Soom (Breath) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Soom (Breath) Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Super Reviewer
April 28, 2010
A tender and sensitive drama in which Ki-Duk explores again many of the narrative elements that he is so fascinated with and which are also present in his previous films, such as love, silence, loneliness and the passage of time, and it is above all a story to be felt and experienced.
arashxak
Super Reviewer
½ February 4, 2009
Anothe masterwork by Kim Ki-duk, The story is strange but like his other films Soom is filled with magical ideas & impressive moments
Super Reviewer
½ August 23, 2008
I love the films of Ki-duk Kim so much. Seriously he's fucking amazing. His subtle approach to film making allows to to wallow in his incredible images. His symbolism and lack of dialogue give you a chance to really get involved in the thought process of cinema. Breath is one his most difficult works, not just because of the plot but also as it appears to work in conjunction with many of his other films. Loneliness being a major theme that may keep away many viewers. He does however find the beauty in dark and disturbing themes, especially visual beauty. The snowmen created here, or the paintings within jail. It certainly deserves more than one watch.
May 28, 2010
(****): Thumbs Up

Another great film from my favorite South Korean film director Ki-duk Kim (sorry Chan-wook Park!). Interesting throughout and well-acted.
Super Reviewer
½ March 30, 2010
the cell decorations were beautiful. Park played the psycho, bored wife role all too well. the scene-flipping between the snowman family and the conjugal visit was very demented.
March 2, 2008
This is a very simple story about a woman who becomes fascinated by news reports of a death row inmate who continually attempts suicide. After discovering her husband was having an affair, she decides to go visit the prisoner. She poses as his ex-girlfriend and is allowed to visit.

Her visits become progressively elaborate as she starts bringing props, costumes and scenic wallpaper as she courts the young man imprisoned for murdering his family. She sings him karaoke songs attempting to cheer him up.

The entire production is watched closely by a shadowy man via security cam with his finger on a button to sound the alarm when the pair get too close.

Meanwhile, back in his cell shared by 3 other men - he is constantly stuck between a rock (larger prisoner) and a soft place (affectionate gay fellow-inmate) and seems to count the minutes until he can finally die.

His suicide attempts leave him speechless because he stabs himself in the neck with a sharpened toothbrush.

In the end, this film really doesn't make much of itself. I think Kim Ki Duk is talented, but this one feels like leftovers from 3-iron and other films he's done. He's definitely an art-house director, but this one is a little light on the substance.

Good points - the building the couple live in is a beautiful example of artistic modern architecture. The acting is superb. In spite of being somewhat empty and a little slow at times, it's pretty interesting.

It's really one of his weaker films, but it's watchable.
Super Reviewer
April 28, 2010
A tender and sensitive drama in which Ki-Duk explores again many of the narrative elements that he is so fascinated with and which are also present in his previous films, such as love, silence, loneliness and the passage of time, and it is above all a story to be felt and experienced.
March 7, 2013
It's just not my kind of movie.
February 23, 2013
She just wanted to experience the feeling she had at 9. The love making scene where she holds his nose she's breathing through him. Im not good with metaphors but I think in that moment she breathed some good into him. She also released her old self in that moment she decided to make things work with her husband.
November 3, 2009
pretty basic but i liked it
½ December 5, 2012
Anothe masterwork by Kim Ki-duk, The story is strange but like his other films Soom is filled with magical ideas & impressive moments
October 21, 2008
Simply said: really strange story. I've previously seen three of this directors movies and this wasn't nearly as depressing and distressing as Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter... and Spring. Did I miss some line or scene because I didn't really get the point in here through all this silence and loneliness like perhaps the prison guard watching them from the screen or the convict and the woman knew each other or are link to each other from the past?
½ July 7, 2010
Its another head-scratcher from Kim Ki-duk. When a housewife discovers her husband's unfaithfulness, she begins an affair with a death row inmate. Full of imagery and subtlety, its not one of Kim's better movies but it has its moments near the end.
March 20, 2012
i wish i could stop watching Ki-duk Kim's
½ December 14, 2011
Music is ever present or absent in Kim Gi Deok's work and this one is no exception. A silent character and lots of symbolism are at rendez-vous. The only downfall : scenes changed too quickly (especially in the first 2/3).
I think it would have been much more poignant had the actors payed more attention to details.

Somehow, his silent characters always move me the most.
Super Reviewer
October 26, 2011
Drama about a housewife not loved by her husband settingh of to a prison to decorate for a famous prisoner who has many atempts at suicide. a odd tale at times, and sometimes not saying very much. but enough moments to keep it ticking along.
July 4, 2011
There's no doubt that Kim Ki-Duk is a gifted filmmaker, but I found this one terribly pointless.
March 3, 2011
Een obscure van meesterzwijger Kim-Ki Duk.
March 1, 2011
Viele Jahre sind vergangen und Kim-Ki Duk macht immer und immer wieder den selben Film. Manchmal gelingt es ihm gut, manchmal weniger. Diesmal hat er mir ganz gut gefallen.
3/5
Page 1 of 11