Soom (Breath) Reviews

Page 2 of 11
Indra W March 7, 2013
It's just not my kind of movie.
miruna . November 3, 2009
pretty basic but i liked it
Arash X ½ December 5, 2012
Anothe masterwork by Kim Ki-duk, The story is strange but like his other films Soom is filled with magical ideas & impressive moments
mingna1983 mingna1983 October 21, 2008
Simply said: really strange story. I've previously seen three of this directors movies and this wasn't nearly as depressing and distressing as Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter... and Spring. Did I miss some line or scene because I didn't really get the point in here through all this silence and loneliness like perhaps the prison guard watching them from the screen or the convict and the woman knew each other or are link to each other from the past?
Steve W ½ July 7, 2010
Its another head-scratcher from Kim Ki-duk. When a housewife discovers her husband's unfaithfulness, she begins an affair with a death row inmate. Full of imagery and subtlety, its not one of Kim's better movies but it has its moments near the end.
Miss. B ½ December 14, 2011
Music is ever present or absent in Kim Gi Deok's work and this one is no exception. A silent character and lots of symbolism are at rendez-vous. The only downfall : scenes changed too quickly (especially in the first 2/3).
I think it would have been much more poignant had the actors payed more attention to details.

Somehow, his silent characters always move me the most.
scott g
Super Reviewer
October 26, 2011
Drama about a housewife not loved by her husband settingh of to a prison to decorate for a famous prisoner who has many atempts at suicide. a odd tale at times, and sometimes not saying very much. but enough moments to keep it ticking along.
Alberto M July 4, 2011
There's no doubt that Kim Ki-Duk is a gifted filmmaker, but I found this one terribly pointless.
Bastiaan T March 3, 2011
Een obscure van meesterzwijger Kim-Ki Duk.
Umelbumel Umelbumel March 1, 2011
Viele Jahre sind vergangen und Kim-Ki Duk macht immer und immer wieder den selben Film. Manchmal gelingt es ihm gut, manchmal weniger. Diesmal hat er mir ganz gut gefallen.
3/5
whiterain whiterain May 28, 2010
Kim ki Duk
07 CANNES
07 FİLMOCT
Another masterpiece form Kim ki duk . Best of bests as theme for me. Fear of death. Lovely film
kingofthecorn kingofthecorn May 28, 2010
(****): Thumbs Up

Another great film from my favorite South Korean film director Ki-duk Kim (sorry Chan-wook Park!). Interesting throughout and well-acted.
ElCochran90 ElCochran90
Super Reviewer
½ September 5, 2008
Soom is Kim Ki-Duk's most psychologycal complex film. Oddly, it does actually lack the interesting and jaw-dropping depth of his previous efforts. The intelligent use of silence is gone and we are left with a conclusion more cold than open to interpretation. Great concept, nevertheless, and a very rich existentialist environment. Kim; I forgive you. Get back on track.

76/100
Carlos M
Super Reviewer
April 28, 2010
A great drama in which Kim Ki-Duk explores once again many elements that he has used before in his previous films and he is so much fascinated with, such as love, silence, loneliness and the passage of time. A tender, sensitive story that has to be felt and experienced.
steve c
Super Reviewer
½ March 30, 2010
the cell decorations were beautiful. Park played the psycho, bored wife role all too well. the scene-flipping between the snowman family and the conjugal visit was very demented.
Vivian W April 21, 2009
is a weridly odd nice show...too artistic
shesdownbytheriver shesdownbytheriver
Super Reviewer
April 10, 2009
No thanks - Not interested
chris852102 chris852102 February 25, 2009
Obbession takes your breath away..... the cast gives a unexpected great performance.
arashxak arashxak
Super Reviewer
½ February 4, 2009
Anothe masterwork by Kim Ki-duk, The story is strange but like his other films Soom is filled with magical ideas & impressive moments
xxxcli213xxx xxxcli213xxx November 29, 2008
no thanks not my thing
Page 2 of 11