Steal Me Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Harry Haun
Film Journal International
October 6, 2005
[Painter's] best achievement is the way she skillfully manipulates her almost-known cast into complicated characters that you can care about.
Top Critic
Kevin Thomas
Los Angeles Times
September 22, 2005
Steal Me is a beautifully realized small film of understated power.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
Ernest Hardy
L.A. Weekly
September 22, 2005
It's not really original stuff, and there are few genuine surprises, but Painter skillfully layers visual details and off-the-cuff dialogue into a smart, condescension-free piece on small towns and the complicated lives they contain.
Jonathan W. Hickman
Entertainment Insiders
September 16, 2005
The often meandering Steal Me is a film that says just enough and leaves the rest to us to work out.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Ken Fox
TV Guide's Movie Guide
September 9, 2005
If Alexander's performance isn't exactly a revelation, he's modest enough to allow pros like Seymour, a gifted actress usually relegated to supporting roles, do their thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5

E! Online
September 9, 2005
The result is a film imbued with the tender awkwardness and poignancy of those first wary explorations--those electric moments that occur in the small space between childhood and newly discovered maturity.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Ron Wilkinson
Monsters and Critics
September 7, 2005
Big Sky Country offers up an introspective teen drama about a teenage kleptomaniac who can't steal a break.
| Original Score: 7/10

Film Threat
December 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Jeannette Catsoulis
New York Times
September 9, 2005
Everything about Steal Me, the new feature from the writer and director Melissa Painter, feels dangerously overripe.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Jami Bernard
New York Daily News
September 9, 2005
Drifter comes to small town, gets all the ladies hot. But it's not the steamy, literate Picnic, starring William Holden - instead it's the pretentious Steal Me, an artily photographed, puzzlingly acted indie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
September 9, 2005
Solid performances can't save Melissa Painter's pretentious teen drama Steal Me, which plays like a cross between Dangerous Skin (without the gay sex) and Picnic (without the production values or credible situations).
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Kent Turner
Film-Forward.com
September 9, 2005
The plot is never overwrought, but it never fully ripens either, mostly because of some of the actors' self-consciousness and the stop-and-go pace.
Full Review | Original Score: '2/5'
Top Critic
Ben Kenigsberg
Village Voice
September 6, 2005
Steal Me has at least one indie-film cliché too many.
Jeremy Mathews
Film Threat
August 20, 2005
Nobody in the film is going to steal the audience's attention span.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
John Anderson
Variety
August 20, 2005
What it lacks is believable dialogue, credible relationships and a serious foundation for its overripe psychology.
Ed Gonzalez
Slant Magazine
August 19, 2005
A garbage bin for contrived poetic platitudes and ruminations on sex and stealing.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic

AV Club
September 26, 2005
Page 1 of 1