Star Trek Reviews

Page 1 of 17
Brian D. Johnson
Maclean's Magazine
March 17, 2015
Star Trek has remarkable freshness and originality for something so deeply familiar. And it leaves us confidant that a venerable piece of pop culture is in good hands, at least for the time being.
Stuart Klawans
The Nation
March 17, 2015
Star Trek keeps you occupied with the usual sort of thing you find in science-fiction adventures, done somewhat more wittily.
Mark Monahan
Daily Telegraph
March 17, 2015
Whether watching Kirk and Sulu skydive from space, a rural Mid-West dotted with vast interstellar towers, or Kirk do battle with a very ill-tempered beastie on a frozen moon, it's hard not to gape in wonder.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
March 17, 2015
I didn't go to this with much enthusiasm but, of course, it's been completely reinvented by J.J. Abrams and he's done a terrific job.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Graham Young
Birmingham Mail
March 17, 2015
Star Trek works by paying homage to the past without being chained down by its history.
Katherine Monk
Canada.com
March 17, 2015
As far as performance goes, Pine and Karl Urban -- Kirk and Bones, respectively -- do offer up moments of tongue-in-cheek allusion, but they sell it straight-up, and save the movie from becoming a list of inside jokes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Randall King
Winnipeg Free Press
March 17, 2015
The film is sufficiently smart and engaging that Abrams has effectively guaranteed the characters will be back for further adventures.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Dann Gire
Chicago Daily Herald
March 17, 2015
J.J. Abrams' Star Trek reboot beams a fresh set of dilithium crystals into a science-fiction film franchise that has been eking by on cinematic life support since 1991's The Undiscovered Country.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Scott Beggs
Film School Rejects
March 17, 2015
This is a fantastic movie. It's pacing is rapid-fire, the action is larger-than-life and raises blood pressure with ease, and the characters come to life in a very cool way.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Andrew Hedley
Flicks.co.nz
March 17, 2015
Star Trek is back. It's action-packed, exciting, and visually spectacular -- who would have thought that the dying sci-fi series could be resurrected into something this fun?
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Rick Bentley
Fresno Bee
March 17, 2015
Star Trek is such a well-written, superbly acted and amazingly staged film that it sets a new standard for summer action films.
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)
March 17, 2015
Some will walk away convinced they have seen the best Star Trek movie of them all. I can only agree wholeheartedly.
John Serba
MLive.com
March 17, 2015
With this new, dynamic duo in place, the possibilities for exploring the fabled final frontier seem endless.
Deborah Ross
The Spectator
March 17, 2015
I'm no Trekkie, I don't speak Klingon, I've never boldly been anywhere in the least bit exciting -- my fear of motorways has always hampered me horribly in this respect -- and I don't like action epics but [Star Trek] is quite fun.
Norman Wilner
NOW Toronto
March 17, 2015
J.J. Abrams brings the beloved but undeniably creaky franchise back to square one while still delivering a thoroughly contemporary science fiction adventure rooted in the spirit of Gene Roddenberry's original conception.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Edward Johnson-Ott
NUVO Newsweekly
March 17, 2015
You don't have to be a Star Trek fan to enjoy this rollicking movie. J.J. Abrams' reboot of the 1966 TV space adventure series is fast-paced, action-packed and lots of fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Richard von Busack
MetroActive
March 17, 2015
There is still life and romance in these movies.
Chris Roberts
Uncut Magazine [UK]
March 17, 2015
In short, it'll please everyone, while never being as bland as that might sound.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Marc Fennell
Triple J
March 17, 2015
I think JJ Abrams and his movie 'gets' what Trek is supposed to be about.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Mal Vincent
The Virginian-Pilot
March 17, 2015
A Star is reborn as director J.J. Abrams' re imagining of Star Trek emerges, against the odds, as a smart space epic that can be embraced even by wary Trek devotees.
Page 1 of 17