Dystopian Earth? Inaccurate and boring. How would you design Star Treks Earth?

I am new to this so I will say this here instead of just responding to a previous thread. Gene Roddenberry's Earth is one that is like a Utopia. He told a story that was one of hope. What I saw is the best they can do? Fact. We could not have sent a starship through space living like that.

Our modern cities are not even close to sustainable yet. From living in parasitic groupings as our cities are now to car centric living. This was an awesome opportunity to envision our would anew. An artists dream. To represent the Star Trek future this way is a lack of imagination and not consistent with one very cool thing that makes Star Trek different from Star Wars. (Both are great, but different and should remain so)

I know the majority of people like the same thing over and over. I understand the need to make movies that sell, however creativity and imagination would be appreciated.
Jey F.
03-3-2013 02:03 PM

Thread Replies

Please log in to participate in this forum.

Zextron Fiendfyre

Zextron Fiendfyre

DOESN'T ANYBODY REALIZE THAT THIS IS IN ALTERNATE REALITY?
Gene Roddenberry's Star Trek characters, planets, setting, environment - Yes
Everything happened during TOS, Next Generation, Movie series - NOT GONNA HAPPEN THE SAME
Live with it. They pay homage to the original movies - that's enough.
You guys call yourselves Trekkies? Then enjoy spectacular universe of STiD like I did. Enjoy that plot - it is still insane but remember you guys swallowed ST III: The Search For Spock. Then swallow this the same.

Apr 25 - 03:29 PM

John Tyler

John Tyler McClane

^THIS^

Apr 30 - 05:55 PM

scifimark

scifi mark