Sound of My Voice - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sound of My Voice Reviews

Page 2 of 6
Top Critic
Cath Clarke
Time Out
July 31, 2012
As a thriller, 'Sound of My Voice' tails off and its budget shows. But for Marling it's an impressive calling card.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
David Hughes
Empire Magazine
July 30, 2012
The duo of Marling and Batmanglij have constructed an engrossing mystery, written, acted and directed with considerable skill.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Eddie Harrison
The List
July 24, 2012
Batmanglij and Marling have crafted a neat chiller, a no-frills B movie that explores the central conceit with intelligence and wit...
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
June 20, 2012
Left me wanting a more convincing ending I could reflect on rather than a story that seemed dubious and invented and coming to a dead-end.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Dan Lybarger
June 4, 2012
The odd "wait-a-second" feeling that director Zal Batmanglij imbues the film with makes it more memorable than its conventional peers.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
June 4, 2012
An intriguing new subgenre that might be described as 'Sundance science fiction' continues with this creepy but ultimately unpersuasive film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Tricia Olszewski
Washington City Paper
June 1, 2012
It's quiet. Eerie. Transfixing.
Top Critic
Calvin Wilson
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
June 1, 2012
"Sound of My Voice" at once dramatizes and questions the power of belief.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
May 31, 2012
An example of how much a movie can accomplish with a good script, a few decent actors, and almost nothing else.
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
May 30, 2012
Haunting all the way through to its satisfyingly open-ended finale.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
May 26, 2012
The more the film balks at meeting viewers halfway, the more frustrating it becomes, like the Wizard of Oz after he's revealed to be a charlatan. It promises to take us down a yellow brick road toward enlightenment, but it leads us off a cliff instead.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Robert Denerstein
Movie Habit
May 24, 2012
Losing our moorings in a Los Angeles cult
Clint O'Connor
Cleveland Plain Dealer
May 24, 2012
Brit Marling continues to mesmerize. As with Another Earth: A smart story with a jolt of an ending.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
May 24, 2012
There is a huge difference between an unexpectedly sudden ending (like The Sopranos) and a non-ending.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
May 18, 2012
There's nothing wrong with asking viewers to fill in some holes. But "Sound of My Voice" leaves you dangling, reaching out for something that's just not there.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
May 17, 2012
I'm really starting to fall in love with Brit Marling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Jeff Meyers
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
May 17, 2012
...a constant sense of creepy-crawly discomfort and well-timed blackouts keep things moving along, like a page-turning thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
May 17, 2012
The middle of the film veers off course, but "Sound" ends with a couple of scenes that reframe everything and that seem likely to send moviegoers home talking about what they've seen and heard.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Duane Dudek
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
May 17, 2012
[It] should engage anyone who enjoys leaving the theater with more questions than answers.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Brian Orndorf
May 17, 2012
I suppose it's a testament to the power of the script that I wanted to follow the story further, yet Voice exits bluntly, with little sense of achievement after 80 minutes of enigmatic clues, assumptions, and miraculous experiences.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Page 2 of 6