Opening

62% The Maze Runner Sep 19
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
45% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
70% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
35% The November Man $2.8M
35% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

70% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

New Episodes Tonight

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
40% Intruders: Season 1
90% Outlander: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
53% Z Nation: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
90% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

The Station Agent Reviews

Page 2 of 99
September 16, 2014
A series of poorly written "for convenience" scenes lazy stitched together by circumstance and cookie cutter characters.

I got halfway through The Station Agent and considered just stopping. It wasn't until I hopped on Letterboxd and saw that it had rave reviews that I thought maybe I was just missing something or it gets better at the end, but it really didn't.

I can certainly appreciate the quiet tone of the film. It had a story to tell and it got it across in a nice simple way. The problem at least for me (and I seem to be the in definite minority on this) is that there was almost no creativity put into the story to make it any unique from countless other stories about finding a family in odd places.

Shots were as boring as flat as could be for the most part. There were a few creative ones here and there but the large majority of them ranged from dull to could potentially be on a Lifetime original movie level of bad. If this was made for direct to TV I wouldn't be the least bit surprised.

This was just a film I stumbled across on Netflix and thought it would be interesting to see pre-Game of Thrones Peter Dinklage but even he severely disappointed. His idea of depression throughout the film seemed just be "act bored".

The Station Agent does nothing creative, nothing memorable, nothing to set itself apart from a million other works telling the same exact story. Considering I'll probably wake up tomorrow and not even remember that I watched this film, I'd like to remind my future self to not bother with this one again.
September 14, 2014
I loved this movie. It was quiet, unpredictable, and just all around beautiful.
September 6, 2014
Loved it! A slice of time well spent about unlikely people meeting and offering one another just what they needed.
September 6, 2014
Remains flat and drags on for a long time. It has the most likeable characters I have seen in a long time. Peter Dinklage is great. Michelle Williams shines in one of her earlier performances. The ending is kind of soft and disappointing, but this is a good movie about friendship that one can watch to relax.
July 15, 2009
Finbar McBride: It's funny how people see me and treat me, since I'm really just a simple, boring person.

The Station Agent es una de esas películas que aparece como por arte de magia. Es de esas que ha tenido críticas estelares, pero por alguna razón no es de las más conocidas, a pesar de su elenco, y se diferencia de las demás porque se enfoca en sus personajes y sus luchas personales.

Finbar es un hombre que decide aislarse del mundo debido a su condición. El es un enano y toda su vida ha lidiado con miradas incómoda y hasta insultos. Tiene una pasión por los trenes, y trabaja construyéndolos a escala. Cuando su jefe fallece, -la única persona en la que realmente confía- le deja como herencia una casa en un pueblo pequeño. Fin decide cambiar de ambiente, y se muda para allá. Casi inmediatamente conoce a Joe, quien cada mañana estaciona un camión donde vende café cubano afuera de su casa. Joe tiene una personalidad extravagante y nunca se rinde. Es ruidoso y escandaloso y eso al principio es lo que espanta a Fin, pero poco a poco nos damos cuenta que ambos necesitan ese contacto humano, solo que lo manifiestan de distintas maneras. Fin conoce a Olivia en circunstancias igualmente incómodas, cuando casi es arrollado dos veces por su carro mientras regresaba de el supermercado.

A pesar de todos tener personalidades tan diferentes, terminan entablando una amistad. Lo que los une son que todos han pasado por momentos difíciles en sus vidas y les cuesta relacionarse con otras personas, pero entre ellos consiguen la compañía y comprensión que tanto anhelaban. Peter Dinklage, Patricia Clarkson y Bobby Cannavale son impresionantes en sus respectivos papeles, no parecen ni siquiera actuaciones, sino que se transforman en sus personajes, y logran darles una humanidad a ellos, sin dejar de lado sus respectivas fallas como personas. Especialmente Peter como Fin, que brilla en pantalla. Su transformación es la más increíble, ya que de pasar de ser un ermitaño se permite sentir emociones que hace mucho trataba de evitar y toda su vida cambia. El rango emocional y facial que demuestra, es transformador. Su humor seco es genial, y la manera en las dice resultan aún más graciosas. De hecho, el humor en esta película no es tan obvio, y no es para todo el mundo, pero yo me encontré riendo a carcajadas a pesar de la carga emocional que conllevan las escenas. Hay tantas que son sutiles, pero a la vez tan humoristas. Por ejemplo, en la cual Fin es arrollado dos veces, la expresión de él y de Olivia es graciosisima. En otra, donde Olivia y Fin están conversando mientras Joe cocina dentro de la casa, y Fin dice que la razón por la cual se mudó a esa casa fue para estar cerca de Joe es genial, y mientras tanto Joe, que es una persona extremadamente social se queja de que lo dejaron solo. Y por último, Fin y Joe hacen un trato de que van a almorzar juntos sólo si Joe no le habla a Fin por 20 minutos. Mientras Fin lee un libro, Joe finalmente no puede más y rompe el silencio y resulta que Fin estaba tomando el tiempo y sólo duró 9 minutos, lo cual es toda una proeza para Joe, y él se muestra casi ofendido de que no pensara que fuera capaz de mantenerse callado.

