate Hudson's amusing portrait of an egomaniacal frenemy is the best reason to see this overextended soap opera.
Marshall Fine
Hollywood & Fine
May 5, 2011
Occasionally chuckle-worthy and seldom awful or stupid. It's an emotionally intelligent film, if not an outstandingly amusing one.
Susan Granger
SSG Syndicate
May 5, 2011
A soul-searching chick flick that really clicks.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
May 4, 2011
Greenfield stumbles on occasions but it aims at some sort of honesty and for the most part achieves it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)
May 4, 2011
As odd as it seems, Something Borrowed grows on you as it wears on, primarily because its characters are relatively unlikeable for a film of this type.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Phil Villarreal
OK! Magazine
May 4, 2011
It made me like it against my will and despite my biases, and it made me like that I liked it. I enjoyed its walk of shame.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Kimber Myers
The Playlist
August 15, 2013
From its empty soul to its poorly framed shots ready for pan-and-scan conversion, Something Borrowed seems primed to play on Saturday afternoons on E!, sandwiched between reruns of Keeping Up with the Kardashians...
Full Review | Original Score: D-
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
January 12, 2013
Chemistry-free casting (Ginnifer Goodwin and John Krasinski) and a flawed premise, not the recipe for a great romance
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Shaun Munro
What Culture
December 31, 2011
No romantic drama has ever been so misguided and eager for you to root against its characters. This tacky, morally abhorrent film is unbearable.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 6