We Are What We Are - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Are What We Are Reviews

Top Critic
Mark Olsen
Los Angeles Times
February 24, 2011
An unexpectedly rich exploration of family bonds, blood rituals and the oftentimes zombie-like desire to assume the roles proscribed to each of us, played out with a sharp undertow of political allegory and darkly comic sensibility.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Jeannette Catsoulis
New York Times
February 18, 2011
Unfolding in an impoverished neighborhood in Mexico City, this disturbing debut paints social decay with bold, elegant strokes and dizzying camera angles.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
V.A. Musetto
New York Post
February 18, 2011
Grau's script is intelligent, and it has something to say about family and social dysfunction. You just might want to skip meat for a few days.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
February 17, 2011
Like zombie auteur George Romero at his best, Grau locks his sights on his social commentary of choice and goes after it with the zeal of a 19-year-old cannibal girl sinking an ax into the skull of her next meal.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Top Critic
Keith Phipps
AV Club
February 17, 2011
Grau effectively mixes wry, bloody, deadpan gags, family drama, and stomach-churning violence.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Keith Uhlich
Time Out
February 16, 2011
The characters' rapacious tendencies exist in a void, so all we get is numbing, meaningless viscera.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
J. Hoberman
Village Voice
February 15, 2011
We Are What We Are is a darkly comic social allegory as well as an atmospheric little genre flick.
Top Critic
Nigel Floyd
Time Out
November 15, 2010
While it concerns itself with the gruesome logistics of finding bodies to be ritually sacrificed and chopped into bite-size pieces, Grau's hybrid film achieves a morbid fascination that is reinforced by Santiago Sanchez's artfully scuzzy cinematography.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5