The Station Agent me conmovió. Es una película que es simple en su premisa, y realmente no tiene un momento transformador para ninguno de los personajes, pero nos lleva en un camino realista donde cada uno descubre cosas sobre ellos que tal vez no están preparados para asimilar, pero saben que tarde o temprano podrán enfrentarlas.
August 25, 2014
Aimless, and yet mysteriously captivating.
August 21, 2014
Incredibly simple, comfy and delightful on the surface but with some darker things underneath. I just wish some of those ideas had been expanded.
July 21, 2014
This is a great story about a loner who is reluctant to ever let anyone in. Benefiting from an amazing performance from Peter Dinklage and a perfect supporting cast, Tom McCarthy's film is full of life. McCarthy is a great storyteller, especially when it comes to exploring small towns where the characters who inhabit them feel real and at the same time fit the molds they need to. Every character in a McCarthy film feels like someone you know, but no one you've ever met. Every characters is just one turn off, so they feel like they could be real people, but they'd be the most interesting people you'd meet.

McCarthy is amazing and the film's value is split between him and this cast. Every performer is firing on all cylinders. They all are sympathetic and interesting. They are able to convey so much about who they are through simple interactions. It's a joy to watch them have conversations, because it feels like you're exploring the beauty of the ordinary moments in life. This is what McCarthy does so well.

He finds the joy in the mundane of life. The film isn't a big spectacle, there aren't crazy things that happen to the characters, the characters are just real people. They interact with each other like real people (maybe a heightened version of real people, but still real people). It's a film that takes finding beauty and joy in simplicity seriously.

If you haven't seen this movie yet, you really should. It's a great story about small towns and the people that inhabit them, but ultimately it's a story about being able to find the joy in every moment. If you let him, McCarthy will help you to find joy in these small moments in life as well.
July 4, 2014
Sweet, charming and funny. This is a hidden gem.
June 28, 2014
An unexpected surprise! Very funny and quirky. Great characters.
June 3, 2014
Not spectacular but watchable. A sweet easy watching film, with a simple story about loneliness and friendship.
June 22, 2014
What a pleasant surprise!
June 3, 2014
Beautiful character studies, unhurried but continuously captivating--Well-acted, concise story, nicely put together... The Beauty Of Sheer Simplicity!!
May 25, 2014
It is neat to see Peter Dinklage and Michelle Williams' work before their respective stars rose. Patrician Clarkson is always lovely and Bobby Cannavale is jubilant. Fin (Dinklage), a quiet man who likes solitude and trains, moves into a little abandoned train station, hoping to remain as invisible as possible. Well, as anyone who lives in New Jersey knows, that's not possible here, because here comes everybody. Joe (Cannavale) is a hot dog vendor whose friendship and food will not be refused. He is one of those generous-hearted folks who are copious in my home state; they make the wounded world go 'round. Olivia (Clarkson) runs Fin off the road with her car... twice. So Joe, Olivia, the town librarian, and young Cleo will not leave Fin alone either - much to his benefit. Excellent performance by Dinklage.
lilshorty69er
March 1, 2007
I didn't know what to expect from The Station Agent, all I know is that Peter Dinklage was in the movie. I absolutely love Game of Thrones and Peter Dinklage is one of the reasons why, so when I heard of this movie I had to give it a watch and honestly I'm glad I did. The Station Agent is a great art house drama, with amazing writing and fantastic acting by its three lead actors. Peter Dinklage obviously stole the entire movie because his acting was phenomenal and his character in the film was very sympathetic and extremely likeable. Bobby Cannavale plays the second lead character in the film and he's also really good in the movie. His character was very likeable as well, plus he gave the movie a lot of comedy. Patricia Clarkson plays the third lead character and just like Peter Dinklage and Bobby Cannavale she's great in this movie. Her character may have been not as likeable as the other two characters, but she still has her likeable moments and she does have a great story. All these actors are great and when their together they all have great chemistry with each other. Michelle Williams is also a small role in this movie and she's even great, her character maybe a bit strange, but she plays the role very well. Most of the greatness also comes from Tom McCarthy, who wrote and directed this film. I loved how he wrote these characters, their characters that you love watching and always want to know more about. The dialogue was also really good and very smart and pretty funny at times. This movie in general was just so original and really fascinating to watch. This is a movie I know I will be watching a few more times in the future and a movie I would recommend everyone to see.
May 16, 2014
This movie has some good actors in it. It does nothing with them.
May 8, 2014
Nice performances (particularly from Dinklage and Clarkson) are the main draw to this extremely understated drama. The film's staunch commitment to a lack of incident or major dramatic stakes can feel like both a blessing and a curse, but makes for a lovely experience. Charming.
April 29, 2014
Peter Dinklage has never stood taller in this wonderful charming movie about unlikely friendships. Subtlety as its finest.
April 19, 2014
This movie is the reason i was so happy when Peter Dinklage was cast as Tyrion Lannister.
April 18, 2014
The second time I see this, and it was just as good as I remember it. An intelligent feel-good film, with a good script that allows for a slow development of the story, far from the rushing ahead towards the climax as in most Hollywood movies. A film I will most surely see again, and hopefully introduce a few friends to.
Page 2 of 99
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile