Star Trek Reviews

Page 1 of 17
Bruce Bennett
Stop Smiling
March 17, 2015
A rather lazily imagined, though energetically executed pastiche of big screen sci-fi clichés seemingly appropriated at random from other films.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
May 6, 2009
The Gene Roddenberry years, when stories might play with questions of science, ideals or philosophy, have been replaced by stories reduced to loud and colorful action.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Adam Lippe
Examiner.com
November 17, 2009
Abrams manages quite well in making $150 million look like an episode of Babylon 5. Fistfights are poorly edited, and when he wants to create excitement and tension, Abrams simply has the camera shake around a lot in close-up.
Jim Schembri
The Age (Australia)
May 15, 2009
Well, at least they got it half right.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
May 8, 2009
Just because a film is noisy, colorful and fast does not ipso facto mean that it is also a rollicking entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Kyle Smith
KyleSmithOnline.com
May 10, 2009
Barely competent. J.J. Abrams has a TV soul.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Peter Sobczynski
eFilmCritic.com
May 7, 2009
The film is just another noisy space opera in which the humanity takes a back seat to the hardware, something that the real "Star Trek" managed to avoid at its peak moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Erik Childress
eFilmCritic.com
May 7, 2009
For nearly its first hour, I felt I was witnessing Abrams hitting every beat just right, only to see him and his writers spend the final hour getting just about everything wrong.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Michael W. Phillips, Jr.
Goatdog's Movies
May 20, 2009
Abrams doesn't get the franchise that Roddenberry created.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Rafer Guzman
Newsday
May 6, 2009
That jolt of energy may resuscitate the franchise; its breathing, however, feels shallow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
May 25, 2009
While entertaining as a space soap opera, the film dismantles much of what made Star Trek once great.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
David Poland
Movie City News
May 6, 2009
Amazing sound, a ton of fury, signifying nothing... So densely orchestrated that the film never gives the audience a moment to breath it all in.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Top Critic
Anthony Lane
New Yorker
May 7, 2009
Quinto is the one person here who may leave teen-aged viewers more perplexed than puffed up; he somehow rebukes the movie's whole obsession with backstory and immaturity by seeming riper and wiser than the charmless folly that is spun around him.
Armond White
New York Press
May 6, 2009
This Star Trek sells cuteness, sentimentality and explosive F/X as if Starship Troopers, Minority Report, Mission to Mars or even Blade Runner or The Matrix (all visionary standard-setters) never happened.
Top Critic
Scott Foundas
L.A. Weekly
May 7, 2009
Even by the standards of its own predecessors, this Trek feels like it was made by a committee of logic-minded Vulcans (or franchise-protective studio executives) rather than a filmmaker with the singular personality of Nicholas Meyer.
Gregory Weinkauf
ÜberCiné
May 11, 2009
It's been thirty years since I last found myself at the movies, rooting for a black hole.
Louis Proyect
rec.arts.movies.reviews
December 23, 2009
A mindless, milling mess. Just what you would expect from somebody schooled in the Michael Bay/Jerry Bruckheimer academy of bad directing.
James Rundle
SciFiNow
March 3, 2012
We were very, very happy with what we saw. You will be too.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Chris Bell
FHM [UK]
May 8, 2009
If you realise that it has one aim - to introduce an entirely new audience to the franchise - and go into the cinema knowing that, then you'll have a good time. Unlike like me: I sat there with my arms folded, tutting a lot.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Deborah Ross
The Spectator
March 17, 2015
I'm no Trekkie, I don't speak Klingon, I've never boldly been anywhere in the least bit exciting -- my fear of motorways has always hampered me horribly in this respect -- and I don't like action epics but [Star Trek] is quite fun.
Page 1 of 17